We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfy your seafood craving”

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Westbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
141 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Satisfy your seafood craving”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was craving seafood so we stopped by while heading through town on Memorial Day weekend, about 9 PM on a Saturday night. It was not crowded at that time--I know there can be lines out the door here on a summer weekend afternoon. It is sit-down dining with a family-style, old-fashioned clam-shack type atmosphere. Very limited martini menu, and not much in the line of beers for hubby, either--as a beer snob, he was not happy. I ordered scallops en casserole, hubby had tuna. My scallops were good, fresh, and sweet; hubby's tuna had a line of gristle running through it--neither of us was aware that tuna could have gristle. We both liked the cole slaw--it was not too wet. Fries were the beefy, krinkle-cut kind. We were satisfied with our waitress, who we found out had been with the restaurant for 27 years! All in all, nothing fancy here--just your plain and basic baked, broiled, or fried seafood. But if you are craving an authentic New England seafood experience, I would say this is a good place to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    96
    50
    18
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
276 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“very busy place”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a good meal here. We were quickly seated especially for a Saturday night. The place is full of atmosphere. We shared zucchini strips to start then I had scallops which were delicious and my husband had the crab cakes, would recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123doreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two bad experiences .... won't be going back.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I had two bad experiences in a row from a service standpoint. Management was nice enough after the first problem in Westbrook to send us a gift card. A couple of months later while using the gift card in New Haven, another bad experience. What has happened to this place??? Used to be great and my number one choice for eating out ..... but not any longer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karenldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“It's all about the food!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is one of my wife's favorite places for lunch. The chowder is famous and rightfully so, and she loves the salads they offer. Always fresh, always delicious.
I stick with the fried food :) clam strips being a favorite along with a foot long hot dog.
This place really is a landmark in Westbrook and in the summer season it's packed. They even have hats and t-shirts you can buy to commemorate your visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edmitchell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ho Hum”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I don't understand the popularity of this place: to me, this is a second rate seafood restaurant. Nothing stands out. The place could use a good cleaning. Don't waste your time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale also viewed

 

Been to Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing