We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster AND customer service!”

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Westbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chatham, NY
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lobster AND customer service!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Decided on more bang for my buck and went for takeout and back to Westbrook Inn B&B for dinner! Ordered ahead, got there early and was able to observe L&J's FT young staff showing how customer service should be offered. All smiles or at least relaxed, interested expressions; eyes up and immediate "May I help you?"; all stepped up to assist in other areas when they weren't helping customers and noticed other areas needed a hand. Heather, in particular, was delightful - a real asset.

All that and lobster, too!

Went back the next evening after a fabulous afternoon of photographing horses on Hammonasett Beach with a group of equine photographer colleagues and enjoyed another dinner with friends.

Definitely recommend!



Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CLCoronios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    97
    54
    19
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Was looking for more..”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Lobster roll below par. Fried fish was fine. I guess it might be better if you tried the fish dishes. Definitely a "family-style" atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“real fresh seafood in comfortable surroundings”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What I like about Lenny & Joe's in Westbrook CT is the fresh fish and the prompt, attentive service. Comfortable, not fancy, satisfying, generous portions, and good value. The waiters and waitresses aim to please without being intrusive. I can get pretty impatient when I am hungry, as well as when I am done eating and want the check. I have eaten at Lenny & Joe's on numerous occasions and have rarely been annoyed. You can't beat the coupling of a cup of their hot clam chowder (full of fresh clams) with a side salad and a hot buttered lobster roll. Bear in mind that I like the lighter CT chowder Lenny & Joe make - no cream in this chowder pot means that you really taste the clams. I don't eat much fried food, but I have tried most of theirs.The cooking oil in the kitchen is always fresh. I like the fried vegie combo appetizer - zucchini and onion rings. For example, the fried calamari, clams, oysters (yum), scallops, shrimp, sole, and scrod are all excellent. The fish sandwich sounds mundane, but the tasted bun just makes it perfect. Shrimp, lobster, and scallop baked casseroles, and baked stuffed shrimp simply rock! If you like fish broiled in lemon, theirs is delicious, and the seafood dinner salad is outrageous. I never need dessert, but there are good choices. Lenny & Joe's is usually crowded. In case there is a wait, you need to know that the bartenders are extremely helpful and mix super drinks, generously prepared. In terms of seating, it is casual and I don't want to sit right next to strangers, so when dining inside I ask for a booth. The patio is also comfortable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great seafood, staff is friendly and service is quick!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was part of a party of 12 co-workers that went to Lenny and Joes. We had made reservations, the table was ready when we arrived. The waitstaff was quick and friendly and efficient. Our meals were all served at the same time, all we're hot! The lunch special let's you choose 2 types of fried food from a list of 6 or 7. I had shrimp and scrod. It was very good! The cole slaw is the best I have had. The pricing is a little high but the food is good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thinair6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Food was good. Decor could use some sprucing up. Service was good. I would recommend to a friend. Broiled shrimp was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psc96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale also viewed

 

Been to Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing