We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“. Usually decent. Last night awful!!!!!”
Review of Westbrook Roadhouse - CLOSED

Westbrook Roadhouse
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ellington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“. Usually decent. Last night awful!!!!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Have eaten here many times and it is usually decent. Always good service and my kids really like it. Last night was a major disappointment!! My husband, son and I all ordered filets and they were gross!!!! Soooooo fatty. More like sirloin. Totally a waste of money. Not planning to return. Yuck!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Momofthreekkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The Staeaklover's Place to go in a Seafood Lover's Paradise!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Yay...Real Steak at a great price!!! Their aged Steak is going to have you coming back for more....and for Your seafood loving friends....a great meal also....the kind of place where the meal is great and the price is even better!!! Try the specials....a real bragain and loaded with great choices!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank billybuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just don't order the steaks!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We'd been there for lunch a few times and it was always good. Tonight we went for dinner and after being reminded that they were voted "Best Steakhouse in Middlesex County" numerous times, we obviously ordered steaks. BIG mistake! My husband's Rib Eye was decent, but my Filet Mignon was horrible! There is no doubt in my mind that I was NOT served a tenderloin steak - it was very tough and chewy. We will NOT be going back...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mlh1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Went there May 27 I had the fish special and my husband had the fish and chips. Won't be going back

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“New Deal - Could Use a New Chef & New Menu”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

For a restaurant that has been around for quite some time, I feel they are due for a new menu along with a new chef. For those of us who have been going to this restaurant for a long time - it sure hasn't kept up with the times. Many other restaurants offer a new menu but not New Deal. The prices also seem high. I recently had broiled sea scallops. They were good and flavorable. I also choice seasonal vegetables. To my surprise - they were cold. I was not impressed. Bread is always tasty and the salad is always good. This restaurant wouldn't be my first choice or even my second choice. I even thought to myself - I could have made this at home and had a better flavor.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoJoAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westbrook Roadhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing