We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very forgettable”

The Restaurant at Water's Edge
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Water's Edge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Westbrook
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ripley Hill Road
Transit: 1 Mile from the Westbrook Train Station and on the Shoreline Bus route.
Description: We would be happy to have you dine with us during your visit to our award-winning restaurant filled with a wide variety of many dishes. We are located right on the shoreline and can enjoy the view of the ocean while you dine with is. We have many signature martinis, italian, and seafood entrees.
connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very forgettable”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Beautiful Saturday night ..lovely view...great people watching...lousy service...mediocre at best food. After we sat down, we were ignored for 15 minutes. Finally waitress came over, did not welcome us just asked if we wanted anything to drink. After delivering drinks, took order without any mention of the daily specials or anything. A young man brought out some bread on our table without a smile or anything resembling communication. 3o minutes later our food was placed in front of us (wrong meal to wrong person) by a staff member. No one asked us anything during meal . My wife had to wave down someone to get second glass of wine. Plates never cleared. Food was overcooked cod with a piece of dried, curled up ham in some flavorless broth. Wife had sandy mussels. Did have a nice spinach and watermelon salad. No one ever asked anything at anytime. Poor or no training.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RXMAN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    67
    37
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good service.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very nice quiet meal. Good deal. Filet Mignon was over done but did bring another one. everything else was fine. I would go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rkisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, ct
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“small menu, high prices, but food is very good & a great view”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

First of all this place has huge windows with great views of the ocean. On a sunny day it looks like you're somewhere else other than the shore of CT. The menu is very small...a handful of appetizers/salads/soups and a handful of entrees. I dont mind a smaller menu, but i know a lot of people have a problem with that. The food is a little pricy. I got a pasta dish that was $19 and the other people at my table got steaks for $30. The meals do not come with soup or salad so if you want something like that, you have to pay extra. The food is presented in a fancy fashion, was HOT (which is always a plus), and tasted GREAT. That being said, i still dont think it was worth the prices paid....however, because my sister own a time share there, she gets 50% off all food...which dropped my meal down to 9.50, and their meals down to $15....and for those prices, it WAS worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
855 reviews
641 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a very enjoyable brunch. There are lots of choices in the buffet. There were omelette, pasta, and crepe stations. Everything was made fresh to order at these stations. There was a carving station with roast beef and turkey. The buffet included a fresh salad, shrimp, salmon, chicken, fresh toast and maple syrup, pastries, bacon, sausage, breads and bagels. There was also a table with many desserts to choose from- cupcakes, cheesecake, chocolate. . Beverages are brought to the table by servers- choice of juices and coffee. The views are very pretty- water and garden. The staff were very attentive too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good choice”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This restaurant is located on the grounds of the Water's Edge resort. The resort bar is located just behind the reservations table and offers happy our drinks from 4 to 7 PM.
The staff was courteous and knowledgeable regarding the food and the view from the dining room overlooking Long Island sound was great.
The menu choices as well as the food were very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manny449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Water's Edge also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing