We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers”
Review of Haywire Burger Bar

Haywire Burger Bar
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Westbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had to meet another couple for dinner and while Westbrook is not close to us it was a central spot. The restaurant is on Boston Post Rd a few miles from I-95, It's relatively small place very popular with locals. We arrived at 6PM on a Sunday, and the parking lot was pretty full. We waited less than 10 minutes for a booth, and were promptly greeted by a friendly waitress. The menu has assorted salads and some other chicken and fish dishes, but burgers are the specialty. We had them with the curly fries and sweet potato fries and were very happy with them. Mine had caramelized onions and blue cheese and I thought it was great. We were concerned about the not getting raw meat or an overcooked 'hockey puck' due to 'pink' or 'not pink' being the only way to order. We discussed our concern with the waitress and she managed to get us what we wanted.

The wine list is limited, but the beer list is extensive. It took about 20 minutes to get our food, but we were enjoying the time with our friends and in no hurry. Service was otherwise very good. $80 plus tax/tip for 4 burgers and 2 wines + 2 martinis was not inexpensive, but the overall experience was positive. We won't make a special trip back but would certainly stop in again if in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    83
    32
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality Food - fair prices”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Ive had takeout a bunch of times and never disappointed. They should advertise more that they use Angus beef & hormone/antibiotic free meats as ppl are watching what they eat more & more these days. For just a few $ more than a value meal at MCD u cant beat it !!! Chicken Tenders arent too good - but besides that everything else is great !!! Attractive / friendly staff too ;)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WHO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Extensive burger menu”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Huge burger menu (and burgers -- 8 oz!). My SO had the aloha burger and said it was good but didn't rave about it. I had fish tacos, which were very good. The fries were great. They also had an impressive draft beer list.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ivorykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Decent burgers”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Pulled off 95 because of snow storm and happened upon this restaurant. The burgers were all good, and recommend this place if that is what you seek. The other food was average but again burgers are really good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank war1today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT, USA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Haywire Feb 2014”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were very lucky to find the Haywire, because our first option was a seafood place, but the restaurant we went to only accepted cash. Just down the road was the Haywire, so we tried it. We cannot wait to return.
Even though it is a burger bar, and there are multiple burger choices on the menu, we went with a chipotle glazed salmon with very nice sweet potato fries and a spicy cup of molasses for my wife; and steak frites with the house tomato soup for me.
The food was great, service was excellent. Prices are reasonable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evaristo_Lobato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haywire Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to Haywire Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing