We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in West Haven
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor reception”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you are expecting a friendly welcome after a hard day, go elswhere!
I am a BW Rewards holder and generally receive excellent helpful service.. Not here. Instructed to sign a form before being given the opportunity to read it. I found that i was signing to pay for any damage to the hotel!! I refused. The hotel is run down, the surrounds unkept, and as a result does not create a good first impression. Decided that after a few words with "Manager" to use an online booking site (booking.com) and go into the city centre.
More expensive but fast improvement.
Fortunately I booked thro BW and their policy of no cancellation charges if you cancel before 16.00 hours is stated on their confirmation sheet. We checked out at 15.50 hours.but not after more argument.
.
Come on Best Western this place is doing considerable harm to your reputation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sailor2182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    81
    64
    42
    29
See reviews for
104
55
35
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My colleague & I have been staying at this hotel regularly for the last 20 years! We usually visit for about a total of 15-20 nights per year. The hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are quite large & the best part is the friendliness of the staff, who will do their best to make you happy. I find the fridge & microwave in my room very handy. I prefer the higher floors whilst my colleague always has a room on the ground floor so he can get out easily for a smoke! The hotel is very well situated just off the interstate, with a small mall next door & major shopping centres within a few minutes' drive. We really do look upon it as our home in the USA.

Room Tip: Even number rooms don't look out on the interstate. 7th floor executive rooms are a bit bigger,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternWesthaven, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to complete the survey following your visit to the Best Western Executive Hotel-New haven-West Haven Hotel,

Your comments on our performance were most generous and shall be passed on to appropriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Best Western is usually one of my favorite hotels.

Don't stay at this one.

Rude management.

We were awakened during the night by a couple arguing loudly nearby our room and it sounded very much like the managers that we had encountered earlier in the afternoon.

The was no apology made the following day when we checked out or even a thank you.
I have contacted the Best Western Customer care and was told that even though the letter was received that there is nothing the management will do to make for better customer care.

Choose somewhere else to stay and Best Western should really think about training these people in West Haven on how to treat their customers properly.

A refund and an apology would have been a good idea for this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Haven hotels

Shippensburg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is a true GEM!!!! I recently stayed here with a large group, my team, and we had about 20 rooms. We got to check in a bit early and more importantly, all the keys were named, in order etc. It was the smoothest check in I've had in many years. Jocelyn was right on the mark with everything. I had asked personally for a room on top floor as I am a light sleeper and hate people above me. It was done!!! And...the rooms were terrific. Nice mirco, fridge, HD TV, great channels, clean, very comfortable bed...the works!!! The place was quiet and Jocelyn had mentioned that if we had issues to contact her. Just terrific folks. They asked each time they saw us how the team did. It is a terrific value for this area. There were so many more places at higher prices we could've stayed at and I am positive not gotten the fantastic experience we got here. Breakfast area was a bit tiny for our group but, that is a very minor issue. Only other thing is that I like AC units that run the whole time, like that noise. This one turned off and on. But, it worked FANTASTIC!!! Room was very cold which I like. I would stay again in a heartbeat!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room opposite 95 side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHISKEYTIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternWesthaven, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary letter.

I am passing on your comments that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts .

It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Executive Hotel the next time you are in the New Haven-West Haven area. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Jocelyn Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I would suggest a manager actually go in the room, look around, turn things on, try wifi, a/c etc and see if they would be comfortable in their own rooms. There seems to be a lack of housekeeping, handprints, dust, stained bathtub, holes in the walls and stains too, ..........pretty ghetto

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternWesthaven, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey following your visit to the Best Western Executive Hotel-New haven-West haven hotel.

I am disappointed we failed to handle all of your requirements in a satisfactory manner and I appreciate your constructive critique of our performance. You have alerted us to an area needing attention and corrective action has been taken.

I hope you will give us another chance. And I can assure you to do everything to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Thank you

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have been coming here weekly for over 6 months now and if I was not happy I would have left by now so there doing everything right.comfortable rooms and the pillows are better then the ones I own my self.
The staff is by far the friendliest to deal with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternWesthaven, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Mr. C.

Wonderful review. Thank you so much . I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff . I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.

We look forward for your return.

Sincerely,

Jocelyn Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This Best Western delivers what it promises. It is one of the best values in the area. Check-in and check-out are easy, parking is easy, staff is very helpful, breakfast is good and served for a long period of time, rooms are clean and well kept, sheets and pillows are very comfortable and you get a very restful sleep. No complaints whatsoever from check-in to check-out. Quick and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank hmd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternWesthaven, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your recent visit at our Hotel. We certainly enjoyed having you with us.

We consider dedicated and competent staff members like Benjawan our most valuable asset. She was pleased that you acknowledged her efforts.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Jocelyn Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Haven
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
2.7 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3.5 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven

Property: Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven
Address: 490 Saw Mill Road, West Haven, CT 06516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > West Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in West Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are easily located right off of Hwy. 95. two miles away from 7 miles of beach on Long Island Sound and 4 miles from downtown New Haven. Newly remodeled guest rooms and public areas! Full Breakfast is included. Come try out our new pancake maker! We also have 3 private meeting rooms ready for all of your group needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Haven
West Haven Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing