We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better to stay in Bew Haven for pizza” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mike's Apizza & Restaurant

Mike's Apizza & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 154 Restaurants in West Haven
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Better to stay in Bew Haven for pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Mike's has great ratings on every site but it did not live up to them.
Pizza was soggy. Crust needed to be crisper. Salad was drouned in dressing.
Not bad. But not great.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonManolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try it you won't be disappointed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have been a steady customer for the past year after a friend recommended that I give Mike's a try. This is by far the best pizza I have ever tasted that was not made in a brick oven. Mike's is right up there with Sally's and Pepe's. I have read other reviews where their were comments about the staff being rude, this has not been my experience. I'm always treated nicely when I go there and they are very friendly, maybe the other reviewers caught them on a bad day or I just go when they have good days. The crust is not too thin or thick its just right and the sauce is incredible.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST PIZZA IN NEW HAVEN COUNTRY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

The fresh tomato garlic basil pizza is the best I have ever had. The crust is thin and great tasty sauce too. Try the soups made daily.Stuffed eggplant is unbelievable. Casual atmosphere. Love love love this place.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Not as good as Pepe's in New Haven but easily the best pizza West Haven has to offer.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vinnyp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“That night. ;(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

The pizza was a good grab for lunch. not for dinner. though im a strict grader, I don't give out 5s or 4s much to pizza kitchens because I'm a very strict person on eating too. Pizza is very greasy and oily and fatty . This pizza sauce is great!!!! BUT they put too much or TOO little. I was very disappointed when I got home.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lillypod99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Apizza & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Apizza & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing