We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn West Haven, CT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The complementary breakfast was terrible inedible eggs and fruit that was not fresh. The room was extremely noisy because of proximity to Route 95. The beds were uncomfortable and the heating system did not function properly --either too hot or too cold no matter how much we fiddled with the controls. The fitness center is poorly equipped having too few pieces of equipment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 587 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The rooms were spacious and quiet. The bathrooms were clean with modern amenities. Very reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here for three nights. The room was large, clean and smelled great! The staff was professional and helpful. The entire hotel was clean. The breakfast was great! Great variety and choices. Coffee available all the time in the lobby was great! Thank you to Holly and all the staff for making my stay wonderful. If I ever need to stay in the area again, The Hampton Inn & Suites in West Haven, CT. will be my first choice.

Room Tip: rooms towards the back seemed to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaBearsFan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, location and price are satisfactory, but there's a certain smell in the room which is really upsetting, I didn't file a complaint to the front desk as we came back to the room very late at night every day, but still it was unexpectedly unpleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelawang00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our second stay in this Inn, both trips related to our kid going off to college. The hotel is clean, staff friendly, but the breakfast was disappointing.

The hotel is very basic, but absolutely spotless. We get a good laugh over the pre-printed sticky notes that announce that each guest gets fresh sheets. I don't think I'd want to stay at a hotel that doesn't wash sheets between guests. Beds are extremely comfortable, and each has a nice selection of pillows, from firm to soft.

Staff is consistently friendly and unobtrusive. Cheerful, efficient check-in, and maids who actually smile and sing while they work indicate good management. They circulate at breakfast, though I could do without the woman who goes table to table distributing boxes of mints.

We found the breakfast disappointing. This is not entirely the hotel's fault: I cannot tolerate gluten, plus we have a discerning palate, and favor fresh, real food over prepackaged stuff, but I was unable to find anything that I could eat that tasted good. Luckily there is a Whole Foods down Boston Post Road and a microwave & fridge in the room. For our second stay, only our son went to breakfast to get a bowl of cereal.

The most pleasant surprise was the wifi and business center. I travel to many high-end hotels that charge a small fortune for 24 hours of internet access, and connections can be spotty. Here, the internet was free and consistently fast. The business center (also free) has two computers running Win7, which is an older version, but the machines are set up correctly for a shared office. Printing is free, and there is an assortment of office supplies that you can use there. I was able to take care of some business that would have been highly tedious on a tablet.

Gripes:
- When we arrived in the room, it was freezing: the thermostat was set to 64F, which is ridiculously low. They should save energy and put it at the recommended 72-74 degrees, and if that's too warm, people can turn it down.
- The "green" towel program: I rehung my towels so I could reuse them, but the maid changed all the towels every day. If the hotel isn't going to actually do what they say, they're actually worse than hotels who don't even offer the program, since they've wasted paper and energy printing up signage.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side of the building are marginally quieter, though you will have freeway nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank actranslation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We planned our trip around bringing one of our children back to school at a local college. We planned to stay about a week, so we wanted something that was moderately priced with a nice amount of amenities such as a fitness center, wireless internet and pool. The room was clean and everything was in working order. The continental breakfast was satisfactory and a nice bonus was the bagged Breakfast on the Go. Overall, we were happy with our stay and will likely stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank checkedsecurity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Mom and I dragged into this hotel after driving 7 hours from DC and after attending a family baby shower. We were so tired, seeing this hotel was like an oasis in the desert. I had stayed at nearby hotels before and was NOT looking forward to it but this hotel seemed newer and crisper so I was happy to see it. The receptionist was a doll as she welcomed us. We had no reservations. There was an all night convenience store in the hotel that saved us because we hadn't ate dinner. That was great and right on time. Woke up and had the hot breakfast (eggs, potatoes, waffles and continental options) and we hit the road. IT was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dexter619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Haven
2.8 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
435 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
0.1 mi away
Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
3.5 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven

Address: 510 Saw Mill Rd, West Haven, CT 06516-4044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > West Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Haven
Price Range: $118 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the coastline of Connecticut during your stay in West Haven. Our property is located 10 minutes from New Haven, the home of Yale University and is close to many area attractions like Bradley Point Park and Yale Peabody Museum. Enjoy free WiFi and a hot free breakfast, as you relax in our clean & fresh Hampton beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites New Haven-South-West Haven
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven-South-West Haven Hotel West Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing