We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place or stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good place or stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I spent a night here with two young children on the drive to New York as it's just off the interstate.

It's a slightly newer Hampton Inn than some others I've stayed in. Room was clean and large - although the bed was a little soft for my liking. The pool isn't huge - but my sons enjoyed their swim.

Breakfast is what you'd expect from a Hampton - a choice of cereals, waffles and baked goods - there was also a limited choice of hit food (sausages and scrambled egg). There is also a large area to sit, which made a change from some other motels I've stayed in.

Staff were friendly. They recommended the Texas Roadhouse next door to get something to eat - and it was a good choice. It's obviously popular - but tell the staff there that it's your first visit - and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BexleyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    180
    63
    23
    13
See reviews for
227
79
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We only stayed one night but very happy with our stay. The breakfast was great. The rooms, staff and appearance of the hotel was very good. I was really happy that it was so close to the highway. It was better than I expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We wanted something close by to the surprise party that would be clean, comfortable and offer breakfast. We were very pleased with our choice. The room was freshly cleaned and the wifi was included too. The breakfast station was great!! We were headed back home before we knew it so we didn't have time to use the pool or gym.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winter harbor and downingtown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

hotel was newer and nicer than some Hampton inns, the sound proofing outside our room was the best, never heard any doors opening, toilets flushing, etc. the breakfast was the normal for hamptons, do wish they'd come up with something a little different but always stay with them

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a nice hotel for the price. The room was very clean and the staff was very accommodating. The location is very convenient because it is off of I-95. My only suggestion would to offer more variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatechip34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Adequate hotel by the side of I95. Clean room but don't bother with the breakfast. Plastic cups and utensils. Food tastes plastic as well. Recommend the Texas roadhouse beside the hotel. Good food but prepare to wait. They do have tons of monkey nuts to munch

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monkey168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The bathroom was not cleaned, dirty towels were left on the floor, towel bar and counter from the previous patron. Part of the iron bed frame was sticking out, (but hidden from my view, underneath the comforter) my leg hit the iron frame and it broke the skin and was sore for a couple days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Haven
2.8 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven
3.6 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Orange/Milford
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
3.5 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Address: 510 Saw Mill Road, West Haven, CT 06516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > West Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the coastline of Connecticut during your stay in West Haven. Our property is located 10 minutes from New Haven, the home of Yale University and is close to many area attractions like Bradley Point Park and Yale Peabody Museum. Enjoy free WiFi and a hot free breakfast, as you relax in our clean & fresh Hampton beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven-South-West Haven Hotel West Haven
Hampton Inn And Suites New Haven-South-West Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing