We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good but small portion”

Tangiers International
Ranked #8 of 171 Restaurants in West Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very good but small portion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

They have good gyros and falafel but, portions are very small. You need to get somethingelse to be full. There are some counter seats to be able to eat inside but, it is not appetizing setting. They have a wide rage of middle eastern groccery and very friendly people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruriko w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic food along with excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow. Stopped 4 hours into our 10 hour drive to Maine. Gyros, falafel, baked eggplant, baba ganoush (smoky flavor?--stuttering over the wow factor), baklava. All excellent. Friendly, accommodating service at this family run shop. We will be back on future trips!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ldeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Why?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

did it take me this long to try Tangiers? I've lived in CT forever and for some reason just decided to try it this weekend. The gyro was amazing!! I also got a small quinoa salad and lamb stew to go for lunch the next day. Both were delicious. Just kicking myself for not trying this place sooner. My return is imminent........

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've been going to Tangiers for years. The family that owns it is wonderful, making the service personal and professional. It wouldn't matter if it was your first visit or your 100th, they would greet you as a friend. The falafel and baklava are out of this world and always worth the trip. I have never had anything else on their menu because the falafel is that good, but I would eat anything they served me. There are so many great restaurants in West Hartford but Tangiers is a gem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yummerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatogue, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“IT WAS THAT GOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

First time I got a falafel. Ate it in my truck as I drove. Finished. Turned around and got another.

IT WAS THAT GOOD

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roccobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangiers International also viewed

West Hartford, CT
West Hartford, CT
 

Been to Tangiers International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing