We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playhouse on Park

Playhouse on Park
Attraction details
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

An intimate theatre that produces amazing shows...from kids shows, comedy nights, musicals, dance revues, summer camp and classical drama. Reasonable tickets, often available as last minute idea for night out. Partnership with local restaurants for discount meals!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    6
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent play!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Goodnight Moon was amazing the cast the story the music was really great!! Also after the cast was available in the lobby for photos and then they go next door to AC Petersens restaurant to speak with patrons as many go there after for ice cream! They were really sweet & delightful cast and took the time to speak to Ll of the kids after and that was so special!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank haynestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lots of surprise performances. You should always support good theater no matter what the venue. And...you can have a great dessert after the show at AC Petersens!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilipConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
264 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Support the Small theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

GREAT place to see a show or comedy with friends> intimate and reasonably priced> keep this place alive by patronizing regularly

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank mushroommarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Definitely check out this fabulous theater venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

A wonderful community theater that attracts actors from New York and beyond with both theater for the avid enjoyer of musicals and plays as well as programs for the young. Playhouse on Park is affordable (even better after you visit once and decide to go for the subscription as we did) theater allowing you to be up close in any seat for seating is on 3 sides of the action. The furthest seats are about 5 rows back! We've seen Chicago, Company (by Stephen Sondheim), The Mystery of Irma Vep, All I Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten (last week), a theater revue among others. Every performance has had a reason to make us relax and enjoy. We've laughed, cried, smiled a lot, thought about relevence, jumped in our chairs, been called on to participate...and had lengthy discussions about the characters, their interactions, whether we'd react differently or the same, and even discussed the actual actors and their experience, talent, interpretation of the character....WOW! There are quite a few restaurants right on Park Road within a half mile from Chengdu (exceptional Chinese-try the firecracker chicken or beef) to Joey's Pizza to AC Peterson next door for diner style with their own icecream to Los Adobes, and at least 2 Thai restaurants among others. We plan to purchase the season again next year- oh, and they even have a plan for those on a budget to see preview shows. How much better can it get! We HIGHLY recommend Playhouse on Park for the better community theater you have been wanting to see!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jian9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playhouse on Park also viewed

 
West Hartford, CT
 

Been to Playhouse on Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing