We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
knowledge gained about Webster

Webster meant dictionary to us . Noah Webster did so much more. It was a time when the colonies... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
srosner2
,
Rockville, Maryland
Interesting history

Our guide was very passionate about the history behind the Noah Webster house, and it just made me... read more

Reviewed December 11, 2018
nicotate
,
Enfield, Connecticut
via mobile
Read all 37 reviews
  
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
22
11
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
22
11
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short video american history educational experience dictionary cemetery tour settlers colonies spelling school information colonial yankee parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 37 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This great historic ome has lots to offer including dinners on selected winter weeke ds with live music. The home is beautifully restored to it's original condition

Date of experience: January 2012
Thank drcrushser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was a midpoint stop in our drive to our next hotel and let me say, well worth the time. We called ahead because we were going to be a little late and they stayed open 20 min late just for us! The docents were very friendly and knowledgeable! It is very small (about a 30min tour) but was perfect for what we wanted.

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank jfpTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Noah Webster House is located in West Hartford less than a minute from the off-ramp of the highway. This is the historic birthplace of Noah Webster for whom the Webster's New World Dictionary is named. He was born in this house in the year 1758, and was a sixth-generation Yankee from a prominent New England family. He attended Yale at the age of 16. Webster is most notably known for publishing "An American Dictionary" in 1828 with 70,000 words. He first published a brief, unfinished version of his dictionary in 1806. Before Webster's dictionary, there were no codified spellings of English words, and many words were corrupted by British aristocracy.
The Noah Webster House offers visitors 45 minute tours of the early Noah Webster homestead. Before the tour, make sure to take a step inside the our 19th-century schoolhouse theater, which is located in the foyer. Vistors can watch a short 12 minute film about Noah Webster here from a seat in a 19th-century style school desk. There are also interactive hands-on exhibits for both kids and adults at the museum.
Any Anglophile interested in the English language or early American history, will really find 60-90 minute tour of this museum very interesting.

Date of experience: February 2012
3  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Noah Webster House has added a wonderful building to accommodate larger groups. The original home has been preserved for a marvelous historical educational experience!

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The Noah Webster House is one of the few historical attractions in West Hartford. Unfortunately, there isn't much there from a tourist point of view. They have a couple of people in period costume carding wool and baking bread. Their gift shop has the usual 18th and 19th century wooden toys and fake documents.
It is a repository for certain local historical documents, so if you are a researcher there is more there for you. If you are a casual tourist, I would recommend skipping this one.

Date of experience: June 2011
1  Thank ContestWinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews