We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calypso Kioni” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calypso

Calypso
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Kioni
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A restaurant with a great reputation both in Greece and abroad. Our international visitors have spread our name all over Europe and we are mentioned in every tourist guide that involves Ithaca and Kioni. All our dishes are cooked with greek olive oil and the freshest ingredients. Our fish is provided by the local fishermen and our meat comes from the local market to support the local economy.
Esher
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Calypso Kioni”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

On the far side of the harbour, but still a lovely location we thought this was the best restaurant in Kioni. The food was of a consistently high standard, all the classic dishes and the best kleftico served in a paper parcel!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rachelagourakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    49
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quality food at reasonable price in fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We discovered Calypso restaurant last year on recommendation. And now we wouldn't eat anywhere else in Kioni. We try to visit the port when sailing in the area and love the atmosphere when all the daytripper boats have finished for the day. Evening is definitely the time to visit Calypso with a great range of excellent, and some quite unusual, Greek dishes. Staff are very friendly and the location on the quayside, just inches from visiting and locals boats, is great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 27kwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice scenery, nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

this is a very good restaurant, thoughit it is not a traditional greek tavern. I liked every plate I tasted. Everything was high quality and high standard.Even the burgers, which I normally never order in a restaurant were delicious. The fish, pasta and salads tasted great.
The best time to visit is at night, the menu list is limited during lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chicabianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Taverna on the quayside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in Kioni for a couple of weeks and ate here several times At lunch and at night it was busy. The food was lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. Sitting eating a meal and watching the boats in the harbour cannot be beaten. As a bonus any spare bread can be fed to the fish!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davsal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lunch at Calypso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Calypso is located in a very pleasant position right by the small harbour in Kioni. The staff & owner are very friendly & we were very satisfied with the quality of the food. We had fresh sardines & can recommend them. Looking at the food being served to other diners I think it is of a consistently high quality.
The fact that the people with yachts moored in the harbour used this tavern would suggest it is the best in Kioni.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso also viewed

Kioni, Ithaca
Frikes, Ithaca
 

Been to Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing