We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arumeru River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$166
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$55
$53
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masai Camp(Arusha)
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impala Hotel(Arusha)
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$160
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
121
114
27
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
114
27
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdik dikguinea fowlkilimanjaro airporttraveled with another couplefirst nighttwo nightslong flightgrounds are beautifulfun to watchminute drive from the airportgreat bedrelaxing startindividual cabinsnorthern circuitnice gardengreat place to startgreat pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 267 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived late in the evening after an exhausting 17 hr trip to be graciously greeted by the owner. The main lodge is a sight for sore eyes at night. All lit up and welcoming. We were then taken to our cottage which was rustic but spacious and clean with comfortable beds. The next day we roamed the very beautifully landscaped grounds and sat by the immaculate pool to re-energize for our 10 day safari. The food was quite good and served in a beautiful setting. We stayed there for 2 nights at the beginning and 2 nights at the end of our trip making this a wonderful way to enter and leave the country which has provided us with most wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 36bay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here for 3 nights, 2 before our safari and 1 after.
It is a lovely place to stay in. The grounds are nice, green and clean, the Dikdiks walking around are extremely cute and staff is very nice.

If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs as the animals around can be a bit noisy early in the morning. This is true of Tanzania as a whole...

Our room, Bamboo 1, was very big, with a nice bed, great toilet and shower. This is one of their newer rooms, and I recommend it. Good mosquito net around the bed and screens on the windows. Fan on the ceiling was also very useful.

It is 20 minutes from Arusha so if you are looking for a place in the city and are interested in walking around Arusha (we weren't) then this will not suite you. If you want to relax after a flight \ before your safari, it's a great place.

Food was nice and varied.

Room Tip: Our room, Bamboo 1, was very big, with a nice bed, great toilet and shower. This is one of their newer rooms, and I recommend it. Good mosquito net around the bed and screens on the windows. Fan on the ceiling was also very useful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank he_who_is_he
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Myself and my wife spent 2 nights here, one before and one after our Kilimanjaro trek. We discussed it and neither of us could think of anything that was wrong with the place at all, it was booked for us via our agents, should you find yourselves in the same position then congratulations.

The grounds are really relaxing, just the right size to be private without claustrophobic, a number of dik dik's and guinea fowl regularly walk around as well as numerous birdlife.

The actual main building manages to incorporate the reception / bar / dining room / log fire sitting area all in the same area under one giant roof giving a great atmosphere.

For anybody thinking of staying here after a Kilimanjaro excursion, there is a very very good bar with a large number of different beers to work your way through after a long trek!
The staff inparticular are also very very friendly, welcoming and most of all competant. Whilst the roms are not luxorious they are clean and have everything you need.

The lodge is arpound 25 minutes from Arusha but this shouldn't realy cause any problems as if your staying here following a Safari or Kili trak (as seems to be the norm) you won't be wanting to venture out at all once you land.

I can't recommend this hotel enough and would stay here again without doubt if I was in the Arusha area

Room Tip: They all appear very similar and I cant imagine a bad one
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notbutlinsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I spent 3 nights here--1 before the safari and 2 at the end. The accommodations are clean and roomy, reliable internet available for $5 per 12 hours, and the food is quite good. Manager and personnel warm and welcoming. They stored our bags for us while on safari. Lovely pool and grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here 1 night before and 1 night after our safari.
The lodge was nice. It's about 20 minutes out of Arusha but that was fine with us as we wouldn't have wanted to wander around Arusha anyway as there's nothing to see there.
The first night we stayed in a bungalow which was very nice. It had a large bathroom and a mosquito surrounded the bed. It was more modern and newer than the room we stayed in on the last night (which had a lizard in the thatching inside the room - thankfully they got it out while we were at dinner) but it was still fine. You're in Africa so the odd animal is ok.
The couch area around the fireplace is nice to sit at and use your computer to check out your safari pics or catch up on email/social media. There was a power point near the couch which was handy. The only bummer was that they charge you for wifi here when a lot of other places are complimentary but at least it was affordable.
Dinner was a buffet and was very nice. The staff were all friendly too - recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clea700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews