We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accomodation near Arusha”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arumeru River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Usa
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice accomodation near Arusha”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights in Arusha, 2 in late February before a Kili climb, and 2 in early March after our climb. The grounds were lovely, the staff was friendly and the food was adequate. Our first room was clean and nice, as was our second room, but our second room was larger and more modern with a unique shower. I assume it was a new cottage, though from the outside it resembled all others.
Pros: In addition to the pluses I've already mentioned, the owners of the lodge were quite friendly and enjoyable. When we had an emergency and had to alter our trip plans they offered to let us stay in our room all day, if necessary, instead of requiring us to check out at the specified time. We felt safe within the boundaries of the lodge. It was a peaceful refuge, moreso during our first two days when there weren't many guests, less so (but not terribly) for the last two days of our stay when we encountered larger groups of visitors. The pool area was nice; we didn't swim but spent the day after our hike lounging on the cushioned poolside chaises. When I asked to have some laundry done, and was told it was impossible due to power outages, the owner gave me an ample supply of detergent so that I could wash out undies in our sink--nice, helpful gesture.
Cons: The electricity went out ALOT during our stay. This is a con of the area, not of Arumeru River Lodge specifically. ARL turns on generators at dusk, providing electric until around 11pm. Fortunately the temperatures weren't too hot during our stay, so when the ceiling fan went off at night we didn't roast. The real inconvenience is not having wifi during the day. Don't expect to flawlessly communicate via the internet during your stay in TZ. Due to a relative's health emergency our trip was cut short, so I don't have other lodges against which to compare ARL, but if I were to return to the Arusha area I would have no problem staying at ARL.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms--more spacious and up to date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2doglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    105
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
114
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
309 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is a very nice place between arusha and Kilimanjaro airport. Very quiet, with a pool and a real nice garden and restaurant and bar. Nice and friendly staff.Good sleeping .

Room Tip: Near to the reception av restaurant or else long walk .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at the Arumeru River Lodge 2 nights before our safari and 1 night at the end of our safari. Our room (Bamboo 1) for the first 2 nights was much more spacious and overall much nicer than the room we received on our last night. Some rooms are newer than others, so I'm assuming Bamboo 1 was one of the newer rooms.

There can sometimes be issues with not enough hot water, but at other times, it's abundant. It might be because of the frequent electricity outages. The internet can also be slow and I wish they did not charge for it.

But overall, I really enjoyed our stay. I love the dik-diks and other animals they have on the property. The food is generally good and it's a nice and relaxing place to have a Safari beer and talk over your day.

The German couple who own it left corporate jobs in Germany for Arumeru River Lodge and have been learning what to do as they go along. I think they're definitely heading in the right direction.

We spent our first night in the area in a hotel in Arusha so we could visit the city before making our way to Arumeru River Lodge. It's not a good place to stay if you want to visit the city itself. But for a relaxing stay, this is a good place.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sea-lon-sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The room we had was the farthest away from the main rooms. It was hard to find without proper signage, especially at night. It could use some updating a everything was old & worn out. The bathroom was just basic, a couple of lights were burnt out and having 4 extra locks on the door wasn't the most comforting feeling! The main lodge is very nice and the food is ok, but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GypsyJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here twice while on our safari, once to visit arusha national park and the second as astop over before our flight home. rooms are clean and comfortable the bar and restaurant area was very nice and the service excellent the food was also very good . we would recomend this lodge as a pre safari stay or pre flight home or an ideal place to stay if you want to visit arusha national park which is about 30 mins drive from the lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin_n20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

A short drive out of Arusha, nothing to see outside of the lodge. One of only a couple lodges
I've been to in Africa that DIDN'T have insects in the room. There is a swimming pool and a
souvenir shop. Lots of greenery on the hotel grounds, along with guinea fowl and dikdiks.

The chalets are quite roomy and clean, beds come with mosquito nets and are very comfortable. Electricity is provided by the generator, which was from 7-10pm and about 7-10am. Hot water is supposedly around the clock. Internet is available for $5 for the duration of your stay, however, it is extremely slow and the connection is VERY intermittent. Toiletries provided are shampoo and shower gel. I was one of two females staying in the room. My friend had her shower first, and I followed shortly after. That was probably the main cause for my cold, lousily pressurized shower. The water was barely warm, and it came in very weak drips. Cold water came at a better pressure, however, it too soon dwindled into a very weak spray.

Meals are delicious. One of the best breakfast spreads I have seen so far. Staff are very
friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroovieGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Great location - outside Arusha so quiet and safe. The food was great, the staff friendly but they suffered from the country's 'power-outs' (which they can do nothing about) and there was no internet connection. The rooms were lovely.

Room Tip: Look out for the dik-diks in the evening. So cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbrianFellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usa
1.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
7.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
9.6 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arumeru River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arumeru River Lodge

Property: Arumeru River Lodge
Address: PO Box 46, USA River, Usa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Usa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Usa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arumeru River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arumeru River Lodge is a great starting point for your Safari. Only 30 minutes from the airport and the city of Arusha it is tucked away behind an old coffee plantation - far away from the everday hazzles.In dreamlike tropical gardens our 29 rooms & suites offer a touch of African Elegance. Visit Arusha National Park or explore the nearby rainforest on one of our exciting half-day excursions that we organize here on the Lodge on short notice. Or, just relax at our large solar heated pool watching the Dikdik antelopes playing in the garden. Get spoiled by our Zansibarioan Chefs with African and international dishes in our Migration's Restaurant and enjoy a drink at the open fire place in our lounge.Our entire team will try their very best to give you a very warm and personal welcome to Tanzania.Karibu!Maren & Torsten(Ownwers & Managers) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Arumeru River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arumeru River Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing