We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, love the resident dik-diks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arumeru River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Usa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, love the resident dik-diks!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at the Arumeru River Lodge 2 nights before our safari and 1 night at the end of our safari. Our room (Bamboo 1) for the first 2 nights was much more spacious and overall much nicer than the room we received on our last night. Some rooms are newer than others, so I'm assuming Bamboo 1 was one of the newer rooms.

There can sometimes be issues with not enough hot water, but at other times, it's abundant. It might be because of the frequent electricity outages. The internet can also be slow and I wish they did not charge for it.

But overall, I really enjoyed our stay. I love the dik-diks and other animals they have on the property. The food is generally good and it's a nice and relaxing place to have a Safari beer and talk over your day.

The German couple who own it left corporate jobs in Germany for Arumeru River Lodge and have been learning what to do as they go along. I think they're definitely heading in the right direction.

We spent our first night in the area in a hotel in Arusha so we could visit the city before making our way to Arumeru River Lodge. It's not a good place to stay if you want to visit the city itself. But for a relaxing stay, this is a good place.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sea-lon-sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    106
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
115
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The room we had was the farthest away from the main rooms. It was hard to find without proper signage, especially at night. It could use some updating a everything was old & worn out. The bathroom was just basic, a couple of lights were burnt out and having 4 extra locks on the door wasn't the most comforting feeling! The main lodge is very nice and the food is ok, but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GypsyJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here twice while on our safari, once to visit arusha national park and the second as astop over before our flight home. rooms are clean and comfortable the bar and restaurant area was very nice and the service excellent the food was also very good . we would recomend this lodge as a pre safari stay or pre flight home or an ideal place to stay if you want to visit arusha national park which is about 30 mins drive from the lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin_n20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

A short drive out of Arusha, nothing to see outside of the lodge. One of only a couple lodges
I've been to in Africa that DIDN'T have insects in the room. There is a swimming pool and a
souvenir shop. Lots of greenery on the hotel grounds, along with guinea fowl and dikdiks.

The chalets are quite roomy and clean, beds come with mosquito nets and are very comfortable. Electricity is provided by the generator, which was from 7-10pm and about 7-10am. Hot water is supposedly around the clock. Internet is available for $5 for the duration of your stay, however, it is extremely slow and the connection is VERY intermittent. Toiletries provided are shampoo and shower gel. I was one of two females staying in the room. My friend had her shower first, and I followed shortly after. That was probably the main cause for my cold, lousily pressurized shower. The water was barely warm, and it came in very weak drips. Cold water came at a better pressure, however, it too soon dwindled into a very weak spray.

Meals are delicious. One of the best breakfast spreads I have seen so far. Staff are very
friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroovieGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Great location - outside Arusha so quiet and safe. The food was great, the staff friendly but they suffered from the country's 'power-outs' (which they can do nothing about) and there was no internet connection. The rooms were lovely.

Room Tip: Look out for the dik-diks in the evening. So cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbrianFellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this lodge for four nights before our safari to get over jet lag. We had originally selected the Rivertrees Inn but there was no availability on one night of our stay so our safari organizer suggested this lodge. This lodge was perfect for our purposes. We spent most of our time sleeping, reading, at the pool and surfing the internet. The location was out of Arusha so it was difficult to get around - we had thought of going into Arusha for a meal but that was a $20 US taxi ride each way. So other than two tours which we had prearranged we spent all of our time at the lodge. Given what we had heard about Arusha and the fact that we enjoyed our meals here that was hardly a problem to us all considered. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Not as luxurious as a five star hotel in a large city but definitely exceeded my expectations given the circumstances. The staff were all friendly and very well meaning although sometimes there were slight problems in communicating. We had a problem with mosquitos the first night that was quickly remedied when we mentioned the problem in the morning. Extremely quiet surroundings - both in the room and common areas. There was a fair amount of animal noises during the night but by the second night I didn't notice it. This lodge is mainly used as a base for group safaris so was very quiet during the day. There seemed to be an older crowd when we first arrived but by the weekend there was a better mix of ages. The food was excellent - very light, fresh and tasty. Somewhat limited in selection but that was understandable. I was a little upset when for my first meal - lunch - the only non meat selection was pasta which I had had for a few airline meals. But after that there was always vegetarian or fish options. The portions were smaller and the food light so some might not be satisfied but given that we will be traveling for three weeks this was perfect for us. The hotel set us up with a walking coffee plantation tour the next day which was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at Arumeru River Lodge the first night of our trip and one week later, for the last two nights before taking off at Kilimanjaro Airport.

The place is owned by a super friendly and very knowledgable German couple, who are ready to talk with their guests, take them on rainforest walks, explain about nature, wildlife, local people, Tanzania in general. I found this very interesting, because they presented the information in a "European" way, which made it easy for us to relate to/digest more easily.

Another thing I really liked about them is how they are involved with the local issues- they cooperate with a fair-trade, organic coffee plantation, organize trips there and sell their coffee, they pay the salary of one ranger in the rainforest to monitor the protected area, they organize visits to local schools and villages. All of these details made this German couple very very respectable in my eyes.

The accomodation is fine, the strongest point I would say is the garden and the dining/communal area. (especially LOVED the little dik-diks in the garden and the vulturine guinea-fowls with the funny neck decoration!) The rooms (2 room/house on average with 3 beds/room) are alright, clean, functional, but the bed linen is a bit old and so are the towels. The toilets dont always flush, so there a few small inconvenient details, but they didnt decrease our level of enjoyment considerably (well, we stayed for a short period of time and we are a relaxed young couple).

Food is also fine, the staff sometimes a bit "lunatic" (slow or forgetting stuff, but they are all friendly and mean well).

The strengths of the place:
- the owners
- the location (40 mins to Kili airport, 30 mins to Arusha)
- the garden
- programmes offered

Shortcomings:
- old bed linen/somewhat outdated room equipment

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usa
1.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
432 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
7.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
559 reviews
9.6 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
937 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arumeru River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arumeru River Lodge

Property: Arumeru River Lodge
Address: PO Box 46, USA River, Usa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Usa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Usa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arumeru River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arumeru River Lodge is a great starting point for your Safari. Only 30 minutes from the airport and the city of Arusha it is tucked away behind an old coffee plantation - far away from the everday hazzles.In dreamlike tropical gardens our 29 rooms & suites offer a touch of African Elegance. Visit Arusha National Park or explore the nearby rainforest on one of our exciting half-day excursions that we organize here on the Lodge on short notice. Or, just relax at our large solar heated pool watching the Dikdik antelopes playing in the garden. Get spoiled by our Zansibarioan Chefs with African and international dishes in our Migration's Restaurant and enjoy a drink at the open fire place in our lounge.Our entire team will try their very best to give you a very warm and personal welcome to Tanzania.Karibu!Maren & Torsten(Ownwers & Managers) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Arumeru River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arumeru River Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing