We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Roaring Fire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arumeru River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Usa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Big Roaring Fire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at Arumeru for one night before safari and there was little or nothing to fault. It's on the way from Kilimanjaro airport to Arusha so it was perfectly placed for our trip as we were going through Arusha the next day.

Everyone was extremely helpful, the food was good, the bed comfortable and the chalet was just perfect. A nice touch were the umbrellas in the room ready for when there's a shower.

The pool was quite clean and nice. Loungers were ready with towels.

We booked online and had a seamless stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gavontheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    104
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
114
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

My son and I were looking forward to two nights in the Arumeru for a relaxing wind down after an amazing but tiring safari. We were impressed with the beauty of the lodge and the local staff were attentive and friendly and the food was of a very good standard. We were 'greeted' by Bert the manager whose blatently obvious bigoted thinking sent off alarm bells immediately. I asked him if he was South African...answer 'No, I have a real passport, I,m Dutch...' this was one of several comments which made us feel extremely uncomfortable and angry.

In the morning he came over to our table to make conversation and proceeded to inform us that 'Namibia is a country still run by white people so it works really well'....even as I am writing this it makes my blood boil.......needless to say my son and I packed our bags and left......He didn't ask why we chose to leave early.
We will be writing to the owners of this lodge to explain our terribly negative experience ONLY because of the manager but I cannot believe that they do not already know their choice of manager's views as he really doesn't hide it.....I can only assume they are of the same thinking and will never reccommend this lodge to anyone....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank carlywarly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed at the Arumeru having been bounced from our intended lodging and what a happy thing! It was beautiful, uncrowded, relaxing - just perfect for our introduction to Africa after a long flight from the US. The owner took us on a personal tour of the rain forest and provided a lot of really interesting information about the local economy and culture. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff. There's a very nice little gift shop and a great, well stocked bar. The hotel's website does not do it justice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shenvaldudess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here before and after our safari. This lodge is very nice, well away from the hustle and bustle of Arusha and ideal to unwind for a day after a long flight. The food was good, a nice sized pool area, a well stocked bar and a lovely open fire. The bedroom chalets were also nice and spacious. The only downside was the shower which was very temperamental and although I appreciate it is Africa we didnt have these problems anywhere else. Would recommend this place for a relaxing stop over prior to setting or returning from an activity, although we found it to be very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_M1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I spent two nights at Arumeru River Lodge and found it to be among the very best places I stayed during a 2 week trip to Tanzania this summer. What I liked about the lodge were the charming staff, the well-manicured grounds and the restaurant. There were some minor inconveniences that come along with any hotel in that part of the country, chief of which was the intermittent power outages. That really wasn't a problem though because the property has a large supply of back up generators which automatically kick on.

I also liked the location -- it's about halfway between the airport in Kilimanjaro and the center of Arusha. Its relative rural location meant it was quiet and safe. I wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend a friend to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the far end of the property. While you will have to walk farther to get to the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav3lm0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Arumeru is definitely near the top of the class in the Arusha area. If you are going to Kilimanjaro or on a safari, spend at least a couple of days here to come back to tranquility. Located in it's own area off the beaten path, Arumeru is like having your own cottage in East Africa. Each of the rooms is very spacious with a very large tiled bathroom, all spotlessly clean. The food is wonderfully prepared and is fresh with the salads usually coming right from the garden. Peter at the bar is a great barman and will take care of you as you sit around the fire after dinner or for that pre dinner drink. Maren does a wonderful job of taking care of her hotel. She tries to accommodate everyone and you can see her literally running around the place during the day take care that everything is just right. Our group arrived at the hotel after a climb up Kilimanjaro and we managed to have 3 more people than we had reservations for. Even with a full house, Maren arranged to accommodate the extra travelers. This is something that you don't find at most lodgings-someone wanting to make sure that their guests were taken care of. Maren did just that. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Arumeru River Lodge as part of our Honeymoon trip to Tanzania. We used the hotel as our basecamp to go on our Safari and our trip to Kilimanjaro. It was the first place we stayed in Tanzania and the last before departing. Our stay there was quite comfortable and the owners, Maren and Torsten Dönhoff, really make you feel at home. The other nice thing about Maren and Torsten is that they have spent a lot of time traveling through Africa. They're very knowledgeable and really enjoy spending time with you simply sharing their experiences about the area, Africa and the culture.

The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are large and comfortable and the food is very, very good. We often looked forward to the meals in between excursions and especially upon returning from our 7-day adventure to Kilimanjaro. The staff is also very, very nice. If I were to travel back to Arusha/Tanzania I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are set back from the lodge. I believe we stayed in two separate rooms. Both were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caparro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usa
1.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
7.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
9.6 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arumeru River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arumeru River Lodge

Property: Arumeru River Lodge
Address: PO Box 46, USA River, Usa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Usa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Usa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arumeru River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arumeru River Lodge is a great starting point for your Safari. Only 30 minutes from the airport and the city of Arusha it is tucked away behind an old coffee plantation - far away from the everday hazzles.In dreamlike tropical gardens our 29 rooms & suites offer a touch of African Elegance. Visit Arusha National Park or explore the nearby rainforest on one of our exciting half-day excursions that we organize here on the Lodge on short notice. Or, just relax at our large solar heated pool watching the Dikdik antelopes playing in the garden. Get spoiled by our Zansibarioan Chefs with African and international dishes in our Migration's Restaurant and enjoy a drink at the open fire place in our lounge.Our entire team will try their very best to give you a very warm and personal welcome to Tanzania.Karibu!Maren & Torsten(Ownwers & Managers) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arumeru River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arumeru River Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing