We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility in a chaotic place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arumeru River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arumeru River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Usa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tranquility in a chaotic place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Arumeru is definitely near the top of the class in the Arusha area. If you are going to Kilimanjaro or on a safari, spend at least a couple of days here to come back to tranquility. Located in it's own area off the beaten path, Arumeru is like having your own cottage in East Africa. Each of the rooms is very spacious with a very large tiled bathroom, all spotlessly clean. The food is wonderfully prepared and is fresh with the salads usually coming right from the garden. Peter at the bar is a great barman and will take care of you as you sit around the fire after dinner or for that pre dinner drink. Maren does a wonderful job of taking care of her hotel. She tries to accommodate everyone and you can see her literally running around the place during the day take care that everything is just right. Our group arrived at the hotel after a climb up Kilimanjaro and we managed to have 3 more people than we had reservations for. Even with a full house, Maren arranged to accommodate the extra travelers. This is something that you don't find at most lodgings-someone wanting to make sure that their guests were taken care of. Maren did just that. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    104
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
113
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Arumeru River Lodge as part of our Honeymoon trip to Tanzania. We used the hotel as our basecamp to go on our Safari and our trip to Kilimanjaro. It was the first place we stayed in Tanzania and the last before departing. Our stay there was quite comfortable and the owners, Maren and Torsten Dönhoff, really make you feel at home. The other nice thing about Maren and Torsten is that they have spent a lot of time traveling through Africa. They're very knowledgeable and really enjoy spending time with you simply sharing their experiences about the area, Africa and the culture.

The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are large and comfortable and the food is very, very good. We often looked forward to the meals in between excursions and especially upon returning from our 7-day adventure to Kilimanjaro. The staff is also very, very nice. If I were to travel back to Arusha/Tanzania I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are set back from the lodge. I believe we stayed in two separate rooms. Both were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caparro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We ended our Kili climb and started our safari with a night ar Arumeru River Lodge. This place is gorgeous and probably one of the best accommodations in Arusha. The grounds are impeccable and very well maintained. The lobby is charming and has a very authentic feel to it. The food was wonderful and there's also a lovely swimming pool.
We needed an abundance of hot water after not showering for 8 days and this was not an issue at all. They even returned mounds of laundry to three of us girls in a matter of 2 hours.
We were warmly greeted my Torsten, the owner. Torsten and his wife are from Germany and gave up their corporate life recently to purchase the lodge. They have done an amazing job and I hope to return here very soon again.
Pricing for this accommodation is very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainRolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at Arumeru after a long flight to Kilimanjaro from Europe.
We did not spend a lot of time at the lodge as we started our safari journey the following day.
This lodge is a nice place for a short stay as the owners are friendly, the grounds are lovely and the morning breakfast will give you a great start to your holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckdnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed for our first night on arrival to Tanzania before starting our safari. It was a great place to arrive at after a long journey and we were welcomed warmly by the owners. After arriving late we were offered a lovely meal and had a wonderful first night sleep surrounded by the soothing sounds of birds and monkeys. Early morning before we set off we had a lovely breakfast and walked the beautiful grounds. Bright colourful flowers, turkeys gobbling and our first animal spot, the very cute Dik Dik!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Everything that I wanted to say has been said by other people. Our trip was already very expensive and we had asked our travel agent where we could cut on the cost, and she suggested this hotel instead of another one more expensive in Arusha. We didn't know what to expect. Since we were arriving late at night and leaving early in the morning, it was great. The staff was friendly. The grounds were very nice, with lots of flowers. And they accomodated us with food even though it was very late.
I would recommend this place and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAOSMUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

my wife, my in-laws and I departed on a two week long safari (off road, camping gear, a map and a swahili dictionary). However, we underestimated the travel times on the road and did not expect to find ourselves at night on the road with no where to sleep. Fortunately we found the Arumeru River Lodge in one occasion. The hosts (owners), were very kind to us and offered a great experience which allowed us to relax from the stress of off-road adventures in the unknown. The place itself is fabulous, but my favourite part was the lunch offered at their restaurant in their BEAUTIFUL garden. The price is on the high end, but you get every penny worth of value. Thank you for the hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexsalomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usa
1.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
7.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arumeru River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arumeru River Lodge

Property: Arumeru River Lodge
Address: PO Box 46, USA River, Usa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Usa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Usa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arumeru River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arumeru River Lodge is a great starting point for your Safari. Only 30 minutes from the airport and the city of Arusha it is tucked away behind an old coffee plantation - far away from the everday hazzles.In dreamlike tropical gardens our 29 rooms & suites offer a touch of African Elegance. Visit Arusha National Park or explore the nearby rainforest on one of our exciting half-day excursions that we organize here on the Lodge on short notice. Or, just relax at our large solar heated pool watching the Dikdik antelopes playing in the garden. Get spoiled by our Zansibarioan Chefs with African and international dishes in our Migration's Restaurant and enjoy a drink at the open fire place in our lounge.Our entire team will try their very best to give you a very warm and personal welcome to Tanzania.Karibu!Maren & Torsten(Ownwers & Managers) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arumeru River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arumeru River Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing