We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wig's Lounge-Nice and Quiet”

Evergreens at the Simsbury Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Weatogue
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Windsor, CT
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wig's Lounge-Nice and Quiet”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We dropped in for a bite after skating at Great Pond State Park. The servers were very friendly and helpful. The turkey pot pie was great.

The ambiance is comfortable.

We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Recently Attended A Large Business Party Here”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The food was exceptional and plentiful with a party of over 100 people. We were one of three parties being held the same night. The catering staff did an excellent job with both food quality, quantity and service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_200950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another excellent dinner at Evergreens!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

To celebrate my birthday, my husband and I returned to one of our favorite restaurants, Evergreens at the Simsbury Inn. Once again we had a suburb meal and the service was excellent! The menu always makes it hard to choose. I had the Bibb salad and the special entree: filet mignon and stuffed shrimp. My husband had the Caesar salad and the grilled swordfish with Spring risotto and sautéed spinach. Alll were prepared to our liking and very tasty. For dessert I chose the frozen lemon meringue and my husband had the Guiness chocolate cake; both were incredibly unique and delectable!
Our waiter was very attentive, friendly and helpful. The setting at Evergreens is always conducive to a special occasion and the staff never fails to provide that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muffinAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a great chef!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I thought the restaurant might be a bit pompous, but not at all. We both had monkfish risotto, followed by Tandoori chicken, which were really great. Another evening in Twigs bar (same chef) food was just as good, with a fantastic bread & butter pudding to finish. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Papa_Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

All that needs to be said is, an excellent menu superbly prepared and professionally served in a beautiful New England setting. It doesn't get much better than this.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BlackwatchAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evergreens at the Simsbury Inn also viewed

 
Simsbury, CT
 

Been to Evergreens at the Simsbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing