We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Oakdell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakdell Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waterford
Williamson, West Virginia
1 review
“Great Place!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Absolutely a wonderful place to stay! Everyone is so nice there and accommodating. I loved the way the hotel's rooms are different looking! Makes each time seem like a new experience all over again. I have never stayed somewhere where I felt like I was at home and to me that is Oakdell Motel. I too will be back, if I am ever in the area again! Thank you all for everything!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
21
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Oakdell Motel is a great place to stay when in Waterford. Gail, her staff and family, runs Oakdell in a family friendly atmoshere, and will always make you feel welcome. In addition, The Oakdell Motel will offer you great value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjørn-Inge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The owner Gail is so accommodating and sweet. The room was perfect for my husband and me. We already made reservations for July and will enjoy sitting by the pool. Great location and easy access to the highway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Having stayed in dozens of Hotels in the last year, this one made me feel the most welcome! The property is well maintained. clean and quiet. It is very centrally located to the entire Southeastern CT area. I could not have been more pleased with this pleasant gem tucked away in a quiet corner! Gail epitomizes hospitality and her interaction with her guests is truly inspirational! Gail, I WILL be back! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmtwkjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you are a smoker who loves loud talking and the bright aroma of Lysol over cigarette droppings, this is the place for you. Wow! Really? And, it is pricey for such a dump. No working TV on top of the horrid odor. My husband and I couldn't sleep because the odor was so deadly. The continental breakfast is the topper to a sleepless night: Wal-Mart donuts out of the 24 pack, instant coffee with powdered creamer. Yep, that's it. If you want to be abused for top dollar, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Ms. Gail is a gem and so is her hotel!! very clean and comfortable my guys stay all over the place and this by far is their favorite in the north east corner!! we will definitely stay again!! the location made my guys feel right at home. they were able to grill out and enjoy the grounds which are beautiful, makes you feel like your in the country, but your close to everything you would need!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is about a 70-year hotel. Built for people 5 foot 4 inches. Everything so tiny its like built for little people.The toilet doesn't flush down the waste. And Walls tissue paper thin. You can hear every conversation in this guy left the TV on all night so I couldn't sleep. I would have been better off sleeping in my car. This hotel is badly need of an update. The proprietors probably spend all their money at the casino. Cause they don't reinvested one dollar back into this dump. If they would have charged 29.99 a night that might have been a good value. But since I didn't sleep maybe not. Anyway my money gone and so I'm I. Stay here if you must. But good luck sleeping unless you like sleeping with the tv on too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank djraid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Waterford
Rodeway Inn Waterford
#2 of 5 in Waterford
116 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,677 reviews
6.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
7.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,319 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 5 in New London
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakdell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakdell Motel

Property: Oakdell Motel
Address: 983 Hartford Tpke, Waterford, CT 06385-4001
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oakdell Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Oakdell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing