We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful little find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of When Pigs Fly Cafe

When Pigs Fly Cafe
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful little find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great place for breakfast or lunch, tucked into an historic area of Waterford called Jordan Village. This place has great food, using fresh ingredients and cooked to order. Delicious breakfasts and lunches...they are only open until early afternoon, and on weekends the lines can be long, because it is not a big place. But what a wonderful place for those of us trying to eat healthy! And I can bring my vegan daughter here and she can find very good things to eat! They also brew up many different flavored coffees (stored in urns) which were very good. And the prices are reasonable. Not to be missed on a trip to this area, in my boo!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Ct
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband and I were heading to Newport Rhode Island for the weekend with 2 other couples and wanted someplace different to have breakfast. Did some research - thank you tripadvisor and came upon When Pigs Fly Café. It isn't too big and we had maybe a 10-15 minute wait for a table for 6 people. I love the coffee bar they have, just help yourself, while you wait. The food was outstanding and good size portions. Loved the vegetarian hash with my poached eggs. Service was quick, bathrooms clean, all in all a great place to eat. I will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyI2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Saturday Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My meal here was my favorite breakfast out since I started eating a more low-glycemic diet. I had a tasty large omelet and a whole grain pancake that seemed nice and healthy with a hearty texture and not too sweet (they have regular pancakes too). The atmosphere was pleasant, and the pig themed decor was fun but not overwhelming. It was a nice restaurant option between a traditional diner and an expensive fancy place. It wasn't too full when we arrived but by the time we left around 9:30 it was much more busy. I'm sticking with 4 stars because my husband felt his home fries could use some improvement - a little bland with a little too many crispy bits for his taste. It's also a pet peeve of mine when restaurants serve the fake high fructose corn syrup stuff and charge extra for real maple syrup, in this case $1.80 according to the menu. But we would still go again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank E091909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great breakfast venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Have only eaten here for breakfast. Great omelet and coffee/tea included with your meal. Service was very good and the menu selections quite varied.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank momof7ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
217 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Breakfast as it should be...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I love to eat breakfast out. This was our first time here and I can say that it's the best breakfast I have had in awhile. Service was great/friendly and our meals were prepared perfectly. We did not have to wait for a table for two. This is a really busy cafe. They do not take credit cards, which is fine with us. The menu was varied and there is something for everyone. What a great find! Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed When Pigs Fly Cafe also viewed

 

Been to When Pigs Fly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing