We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid service and quality food...”

Diorio Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Diorio Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 314 Restaurants in Waterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Grand Street
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“Solid service and quality food...”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Attended a function at Diorio this past week and must report that the food and service were both high-quality, and I would return to this restaurant without hesitation (personally and professionally). Of the appetizers, the bruschetta and broccoli bisque were both stand-outs. My scallops risotto entree was heavenly, and my tiramisu was quite good as well. I was the only one of my party to order a dessert other than the restaurant's signature Banoffi Pie, which was very well-received by the others. Parking is relatively convenient, given the location. I recommend Diorio highly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank radiowitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    40
    24
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Restaurant... whether solo at the bar, or with a group”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've eaten at Diorio's 3 times in the last 4 months... 2x in a group (5) and last Fri 5/26 solo at the bar as i watched the game.

Bottom line is that the place is great... awesome food... great staff.... not inexpensive, but worth the money for the experience.

You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mcgonaglej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Would rate higher except for our last experience.....”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We live in Miami and visit our hometown every spring. First place we went was Diorio. For years we have gone and usually had a great meal. I don't know if something happened over the winter, but I was kind of shocked. Server was somewhat rude, not the usual for Diorio. Shrimp cocktail seemed warm. Filet mignon had a bad flavor,like it had been frozen or something. Server was gracious and ordered me another. 2 bites in it tasted the same. My wife took a bite and said. "Yuck". No problem said the server. By this time my wife was done, so I did not reorder. Parking is sometimes an issue, especially on Thurs - Sun Was disappointed and may not return. Sorry for the bad review, but I must admit I've had many great meals there.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown, CT
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Ranked 20th?”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I saw that Diorio was ranked 20th out of Waterbury area restaurants and had to write that there is no way this is not in the top 10. In my experience it is #1 in Waterbury. The service is always excellent and never hurried and the food is surprising but still consistently amazing. I just wish they would bring the carpacio back. It was amazing.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aaronds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, CT
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for catching up with friends”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

For 3 friends meeting up after not seeing each other for a year then Diorio's was just what we needed. We sat down, ordered wine and started to chat . . . suddenly 30 minutes had passed and we realised we should probably look at the menu. Our server was patient and courteous, he kept on stopping by to see when we were ready to order but we felt no pressure to 'order now'. Two of us had Filet Mignon (medium rare)whilst the third member of our party had seafood - all 3 dishes were cooked to our expectations. Before we knew it the time was 10pm and we were the last diners in the restaurant . . but guess what . . no-one was hassling us to leave (on a Thursday night).
What can I say . . . . a great restaurant.
Final comment, parking can sometimes be a problem when you're going out for dinner. At Diorio's that wasn't a problem, I parked across the street in the parking garage, from car to restaurant took 2 minutes walk.
Try this restaurant...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diorio Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Diorio Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing