We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Reviewed January 27, 2007

My wife and I stayed in a King 'Jacuzzi room. Very nice. Bedding was very comfortable. Slept great. Jacuzzi is very nice and it's in the bedroom so you can watch TV from it. Staff was very pleasent. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was great. Our waiter was excellent. We had a table in front of the fireplace. We have stayed here 4 times before in the same type of room and we have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippy700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 323 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2007

Because we have family in Waterbury, we've stayed at this Courtyard about four or five times over the last few years. I must admit the primary reason for choosing this hotel was its location: it's right next to Route 84 and, as such, makes it easy for us to get to where we are going in a relatively easy manner. Good points: nice lobby/reception area; covered, free parking; within walking distance to the downtown area (shops, stores, theatre); rooms are adequate in size; views of the city from the upper floors. Drawbacks: downtown location ensures that you will hear police sirens at night. Until the Waterbury Hampton Inn was built, this was our Waterbury hotel of choice. Nothing spectacular, but a good solid option if you need to stay in Waterbury.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard while in Waterbury to see a performance at the Palace Theatre. The location to the theatre was great, just a five minute walk away. We had dinner at the restaurant next door, Diorios, where we had some excellent Italian fare in this gorgeous historic restaurant. The hotel is a little bit older, so definitely not as sparkling clean as many of the Courtyards that we have stayed in, but the location and price were right!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tilly&Kyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

In terms of look and feel, this is not your typical Courtyard. In terms of service and comfort, this meets or exceeds what you expect from a Courtyard.

Unlike most Courtyards, which are built from scratch and pretty much have one of three standard designs, this appears to be a renovation of an older hotel. As such, there are lots of cool features, like a stately lobby, bellman at the entrance, and a bar/restaurant. We ate at the restaurant and it wasn't bad. And the morning breakfast was slightly better than the typical Courtyard standard.

A couple tips - ask for a room with a view of the cool old church across the highway. At night, it's beautiful. But don't let them "upgrade" you to a spa room. You'll give up room space for a tacky fiberglass tub in the sleeping area. Face it, you won't use the tub. And it brings a certain unease to wonder who has used it in the past! Ewww!!!

Gripes? A couple minor ones: the lobby shop had almost no sodas or water and the Internet access is not WiFi. Yeah, these are minor.

And this being Waterbury, you're not going to find anything better downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CJKatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2005

Stayed here for two nights. Didn't particularly feel safe in immediate area outside although plenty of american tourists didnt seem to mind. Hotel good. Breakfast buffet style/make your own. Leisure centre simple and usuable. I particularly liked the room service or that you can get takeout delivered to your room. No annoyances at all.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TracyJerram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
519
Reviewed May 11, 2005

The hotel is in a good downtown location, within walking distance of everything. Parking is free, and it is easy to get to. Room is average size, and very clean. Has good size indoor pool, whirlpool, and excercise room. Breakfast buffet was very good.

This was my second stay there and I would be back again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2005

Rooms were dirty and the location is not a good location. We were advised not to walk around in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
529 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southington
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
67 reviews
6.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Southington - Cheshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterbury Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterbury Downtown

Address: 63 Grand St, Waterbury, CT 06702-2224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range: $111 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterbury Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED! A Refreshing Stay just for you! The Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown rises 11 floors in the city's skyline. Remodeled through and through, our state of the art lobby greets guests and our unique GoBoard provides updates on things you need to know. Choose from spacious rooms all with refrigerators, and well-appointed suites with kitchenettes-- all furnished with luxurious mattresses and comfort bedding. All rooms have been newly remodeled. Need pampering? We are proud to introduce our partnership with Viso Bello Spa now located at the Courtyard Waterbury. Enjoy services such as body massages, waxing, skin care and nail care. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and enjoy guest amenities such as our new indoor pool and fitness center. The Bistro is your food and beverage destination for three meals a day. We offer a full service bar and an on-site Starbucks serving throughout the day. More than 10,000 square feet of meeting and event space is available for business and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Waterbury Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waterbury Downtown Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Courtyard
Waterbury Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing