We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weak Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weak Internet”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

When I'm traveling for business I expect an internet connection that is capable of supporting skype and other viedo confrencing. Unfortinately, this Marriott can does not have the internet speed to support any viedo confrencing. Beware if you need to use Go To Meeting - it is not going to work. I can't recomend this hotel just based in this. However, this hotel is geeting tired - the elevator control panels are falling off.

On the upside, the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Steve C,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us in Waterbury. We are very disappointed to hear that you had trouble with you internet connection. We have revamped and upgraded our entire Wi-Fi system and are experiencing speeds faster than ever. We are also almost halfway through a renovation of our beautiful facility. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again and experience a Refreshing visit with us.

Warm Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    104
    73
    22
    22
See reviews for
88
51
18
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I spent less than 24 hours here for a business trip and was instantly greeted with the most gracious front desk staff. My room was upgraded to a king size and it was extremely clean. I went to the hotel restaurant for dinner and the staff was extremely accommodating. The food was pretty good. Nothing too special. Very limited menu. The staff for the breakfast crowd was extremely friendly as well. Everyone was so easy to make small talk with that it made travelling alone so much nicer! The gym facility was small, but they had the basic machines. I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mccanavan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mccanavan3 ,

Thank you for your review on your stay highlighting the amazing attributes of our team here in Waterbury. We strive to make you feel at home, and your stay sounds like a job well done.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Waterbury, not far off the interstate and a short walk from the Metro North commuter train stop. The exterior gives away the fact that this hotel has been there awhile, however, the nicely remodeled room was very comfortable and clean. I was surprised and concerned when I saw a very old window air-conditioning unit in my room but it kept the room at the desired temperature all night with minimal variation and the blower remained on all night which is important to me as the white noise drowns out external noise. The television offered ample channels which satisfied this sports fan. Parking was very convenient as guests park in the adjacent parking garage at no charge and on the weekend I was able to park on the first level right across the driveway from the front of the hotel. My only concerns were some check-in issues I observed for other guests (my experience was smooth) and the fact that the housekeeper could not produce a mop to clean up a bathroom spill that occurred during our stay. Overall this was a good choice for this visit.

Room Tip: King bedded rooms have a sofa bed which offers somewhere good to watch TV rather than having to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverStar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments detailing your clena and comfortable stay at our establishment in Waterbury. We enjoy being conveniently located in Central CT. Please visit us again on your next trip in Waterbury.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My friends and family stayed here during my son's wedding and everyone was very happy with their accommodations. The rooms are very clean and the staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was great. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the price was great for the amount of food they served. If I'm ever in the area again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYDee1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your 5 Star review on your stay with us in Waterbury. A job well done to our team. We look forward to seeing you when you return to the area.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I went to a wedding reception in downtown at the Courtyard Waterbury Marriott and had a fun time but had very, very poor service at the reception. The walk from the church was right across the street which was very convienant. Other than that the food was ok but nothing great. Appetizers were not all out as all the guests arrived. When it came time to sit down for dinner there was no water pitchers out at the tables, and dinner took a while to get out to the table.Once the dinner came out the meals came out sporaticly and didn't all come out at once. By the time the food came out the tables were not cleared of drink classes, beer bottles, and salad plates. There was no second rounds of bread during dinner. Coffee was not given to any of the guests unless you found the one waiter that was available for the whole reception hall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on the wedding you attended with us. This event in particular started 1 hour as the ceremony end very early and we decided to accommodate the bride and groom we would allow their guest, into the room early. I will definitely share your remark with our banquet team in an effort to improve. We know how important it is, especially in events like these with a 5 hour open bar, to have the tables cleared very often as glasses and bottles can pile up. Thank you again and we hope to see you back at our establishment.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterbury hotels

Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just what you'd expect. Solid staff. Decent rooms. Breakfast buffet ($) was not bad. Remote for TV had dead batteries, but that can happen anywhere. Super nice people at the desk. I had a nice, sizeable corner room on the top floor (1122)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangers93-94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your solid review. I am excited that you enjoyed your plush corner room. Another great stay thanks to our friendly front desk team! We hope to see you back again!

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were pleased with our stay here. The only exception was when two maintenance workers keyed into our room without knocking. We went to the reception desk to ensure that they were in fact hotel workers. The woman handled it swiftly, gave us new cards and was very apologetic.

We don't suggest the restaurant. The vodka sauce tasted worse than canned sauce.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay. We are pleased with your 4 star rating. Wonderful to hear that you had a good time with us. I will definetly share your remarks with our team regarding our maintenance workers and the vodka suace. I do sincerely apologive for the disturbance and flavorless sauce.
We will absolutely work to correct those items.

We hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southington
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterbury Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterbury Downtown

Property: Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Address: 63 Grand St, Waterbury, CT 06702-2224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterbury Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED! A Refreshing Stay just for you! The Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown rises 11 floors in the city's skyline. Remodeled through and through, our state of the art lobby greets guests and our unique GoBoard provides updates on things you need to know. Choose from spacious rooms all with refrigerators, and well-appointed suites with kitchenettes-- all furnished with luxurious mattresses and comfort bedding. All rooms have been newly remodeled. Need pampering? We are proud to introduce our partnership with Viso Bello Spa now located at the Courtyard Waterbury. Enjoy services such as body massages, waxing, skin care and nail care. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and enjoy guest amenities such as our new indoor pool and fitness center. The Bistro is your food and beverage destination for three meals a day. We offer a full service bar and an on-site Starbucks serving throughout the day. More than 10,000 square feet of meeting and event space is available for business and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Waterbury Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waterbury Downtown Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Courtyard
Waterbury Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing