We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Long Beach, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good time”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were pleased with our stay here. The only exception was when two maintenance workers keyed into our room without knocking. We went to the reception desk to ensure that they were in fact hotel workers. The woman handled it swiftly, gave us new cards and was very apologetic.

We don't suggest the restaurant. The vodka sauce tasted worse than canned sauce.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay. We are pleased with your 4 star rating. Wonderful to hear that you had a good time with us. I will definetly share your remarks with our team regarding our maintenance workers and the vodka suace. I do sincerely apologive for the disturbance and flavorless sauce.
We will absolutely work to correct those items.

We hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    106
    75
    22
    22
See reviews for
90
53
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was quite disappointed by the condition of this hotel. Room was a bit worn as were a lot of the amenities. This hotel did offer a full restaurant (did not use).

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. They have parking available in a garage adjacent to the hotel that is monitored 24hrs a day which I felt was necessary because the hotel's location seemed to be in a more run down area of Waterbury.

To be fair, it appears that Marriott has plans to remodel this facility because they had placards showing the finishes that were going to used. Which is good, because this hotel needed some real sprucing up. Not bad, but not good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nbkgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank your for your review on your stay. We are pleased that you found our staff very pleasant and helpful. Here at the Courtyard we strive to make all of our guests feel right at home.

We would love to invite you back to see our fabolous remodel, I am confident you will be more than impressed. We hope to see you again with us in Waterbury.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Got good walk-in rate. Arrived late at 21.30 and got room no problems. Staff were excellent. Restaurant/cafe was open until 10pm so still could have meal when we arrived. Very clean, comfortable bed. Couldn't see hair dryer but didn't look very hard. Free complimentary parking. Automatic am payment receipt pushed under door so check out was very efficient. Key drop on leaving car park. Great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thakn you for your fantastic 5 Star Rating on your Stay. Your stay reflect the impeccable stay we aim to give all of our guests. From the room rate to the comfortable room, great restaurant hours, free parking, and speedy check; We hit the nail right on the head.

We hope to see you again,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Was out in Waterbury CT for business, and needed a comfortable, friendly place to spend the week in. The hotel treated me extremely nice, and I had a most pleasant stay. Highly recommended for anyone that is going to be around the Waterbury CT area!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear SimonB,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us here at the Waterbury Courtyard by Marriott. I am very pleased that you were able to relax in our comfortable hotel. We are pleased to give you the top notch service that you deserve as our guest. Thank you for your high recommendations and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Director of Sales
Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macae, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel provides very comfortable rooms, the acoustic and light isolation work, the place is clean. The staff is kind and ready to assist you. The hotel has free wifi with good quality. Be care walking around the hotel at night the though there is a police station nearby, the surroundings seems to be dangerous at night.
The breakfast has some good options, it is not my favorite kind of foo, but it was well prepared,
The negative point is due to the exercise room. The equipment was not in good shape and the options are feel if you need to exercise.
If I go back to Waterbury I would stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neriton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Google Translation
Obrigado por seu comentário sobre o nosso hotel afirmando que são uma excelente opção.

Temos o prazer que encontramos nossos quartos confortáveis ​​e nossa equipe amigável. Esperamos tê-lo de volta ao hotel em Waterbury são novamente.

Atenciosamente,
Tiffany Wilson
Diretor de Vendas
Courtyard by Marriott
Waterbury Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business in September 2013. The hotel looks and feels tired and has a strange fragrance about it. The rooms are basic with no room safe, no mini bar and the bathroom is old fashioned. The hotel bar closed before 11pm with no possibility to get a drink after 11 even for residents which is unheard of in Europe. The staff in general did not appear to enjoy their job and the girl behind the bar the two nights I was there seemed to have been on a customer prevention course! Breakfast was a very basic buffet with no fruit juices were on the buffet but after I had eaten I saw someone ask for one which came out as an individual order as if they didn't really want to include it. There were four of us and we all had different items for breakfast, I had two slices of toast and three strips of bacon and some coffee for which I had a bill for $11.50, a colleague had a large bowl of cereal several coffees and some toast which was charged at $2.50 all of us had different charges and though it was a buffet breakfast there was still an indication service should be added. No way would I do that.
Also the seats in the restaurant were like sitting on a low lounge chair and far too low to eat at a table from....most uncomfortable. If this is a Marriott in the US then I will make sure I do not stay at another.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentBoyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Courtyard in Waterbury. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. I will share your review with our team at the hotel and ensure we use this as a learning tool.

Again, we thank you for staying with us and would love to have you back so we can show you the superb service that our hotel is known for.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterbury hotels

Wassaic, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here in August for one night and it was great. The popcorn in the lobby was a hit with my kids. I enjoyed a nice afternoon cup of tea. The room was immaculate! The kids my husband and myself enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. The excercise room was also very nice. Only complaint was not having a mini fridge in our room but I saw from a previous response that we could request one. The breakfast buffett was adequate. The food could have been hotter but overall I loved this hotel and will definetly stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for deeming our hotel a "Great Place to Stay”! I am glad you enjoyed the excellent popcorn we have in the lobby. I hope you were able to experience the variety of popcorn toppings as well! Your family seems to have had a pleasant time in our pool and hot tub, we are glad you were able to relax and enjoy our amenities. I will mention to our culinary team your comments on the food temperature, as we strive for excellence in all area.
We hope to have you visit us again.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
492 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
297 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
63 reviews
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southington
6.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Southington - Cheshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterbury Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterbury Downtown

Property: Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Address: 63 Grand St, Waterbury, CT 06702-2224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterbury Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED! A Refreshing Stay just for you! The Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown rises 11 floors in the city's skyline. Remodeled through and through, our state of the art lobby greets guests and our unique GoBoard provides updates on things you need to know. Choose from spacious rooms all with refrigerators, and well-appointed suites with kitchenettes-- all furnished with luxurious mattresses and comfort bedding. All rooms have been newly remodeled. Need pampering? We are proud to introduce our partnership with Viso Bello Spa now located at the Courtyard Waterbury. Enjoy services such as body massages, waxing, skin care and nail care. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and enjoy guest amenities such as our new indoor pool and fitness center. The Bistro is your food and beverage destination for three meals a day. We offer a full service bar and an on-site Starbucks serving throughout the day. More than 10,000 square feet of meeting and event space is available for business and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Waterbury Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waterbury Downtown Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Courtyard
Waterbury Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing