We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Quality Inn(Waterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveler rating
94
112
79
23
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
112
79
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanbistro restaurantroom keyoff the highwaybusiness triplobby areapleasant stayfront desk clerkone night stayindoor poolplugsrenovationstarbuckshallwayfireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 333 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Was out in Waterbury CT for business, and needed a comfortable, friendly place to spend the week in. The hotel treated me extremely nice, and I had a most pleasant stay. Highly recommended for anyone that is going to be around the Waterbury CT area!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear SimonB,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us here at the Waterbury Courtyard by Marriott. I am very pleased that you were able to relax in our comfortable hotel. We are pleased to give you the top notch service that you deserve as our guest. Thank you for your high recommendations and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Director of Sales
Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel provides very comfortable rooms, the acoustic and light isolation work, the place is clean. The staff is kind and ready to assist you. The hotel has free wifi with good quality. Be care walking around the hotel at night the though there is a police station nearby, the surroundings seems to be dangerous at night.
The breakfast has some good options, it is not my favorite kind of foo, but it was well prepared,
The negative point is due to the exercise room. The equipment was not in good shape and the options are feel if you need to exercise.
If I go back to Waterbury I would stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neriton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013
Google Translation

Obrigado por seu comentário sobre o nosso hotel afirmando que são uma excelente opção.

Temos o prazer que encontramos nossos quartos confortáveis ​​e nossa equipe amigável. Esperamos tê-lo de volta ao hotel em Waterbury são novamente.

Atenciosamente,
Tiffany Wilson
Diretor de Vendas
Courtyard by Marriott
Waterbury Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business in September 2013. The hotel looks and feels tired and has a strange fragrance about it. The rooms are basic with no room safe, no mini bar and the bathroom is old fashioned. The hotel bar closed before 11pm with no possibility to get a drink after 11 even for residents which is unheard of in Europe. The staff in general did not appear to enjoy their job and the girl behind the bar the two nights I was there seemed to have been on a customer prevention course! Breakfast was a very basic buffet with no fruit juices were on the buffet but after I had eaten I saw someone ask for one which came out as an individual order as if they didn't really want to include it. There were four of us and we all had different items for breakfast, I had two slices of toast and three strips of bacon and some coffee for which I had a bill for $11.50, a colleague had a large bowl of cereal several coffees and some toast which was charged at $2.50 all of us had different charges and though it was a buffet breakfast there was still an indication service should be added. No way would I do that.
Also the seats in the restaurant were like sitting on a low lounge chair and far too low to eat at a table from....most uncomfortable. If this is a Marriott in the US then I will make sure I do not stay at another.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentBoyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Courtyard in Waterbury. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. I will share your review with our team at the hotel and ensure we use this as a learning tool.

Again, we thank you for staying with us and would love to have you back so we can show you the superb service that our hotel is known for.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here in August for one night and it was great. The popcorn in the lobby was a hit with my kids. I enjoyed a nice afternoon cup of tea. The room was immaculate! The kids my husband and myself enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. The excercise room was also very nice. Only complaint was not having a mini fridge in our room but I saw from a previous response that we could request one. The breakfast buffett was adequate. The food could have been hotter but overall I loved this hotel and will definetly stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for deeming our hotel a "Great Place to Stay”! I am glad you enjoyed the excellent popcorn we have in the lobby. I hope you were able to experience the variety of popcorn toppings as well! Your family seems to have had a pleasant time in our pool and hot tub, we are glad you were able to relax and enjoy our amenities. I will mention to our culinary team your comments on the food temperature, as we strive for excellence in all area.
We hope to have you visit us again.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Unless you really MUST stay in Waterbury, don't. There's nothing there. It's a failed former industrial town, and there's just no places to eat, nothing to see; the streets don't feel safe. Just a bunch of failed small businesses.

Now, as to the property. Why is it even here? But given that it is...

Inadequate front-desk staff. Usually one person, who isn't real helpful.
Only places to eat/drink without driving is in the hotel.
Seriously, $2.50+ for a 1oz. bag of chips from the "Marketplace" in-house?
Icemakers on multiple floors broken down.
There's a "Service Elevator" but the staff doesn't use it, so in this 11-story property you have to fight the help for the two remaining guest elevators. Presumably the service elevator is out of order. Guest elevators have broken/missing glass and floor tiles.
Dinky, awkward room layouts with TVs off to side, rather than at foot of bed.
Towel bar for bath towels 12 inches above toilet tank, with picture hung above. Do I really want to hang my bath towel over the toilet-tank?
Well, at least the police station is right next to the parking garage, so your car might be safe. You can tell from the sirens going to/from at all hours.

They have a very nice bar-tender, which is good, as you'll want to numb yourself to the grim surroundings.

Room Tip: Get a room in another town.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gascolator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Gascolator,

Our hotel is conveniently located along Interstate 84 and Route 8. We have a full onsite restaurant as you stated, as well as fine dining (not affiliated with the hotel) attached to the hotel. Diorio’s, as well know popular dining experience in Waterbury. Within 1 mile of the hotel are several local and chain restaurant for your dining needs. We typically have 2 desk clerks on (with the exception of their break time. We apologize that our team at the desk did not WOW you during your interactions. We strive for customer service excellence in all area. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your bartender. I have shared your comments with our management team and we will use this as a value tool to find ways to improve.

Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Best Regards,

Tiffany Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews