We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Not a good experience!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business in September 2013. The hotel looks and feels tired and has a strange fragrance about it. The rooms are basic with no room safe, no mini bar and the bathroom is old fashioned. The hotel bar closed before 11pm with no possibility to get a drink after 11 even for residents which is unheard of in Europe. The staff in general did not appear to enjoy their job and the girl behind the bar the two nights I was there seemed to have been on a customer prevention course! Breakfast was a very basic buffet with no fruit juices were on the buffet but after I had eaten I saw someone ask for one which came out as an individual order as if they didn't really want to include it. There were four of us and we all had different items for breakfast, I had two slices of toast and three strips of bacon and some coffee for which I had a bill for $11.50, a colleague had a large bowl of cereal several coffees and some toast which was charged at $2.50 all of us had different charges and though it was a buffet breakfast there was still an indication service should be added. No way would I do that.
Also the seats in the restaurant were like sitting on a low lounge chair and far too low to eat at a table from....most uncomfortable. If this is a Marriott in the US then I will make sure I do not stay at another.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentBoyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Courtyard in Waterbury. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. I will share your review with our team at the hotel and ensure we use this as a learning tool.

Again, we thank you for staying with us and would love to have you back so we can show you the superb service that our hotel is known for.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    106
    75
    22
    22
See reviews for
89
53
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wassaic, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here in August for one night and it was great. The popcorn in the lobby was a hit with my kids. I enjoyed a nice afternoon cup of tea. The room was immaculate! The kids my husband and myself enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. The excercise room was also very nice. Only complaint was not having a mini fridge in our room but I saw from a previous response that we could request one. The breakfast buffett was adequate. The food could have been hotter but overall I loved this hotel and will definetly stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for deeming our hotel a "Great Place to Stay”! I am glad you enjoyed the excellent popcorn we have in the lobby. I hope you were able to experience the variety of popcorn toppings as well! Your family seems to have had a pleasant time in our pool and hot tub, we are glad you were able to relax and enjoy our amenities. I will mention to our culinary team your comments on the food temperature, as we strive for excellence in all area.
We hope to have you visit us again.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

There are very few reasons you want to stay in Waterbury and unfortunately none of them are good. However, If you were studying urban decline, economic disparity in the U.S. or homelessness, you are in luck because you can stay at the Marriott and stay in relevant comfort. The beer is cold, rooms are clean, the water eventually gets hot, the AC works and the hotel does not smell like the rest of Waterbury. Overall, the hotel is solidly, OK. The food is spot on mediocre but where else would you go to eat? I took a walk in the morning in search of coffee (only have your choice of gas station Dunkin or another Dunkin) and saw bullet holes in a storefront window. You don't get to see that everywhere.
Have fun and ask yourself - do I really HAVE to stay in Waterbury?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xenon007700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay, your opinion is very much respected. However I must say we LOVE our city, home to many great historial businesses such as the Palace Theatre, Timexpro Musem, and the Mattatuck Museum. We wish you all the best.

Sincerely,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Unless you really MUST stay in Waterbury, don't. There's nothing there. It's a failed former industrial town, and there's just no places to eat, nothing to see; the streets don't feel safe. Just a bunch of failed small businesses.

Now, as to the property. Why is it even here? But given that it is...

Inadequate front-desk staff. Usually one person, who isn't real helpful.
Only places to eat/drink without driving is in the hotel.
Seriously, $2.50+ for a 1oz. bag of chips from the "Marketplace" in-house?
Icemakers on multiple floors broken down.
There's a "Service Elevator" but the staff doesn't use it, so in this 11-story property you have to fight the help for the two remaining guest elevators. Presumably the service elevator is out of order. Guest elevators have broken/missing glass and floor tiles.
Dinky, awkward room layouts with TVs off to side, rather than at foot of bed.
Towel bar for bath towels 12 inches above toilet tank, with picture hung above. Do I really want to hang my bath towel over the toilet-tank?
Well, at least the police station is right next to the parking garage, so your car might be safe. You can tell from the sirens going to/from at all hours.

They have a very nice bar-tender, which is good, as you'll want to numb yourself to the grim surroundings.

Room Tip: Get a room in another town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gascolator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Gascolator,

Our hotel is conveniently located along Interstate 84 and Route 8. We have a full onsite restaurant as you stated, as well as fine dining (not affiliated with the hotel) attached to the hotel. Diorio’s, as well know popular dining experience in Waterbury. Within 1 mile of the hotel are several local and chain restaurant for your dining needs. We typically have 2 desk clerks on (with the exception of their break time. We apologize that our team at the desk did not WOW you during your interactions. We strive for customer service excellence in all area. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your bartender. I have shared your comments with our management team and we will use this as a value tool to find ways to improve.

Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Best Regards,

Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterbury hotels

Sebastian, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location in Waterbury. We were visiting family and needed a hotel nearby. This place was very clean and staff were very attentive. Although we didn't eat in the hotel, they had a very lovely restaurant and lobby bar that was very inviting. We were upgraded to a 2 room suite, which just made our stay all the more comfortable. They offered coffee and cookies in the afternoon, which was a pleasant treat and the front desk staff were very nice. Parking was free for hotel guests and very convenient, which is really important to us. The hotel looked as if it had been recently renovated and offered a very comfortable and pleasant stay. There was a workout room too. We would definitely recommend this Courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseDlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your excellent 5 STAR review. We are glad you had the true Courtyard Waterbury experience that we strive to give each and every guest. We hope to have you back at your home away from home soon.

Best Regards.

Tiffanywilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, NY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here August 16-18. We booked one room for 2 nights with a King size bed. The room was clean, good sized. The bed was comfortable. We were on the 5th floor and it was quiet. Surprisingly, since there were two wedding parties staying there that weekend. Our only complaint was that there was no mini-fridge in our room. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable They were very helpful in providing directions. The location of the Hotel was very convenient. Guests are provided with courtesy parking in a spacious, manned parking garage. This was our first trip to visit relatives in Waterbury and staying at this hotel, but we will certainly stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mearth1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for communicating to users that we work diligently to keep a clean hotel. On your next visit be sure to stop by the front desk for a complimentary refridgerator or request at the time of booking your room. We gladly offer this service free to all guest.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I go to auto races at Lime Rock Park in Lakeville,Ct every year. I stay in Waterbury and always stay at this hotel. Good location, near train station if you are coming in by train from NYC. Rooms always clean and comfortable. Will be back next year.

Room Tip: I usually stay around the July 4th holiday, so I try to get a room on the west side as high up as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for consistently visiting us annualy. We hope to see you back and give you another flawless stay.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
492 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
297 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
63 reviews
6.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Southington - Cheshire
8.3 mi away
Residence Inn Southington
Residence Inn Southington
#2 of 8 in Southington
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterbury Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterbury Downtown

Property: Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Address: 63 Grand St, Waterbury, CT 06702-2224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterbury Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED! A Refreshing Stay just for you! The Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown rises 11 floors in the city's skyline. Remodeled through and through, our state of the art lobby greets guests and our unique GoBoard provides updates on things you need to know. Choose from spacious rooms all with refrigerators, and well-appointed suites with kitchenettes-- all furnished with luxurious mattresses and comfort bedding. All rooms have been newly remodeled. Need pampering? We are proud to introduce our partnership with Viso Bello Spa now located at the Courtyard Waterbury. Enjoy services such as body massages, waxing, skin care and nail care. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and enjoy guest amenities such as our new indoor pool and fitness center. The Bistro is your food and beverage destination for three meals a day. We offer a full service bar and an on-site Starbucks serving throughout the day. More than 10,000 square feet of meeting and event space is available for business and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Waterbury Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waterbury Downtown Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Courtyard
Waterbury Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing