We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Godawful location; fair property. Overall, kind of grim.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Unless you really MUST stay in Waterbury, don't. There's nothing there. It's a failed former industrial town, and there's just no places to eat, nothing to see; the streets don't feel safe. Just a bunch of failed small businesses.

Now, as to the property. Why is it even here? But given that it is...

Inadequate front-desk staff. Usually one person, who isn't real helpful.
Only places to eat/drink without driving is in the hotel.
Seriously, $2.50+ for a 1oz. bag of chips from the "Marketplace" in-house?
Icemakers on multiple floors broken down.
There's a "Service Elevator" but the staff doesn't use it, so in this 11-story property you have to fight the help for the two remaining guest elevators. Presumably the service elevator is out of order. Guest elevators have broken/missing glass and floor tiles.
Dinky, awkward room layouts with TVs off to side, rather than at foot of bed.
Towel bar for bath towels 12 inches above toilet tank, with picture hung above. Do I really want to hang my bath towel over the toilet-tank?
Well, at least the police station is right next to the parking garage, so your car might be safe. You can tell from the sirens going to/from at all hours.

They have a very nice bar-tender, which is good, as you'll want to numb yourself to the grim surroundings.

Room Tip: Get a room in another town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gascolator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Gascolator,

Our hotel is conveniently located along Interstate 84 and Route 8. We have a full onsite restaurant as you stated, as well as fine dining (not affiliated with the hotel) attached to the hotel. Diorio’s, as well know popular dining experience in Waterbury. Within 1 mile of the hotel are several local and chain restaurant for your dining needs. We typically have 2 desk clerks on (with the exception of their break time. We apologize that our team at the desk did not WOW you during your interactions. We strive for customer service excellence in all area. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your bartender. I have shared your comments with our management team and we will use this as a value tool to find ways to improve.

Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Best Regards,

Tiffany Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 323 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location in Waterbury. We were visiting family and needed a hotel nearby. This place was very clean and staff were very attentive. Although we didn't eat in the hotel, they had a very lovely restaurant and lobby bar that was very inviting. We were upgraded to a 2 room suite, which just made our stay all the more comfortable. They offered coffee and cookies in the afternoon, which was a pleasant treat and the front desk staff were very nice. Parking was free for hotel guests and very convenient, which is really important to us. The hotel looked as if it had been recently renovated and offered a very comfortable and pleasant stay. There was a workout room too. We would definitely recommend this Courtyard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseDlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your excellent 5 STAR review. We are glad you had the true Courtyard Waterbury experience that we strive to give each and every guest. We hope to have you back at your home away from home soon.

Best Regards.

Tiffanywilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here August 16-18. We booked one room for 2 nights with a King size bed. The room was clean, good sized. The bed was comfortable. We were on the 5th floor and it was quiet. Surprisingly, since there were two wedding parties staying there that weekend. Our only complaint was that there was no mini-fridge in our room. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable They were very helpful in providing directions. The location of the Hotel was very convenient. Guests are provided with courtesy parking in a spacious, manned parking garage. This was our first trip to visit relatives in Waterbury and staying at this hotel, but we will certainly stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mearth1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for communicating to users that we work diligently to keep a clean hotel. On your next visit be sure to stop by the front desk for a complimentary refridgerator or request at the time of booking your room. We gladly offer this service free to all guest.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I go to auto races at Lime Rock Park in Lakeville,Ct every year. I stay in Waterbury and always stay at this hotel. Good location, near train station if you are coming in by train from NYC. Rooms always clean and comfortable. Will be back next year.

Room Tip: I usually stay around the July 4th holiday, so I try to get a room on the west side as high up as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for consistently visiting us annualy. We hope to see you back and give you another flawless stay.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Staff was great. We stayed one night before going to New York for two days and then returning to stay one more night. They allowed us to leave our vehicle in the parking garage and also stored our luggage while we were gone. Very friendly and accomodating. Nice room...Location is great for a side trip to NYC as the bus ststion is directly across the street. Also, Diorio's Italian restaurant is attached to the hotel by a corridor. Great place to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfray1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review on your 2 hotel stay. As you stated our hotel is centrally located in CT and makes us a convenient stopping point when traveling to NYC. I am glad you were able to experience our amazing staff and hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

As hotels go, this is probably more of a 3.5. Compared to the other choices in the area, its more like a 5.

The main areas seemed a bit worn. They have a small shop in the lobby and they do not offer breakfast. (Which was ok as we found Ami's bagels a short drive away....yum!) We could only enjoy the pool for about 20 minutes because there was too much chlorine.

Our room was very nice and you could tell that it had been redone. The bedding was very comfortable and the room was clean. A finicky member of our family even commented on how quiet the AC was. One thing that we would have liked to have had was a mini-fridge though.

As others have commented, the areas near the hotel may not be the best for a late night stroll but we felt comfortable and safe in the parking lot and around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acadiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at our hotel. We are proud to be the top hotel in our area. I read your note regarding breakfast. We have always offered a full hot breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast daily. Sounds like you may have come down passed closing time. Thank you for the information regarding the pool, I will share it with our maintenance staff and ensure we do not have this issue again. I am pleased you found your room to be plus and comfortable, we attribute that to our amazing housekeeping staff and new bedding package. Next time around feel free to contact our front desk at any time for a mini fridge. WE offer them by request at no charge. Again, thank you for the 4 star rating and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed over on a Saturday night. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Received a complimentary bottle of water upon arrival, nice touch. Room was very clean and comfortable. Had the buffet breakfast before leaving on Sunday, and it was great. Lots of variety, and a reasonable price. Will definitely stay there again when in CT. Location is easy to get to, right off I-84.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for comnmenting on our friendly staff. It is our mission to make all guest feel right at home. Clean rooms and a comfortable atmosphere is our specialty! We look forward to having you back at our location again.

Take care,
Tiffany Wilson
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
522 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southington
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
66 reviews
8.3 mi away
Residence Inn Southington
Residence Inn Southington
#2 of 8 in Southington
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterbury Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterbury Downtown

Address: 63 Grand St, Waterbury, CT 06702-2224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range: $112 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterbury Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED! A Refreshing Stay just for you! The Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown rises 11 floors in the city's skyline. Remodeled through and through, our state of the art lobby greets guests and our unique GoBoard provides updates on things you need to know. Choose from spacious rooms all with refrigerators, and well-appointed suites with kitchenettes-- all furnished with luxurious mattresses and comfort bedding. All rooms have been newly remodeled. Need pampering? We are proud to introduce our partnership with Viso Bello Spa now located at the Courtyard Waterbury. Enjoy services such as body massages, waxing, skin care and nail care. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and enjoy guest amenities such as our new indoor pool and fitness center. The Bistro is your food and beverage destination for three meals a day. We offer a full service bar and an on-site Starbucks serving throughout the day. More than 10,000 square feet of meeting and event space is available for business and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Waterbury Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waterbury Downtown Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Courtyard
Waterbury Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing