We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dingy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dingy”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I wasn't expecting much when I booked here other than a solid, comfortable hotel. To the extent it was inexpensively priced I feel I got what I paid for. I rated it poor because of the appearance which is dingy from the exterior and the noise. I don't have great demands for hotels when I am not on vacation and this was just a short stay due to jet lag. But here lies the problem. This hotel was so noisy, I had to wear my noise-cancelling headphones to sleep through the night. There is some kind of musical bell tower that goes off every hour with a full tune that must play out for about 1-2 minutes. At one point it woke my husband and he asked, "What are you doing?" I answered, "It's not me, I think its a church or something." I still don't know what it was, but I know it goes off every hour. Then there is the road noise, ambulances, fire trucks. We even had a fire alarm go off while we were just settling into our room. I know it is not the hotels fault, and it did not affect my rating of course.
I see there are many good reviews for this hotel, and I am not sure why my experience was so different from the others. The front desk receptionist was very friendly and helpful. But I am sorry to say I personally would not stay here again if given the choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majorabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay completely with us. We appreciate your feedback, it can only help us improve. We hope that if you find yourself in the Waterbury area again, you would give us another chance.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    104
    73
    22
    22
See reviews for
88
51
18
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
265 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good solid place to stay. Everything you would expect from a Courtyard hotel.

Stayed here when I was caught in a snowstorm on my way back home. The lobby and common areas were modern and well maintained.

The front desk staff were pleasant and efficient.

The room itself was clean, well maintained but a little dated. Comfortable stay with a nice TV, comfortable bed and good reliable internet access.

Overall a nice experience and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Miusa,
Thank you for the hotel recommendation. We are please that you found our staff friendly and your accomodations comfortable. We hope to see you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I had not stayed here in years, mostly because I live in the area. Well, my house was being painted and I needed a night away from the fumes.

Since my last stay, the hotel has been renovated--not for the better. The lobby is confusing, with chairs scattered about seemingly helter skelter. Once we reached our room, things were not much better. There was no one "book" explaining services, such as housekeeping, room service, etc. There was a laminated menu in the room, but it was unclear if it was for the restaurant or room service. (Turns out it was for both.)

Like others, I found the hotel very noisy, and, like others, discovered ear plugs on the nightstand.

I have stayed in many a hotel located on the grounds of an airport, including London's Heathrow, and never heard so much a jet taking off. In my opinion, there is no reason for this much noise. If the hotel was renovated in 2008, as claimed, then more insulation could have been added.

Staff appeared to be untrained but eager to please.

A definite disappointment, Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear lovetotravel1018,
Thank you for your feedback during your stay. I am disappointed that you did not find our hotel to meet your requirements for a pleasant stay. The hotel was recently renovated with a modern open lobby/lounge concept. We are also revamping to the new Bistro concept in the early part of 2013. We are located in downtown Waterbury and are prone to general city noise, ambulances, etc. We do our best to make our guest feel at home. We hope you in the area again and will stop in and give us another chance so we can prove to you why we are the number 1 rated hotel in Waterbury. Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irondequoit, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I booked this hotel blind through a room bidding service, have stayed here a few times through same service.

Rooms are large and clean, as is the hotel itself, with decent wifi connections and a good working area. Bed is comfortable, showers and amenities are fine. I did not hear any outside noise, even on the second floor, but wasn't on the highway side, and I'm not very sensitive to that anyway.

Ordered room service, this was the only problem. Whoever took my initial order dd not put it in, when I called 30 minutes later to check on it, I was told it was coming up, then I received a call shortly after that acknowledging that they did not have my order and were going to expedite it. They offered me a complimentary beverage for the inconvenience, but I passed. The food was OK, bun a little stale.

However, I believe it isn't the problems that should be concentrated on, but how well it is responded to, and the staff handled that ably.

Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mclee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank for your honest review of your stay. I am pleased our team was sincere in handling your room service corrections. Thank you for being a continuos loyal customer.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Easy to find, central to downtown, the room was comfortable, clean and met our expectations for a Courtyard. However, I wish I had read the other reviews about the highway noise before I made the reservation. Unfortunately, we were on the highway side and it was VERY loud and I got very little sleep. I have stayed at hotels right next to highways before, but this one was particularly busy with loud trucks and an ambulance or two. I would not stay here again unless they could guarantee a room on the other side of the building. It is too bad that the building doesn't have better soundproofing on the highway side because the hotel itself is rather nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fire100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Fire100,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope you get out to our property again. We do accept room location preferences and would be delighted to ensure you received your preferred location.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterbury hotels

Hubbardston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

As is most of our Courtyard Marriots stays this was very pleasing. Comfortable rooms, hospitable staff and the food in the hotel restaurant was very good. The breakfast buffet was one of the best that I have been to. Outside noise would be the only complaint but it is next to a hospital and a highway so its to be expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POPSEVEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Popseven,
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Waterbury Courtyard by Marriott. We are glad you enjoy the plush breakfast buffet, comfortable rooms and our wonderful staff. We hope to see you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been in this hotel twice both reason due to business travel. It´s located in Waterbury downtown, next to Brass Mill Mall.
Room is nice, good shower and at front desk you can pick some stuffs to eat and drink.
Nice choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Decio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Decio C,

Thank you for continuously choosing the Waterbury Courtyard for your business travel needs. We hope to host you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southington
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterbury Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterbury Downtown

Property: Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Address: 63 Grand St, Waterbury, CT 06702-2224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterbury Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED! A Refreshing Stay just for you! The Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown rises 11 floors in the city's skyline. Remodeled through and through, our state of the art lobby greets guests and our unique GoBoard provides updates on things you need to know. Choose from spacious rooms all with refrigerators, and well-appointed suites with kitchenettes-- all furnished with luxurious mattresses and comfort bedding. All rooms have been newly remodeled. Need pampering? We are proud to introduce our partnership with Viso Bello Spa now located at the Courtyard Waterbury. Enjoy services such as body massages, waxing, skin care and nail care. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and enjoy guest amenities such as our new indoor pool and fitness center. The Bistro is your food and beverage destination for three meals a day. We offer a full service bar and an on-site Starbucks serving throughout the day. More than 10,000 square feet of meeting and event space is available for business and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Waterbury Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waterbury Downtown Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Courtyard
Waterbury Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing