We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel, night staff was a bit rude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome hotel, night staff was a bit rude”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was extremely impressed with this hotel... for the most part. The value of the rooms was fantastic, the hotel itself was beautiful. The only thing that kind of ruined it for me, on my last night, a Saturday night, the auditor was very rude. We asked him if we could have some extra pillows and blankets for our room. He seemed to be telling us anything he could to avoid having to do this. After asking him at least three times, we just gave up and went to our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear John F,
Thank you for commenting on our awesome hotel! We hope you get to visit us again in the near future. I am saddened to hear your feedback on our team member. Our motto is our guests are #1. Please accept my sincerest apologies and know that we will continue to work with our team to provide customer service excellence.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    103
    73
    21
    22
See reviews for
87
50
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Level Contributor
249 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a very short stay at this hotel. Our room was very nice and I wish I could have enjoyed it a little longer. Nice set up and furnishings, very comfortable bed. How to access the wi-fi was not well spelled out and thus a little confusing. The bathroom toiletries are very small and don't really provide enough shampoo for two people. But the bathroom is large and comfortable, double closets, nice towels. I was able to grab a coffee to go in the morning from the lobby.

We also had dinner in the restaurant. I have to admit it was not our first choice but we were in very casual clothes and it was late so we felt limited. The service from Anthony was very good. He tried very hard. The downside is it was banquet food like you have at a conference. We were rather hungry and there were bread plates on the table but nothing was produced to put on them. The wine is rather pricy at $8.50 a glass for an average white. It took quite a meal for the main courses. The food was fine just very average. The desserts were the best part and the best deal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Handpickd,
Thank you for your reveiw on your recent stay. We are pleased to find your stay was very comfortable. We also appreciate the feedback on your dining experience. We will be sure to share this with our team ad continue to make improvements based on your suggestions.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The staff at this hotel were awesome!The room was very clean and had a very comfortable bed too. The decor was lovely.The food in the restaurant was also very good as was the serviceThey had coffee and tea in the lobby,also cookies and popcorn in the afternoon which was a nice little treat. would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishrosie1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear irishrosie1147,
Thank you for an excellent review on your stay with us in the Waterbury. I will share your feedback with our team. It is our pleasure to know we succeeded in making your stay memorable. We hope to see you back soon.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just stayed over the weekend & only after reg place was full & hubby was tired so we went here,the place looks nice & rooms are nice the sheets are awful not good at all & we had probs w our toilet & taking a shower was bit painful & there TV I was just trying to get it on a channel & couldn't find my way out of some sales stuff & accidentally ordered some $20.00 music something we didn't want & not sure if they took that off the bill the gal said she'd have to speak w a supervisor & we had go so don't know yet but Press "Number 3" will take you to Reg TV stations wish was just told & save us some aggravation & the pools not heated & was kinda cloudy the hot tub has bad jet that shot out water every few mins all over not pleasant but was fair & they only give free coffee not food like our reg place & other place we can smoke, having to go outside was a pain esp when I'm disabled & think I'd pass on this place & we will stay at our reg place rather than here oh & we needed clean towels & they took ours & were told we had wait till after 7pm the Next day wth really so we had share the one towel we had our reg place we'd get clean ones right away & w all the ppl they have working there one would think someone could find us a towel but Nope we missed our reg place more & more so I'd Not wanna stay again I'm sorry & froze getting out of shower NO heaters in them & someone took heat lamp out & put a reg bulb in.

Room Tip: we had an end hall room the view was awful 223 or 233 on 2nd floor,it was a roof view I'd have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilBear_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear LilBear_12,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay at the hotel. I am saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Marriott International is proud to be the leader when it comes to implementing one of the most comprehensive smoke-free hotel policies in the industry.

Since the launch of our smoke-free initiative in September 2006, more than 2,400 properties in the United States and Canada implemented the policy, reinforcing our commitment to making our hotels more environmentally friendly, while accommodating the preferences of our guests. We do understand your concern as a smoker.

We hope in the future you are able to return to us so we can correct the mishaps you experienced during your stay. If you are ever in the area again please give me a call and I will personally see to it that you are able to experience the wonderful amenities and aspects of our hotel that many of our guests have grown to love.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I am a marriott member , this is a great hotel, good service, love it here. Only complaint was my room service the potatoes were bad and i got sick. Other than that im a frequent guest here. This hotel is located in the downtown area, the rooms are very clean . I highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcarter82082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Jcarter82082,

Thank you for sharing that this is a great hotel with great service and that you love visiting us. Please visit us again and definetly stop by the restaurant to give us another try. We hope to see you in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Chose this property based on TA reviews and lots of previous experience with Mariott hotels.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet with omelet station was a treat. Service is restaurant, exemplary. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dash242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank your for a fantastic review. We are pleased to hear you had a refreshing stay at our Courtyard. We hope to see you back in the future.
Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Travelling through Connecticut, we chose to stay in Waterbury for an evening. Found the hotel with little trouble, and the check in staff person was very friendly. Parking was complimentary, although in a garage somewhat "across the street". Decided to eat dinner at the hotel restaurant, which appeared to be a little overwhelmed with two large groups of diners. So service was a bit disjointed, with the host eventually taking our table, and he was very friendly and as attentive as he could be. The meal was good. The room accommodations were adequate, the hotel decor was a bit dated, but it was clean. Beds were comfortable, and the room was surprisingly quiet for a downtown hotel. Overall, the experience was average. Host and front desk staff were above average. A decent value and good place to stay for someone passing through.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank src04605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We strive to make every stay above average. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again so you can enjoy the many wonder upgrades we have done in our restaurant. We will be sure to share with our Host and Front staff the wonderful experience they have given you, our valued guests.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southington
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterbury Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterbury Downtown

Property: Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Address: 63 Grand St, Waterbury, CT 06702-2224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterbury Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED! A Refreshing Stay just for you! The Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown rises 11 floors in the city's skyline. Remodeled through and through, our state of the art lobby greets guests and our unique GoBoard provides updates on things you need to know. Choose from spacious rooms all with refrigerators, and well-appointed suites with kitchenettes-- all furnished with luxurious mattresses and comfort bedding. All rooms have been newly remodeled. Need pampering? We are proud to introduce our partnership with Viso Bello Spa now located at the Courtyard Waterbury. Enjoy services such as body massages, waxing, skin care and nail care. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and enjoy guest amenities such as our new indoor pool and fitness center. The Bistro is your food and beverage destination for three meals a day. We offer a full service bar and an on-site Starbucks serving throughout the day. More than 10,000 square feet of meeting and event space is available for business and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Waterbury Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waterbury Downtown Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Courtyard
Waterbury Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing