We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Clean room and attentive staff. I would definitely stay again if traveling to Waterbury.. My only complaint was the road noise - and my room was on the 10th of 11 floors. The windows really should have soundproofing.

Room Tip: My room faced the main street and the noise at night was bothersome. Maybe asking for a room away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invinovita_lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Lidia P,

We are Waterbury's best kept secret. We are glad you enjoyed the overall stay at our hotel.
Thank you for your feedback on the soundproofing. We have taken the nessecary steps to ensure our guesta have a quiet comfortable stay.

We hope to see you again.

Bestt Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    104
    73
    22
    22
See reviews for
88
51
18
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff! Rooms were immaculate, never wanted for a thing. We all ate breakfast in hotel restaurant in am, and we were all impressed.

We can not wait to stay again. If you and your family are planning on a visit to Quassy Amusement Park, THIS is the hotel to stay!

Room Tip: Can't think of a good tip! We had two separate rooms during our stay and both were terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, Glad to here you had a flawless stay, we welcome you back durning your next vist to Waterbury.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slocomb, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have to say I got the best nights sleep at this hotel! The staff did everything to make my stay exceptional. I was downtown and could walk to restaurants and several shopping stores. The town square was beautiful and the locals were both friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I was on the 9th floor and the view was great from 901.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveinSlocomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear SteveinSlocomb,
A great night’s sleep is priceless! Our team is pleased to hear your were comfortable during your visit to Waterbury. The wonderful restaurants and shops within walking distance are an asset to our Waterbury location. We hope you visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Manager Michael Simons is alleged to have cooked omelets at the breakfast buffet. We woke up too late to catch his act, but can attest to his professional and dedicated service. At check-out, I merely dropped an aside that the A/C unit in our top-floor room did its level best to cool things off, but produced more groans and squeals than BTUs. Without hesitation he adjusted our rate, and remarked that the hottest Summer in fifty years was no excuse for making guests uncomfortable. He's ably assisted in his tasks by Employee-of-the-Year Heather.

Most chain hotels are pretty much cloned, so it's the service extras that encourage loyalty and word-of-mouth recommendations. This property excels in this respect, and also enjoys a downtown location from which one can easily walk to nearby dining and retail.

Room Tip: If you've just come off the Interstate, and prefer not to be reminded of the highway, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exspecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Exspecto,

Thank you four your review on our Courtyard. Our custom made omelets are a special treat that our guest deserve. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team that is truly dedicated to giving each and everyone of our guests a personalied stay. You very well deserved the refreshing stay and service that you were delivered. Again thank you for the feedback and we will be sure to share it with our team!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for 1 night during the college tour in June 2012. We were going from Boston to Princeton and wanted to stop 1/2 way. I'm a Marriott member and this one was right off the highway so I booked a room for a night.

We didn't expect much since the reviews seem mixed but it was fine. The front desk staff was very helpful, the room spacious and beds were comfortable. The parking was in the garage which was niceOur room looked like it was recently renovated. In fact, it had a paper sign for the room number. We found earplugs in the room so we were a little nervous about the noise level but we slept fine.

We checked in late at night (after 8PM) and left early (around 9AM) so we didn't use any facilities at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeeloverfromca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Coffeeloverfromca,

Thank you for your feed back of your stay. We have renovated the entire property and glad you were able to experience a comfortable stay. We hope you return and get to enjoy the wonderful amenities of the hotel,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode island/ Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a baptism to attend near waterbury ct so we decided to make it a weekend thing to go to Quassy park with our kids and we searched for a hotel. The Marriot in waterbury was one of the only ones that had decent reviews. The room we stayed in was great and super clean. The service was great and the buffet breakfast was delicious, i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RITraveler082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear RITraveler082,
We are very delighted that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and enjoyed our one of a king breakfast buffet. We hope to see you again in Waterbury.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night for a Cake concert in April. The room was clean, nice linens on the bed, very comfy bed, nice bathroom. We checked in at 3pm, went swimming around 4ish. The pool area was alright, we had fun in the jacuzzi. The hotel overall is very accommodating.
As for downtown Waterbury, the location is clean, alittle bit like a ghost town, but very friendly community. We had a couple of beers by The Palace Theatre b4 the show. I forget the name of the bar. But the The Palace Theatre is gorgeous! Beautiful theatre, its no wonder Cake choose to play there. Oh, now about Cake! Yes, Cake was staying at the Courtyard. My boyfriend and I met the lead Singer John McCrea while checking out! That was the highlight of our visit.
Oh, and Breakfast buffet was yummy, enjoyed my bacon & eggs.
THANKS to everyone at the Courtyard! Peace. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindobloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Courtyard Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Cindobloc,
Thank you for the review on your stay. Glad to hear you had a wonderfull time. We are excited you enjoyed the amenities at the hotel and the show a the Palace. Very exciting you got to meet the band!!!! We hope to have you back again on your next trip.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southington
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterbury Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterbury Downtown

Property: Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Address: 63 Grand St, Waterbury, CT 06702-2224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterbury Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED! A Refreshing Stay just for you! The Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown rises 11 floors in the city's skyline. Remodeled through and through, our state of the art lobby greets guests and our unique GoBoard provides updates on things you need to know. Choose from spacious rooms all with refrigerators, and well-appointed suites with kitchenettes-- all furnished with luxurious mattresses and comfort bedding. All rooms have been newly remodeled. Need pampering? We are proud to introduce our partnership with Viso Bello Spa now located at the Courtyard Waterbury. Enjoy services such as body massages, waxing, skin care and nail care. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and enjoy guest amenities such as our new indoor pool and fitness center. The Bistro is your food and beverage destination for three meals a day. We offer a full service bar and an on-site Starbucks serving throughout the day. More than 10,000 square feet of meeting and event space is available for business and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Waterbury Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waterbury Downtown Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Courtyard
Waterbury Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing