We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to spend a romantic night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Reviewed February 2, 2008

It is a great place to spend the night with your boyfriend or even with your family. I loved the room and their service. THe jacuzzi was nice and clean; so was the room.
I RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE!!!!!!!
:)

Stayed: December 2007
Thank LOVINGYOU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 323 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2007

The other reviews here give a good sense of the place. My wife and I stayed at the Courtyard in August 2007 and were very happy with it. We did not explore the neighborhood as we were visiting friends in a nearby village.

Our only problem was the "free" breakfast. It was the same type of buffet breakfast available at thousands of other north American hotels, with the added bonus of an omelet chef who would prepare your omelets to your specifications. A nice touch, we thought. There was also a waiter to show you to your seat and take drink orders.

HOWEVER, there is no sign or any other indication that there is a separate (and excessive, about $10 per person after taxes) charge for breakfast. A simple sign at the entrance to the dining area would have solved all our problems (and, of course, made us eat elsewhere).

Instead, as we were getting up to leave, the waiter rather rudely handed us an unexpected bill for about $20, to pay for something that nearly all hotels offer for free. We complained to the manager, and as we were waiting for her to arrive, a couple at the next table approached us and also said they had no idea there was a charge for breakfast, and were quite upset. The manager would not budge and gave some convoluted explanation of how the Marriott chain works and how different hotels had different policies (we'd just stayed at a Courtyard a few days before in another state and had essentially the same breakfast for free, minus the omelet girl).

The staff and management were generally rude and unapologetic about the whole thing. We got the feeling that they earned their pay by ripping off customers who were unaware of the fine print. She did have the gall to tell us we should have signed up for the "Breakfast Plan" where you pay extra for breakfast in advance, but not as much as we paid when we were sacked with the bill. Needless to say, we were never given any documentation about a "Breakfast Plan" before she told us we "should have" signed up.

Very disappointing. Other than that the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Stayed at this Courtyard while visiting family. It is what you'd expect. Nicer than the average Marriott Courtyard lobby with perfectly adequate rooms. Fitness "center" serviceable but closet sized; pool also serviceable but on the small side.

They advertise continental breakfast included. BEWARE! The way the breakfast is set up does NOT make clear what is free and what is NOT. It is misleading and unless you make it a point to ask, you will end up paying $10 per person for your "free" breakfast.

Parking, as advertised, costs $3 per day but you can go and come as you please.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LiveT0Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We stayed in the Courtyard while visiting family nearby. No complaints at all. The room was large, comfortable and well kept. It was the first time I have stayed in a Marriott and I was pretty impressed. Normally i would shun hotel breakfasts but I stayed here for three days and ate here every morning. The staff were on hand but not obtrusive or pushy as they are in some places and neither was there the nerve -straining muzak some hotels insist on playing to ensure you don't linger over coffee and toast. Relatives warned me of Waterbury's unsavoury reputation and the hotel's guestbook also warned me of the town's bad rep at night. Had i been of a more nervous disposition I might have cowered in my room fearing certain death in a drive-by shooting had I stepped out of the door. It didn't
seem that bad. I've been a lot more wary in Glasgow's Central Station
waiting for the last train home.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LostBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

My wife and I stayed in a King 'Jacuzzi room. Very nice. Bedding was very comfortable. Slept great. Jacuzzi is very nice and it's in the bedroom so you can watch TV from it. Staff was very pleasent. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was great. Our waiter was excellent. We had a table in front of the fireplace. We have stayed here 4 times before in the same type of room and we have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippy700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Because we have family in Waterbury, we've stayed at this Courtyard about four or five times over the last few years. I must admit the primary reason for choosing this hotel was its location: it's right next to Route 84 and, as such, makes it easy for us to get to where we are going in a relatively easy manner. Good points: nice lobby/reception area; covered, free parking; within walking distance to the downtown area (shops, stores, theatre); rooms are adequate in size; views of the city from the upper floors. Drawbacks: downtown location ensures that you will hear police sirens at night. Until the Waterbury Hampton Inn was built, this was our Waterbury hotel of choice. Nothing spectacular, but a good solid option if you need to stay in Waterbury.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard while in Waterbury to see a performance at the Palace Theatre. The location to the theatre was great, just a five minute walk away. We had dinner at the restaurant next door, Diorios, where we had some excellent Italian fare in this gorgeous historic restaurant. The hotel is a little bit older, so definitely not as sparkling clean as many of the Courtyards that we have stayed in, but the location and price were right!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tilly&Kyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
529 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southington
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
67 reviews
6.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Southington - Cheshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Waterbury Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Waterbury Downtown

Address: 63 Grand St, Waterbury, CT 06702-2224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range: $111 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Waterbury Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED! A Refreshing Stay just for you! The Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown rises 11 floors in the city's skyline. Remodeled through and through, our state of the art lobby greets guests and our unique GoBoard provides updates on things you need to know. Choose from spacious rooms all with refrigerators, and well-appointed suites with kitchenettes-- all furnished with luxurious mattresses and comfort bedding. All rooms have been newly remodeled. Need pampering? We are proud to introduce our partnership with Viso Bello Spa now located at the Courtyard Waterbury. Enjoy services such as body massages, waxing, skin care and nail care. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and enjoy guest amenities such as our new indoor pool and fitness center. The Bistro is your food and beverage destination for three meals a day. We offer a full service bar and an on-site Starbucks serving throughout the day. More than 10,000 square feet of meeting and event space is available for business and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Waterbury Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waterbury Downtown Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Courtyard
Waterbury Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing