We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome sushi!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kumo Japanese Cuisine - CLOSED

Kumo Japanese Cuisine
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome sushi!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place now renamed "mizu" has great menu choices and drink specials. We had the edaname for an appetizer which was steamed perfectly and for dinner our specialty sushi rolls were delicous! I highly recommend giving this place a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlc5442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“HALF PRICE SUSHI SPECIALS!! Great for happy hour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

my friends and I love getting sushi for happy hour after work a few times a month!! We have been going to the same place however we noticed a new sushi restaurant (Kumo...RENAMED MIZU) and wanted to give it a try!! WE WERE VERY PLEASED!!! This restaurant is very cozy well decorated inside and the menu has multiple happy hour priced sections, drinks, special rolls, regular hand rolls, salads and appetizers!! our original bill of $112.00 was only $65.00!! with the happy hour deal for 3 of us!! We will be returning =)))) new spot! friendly staff

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Now called Mizu. Renovated the interior and the food remains outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

You're probably tired of reading my reviews, but I won't stop until you go and write your own! Seriously, we have made this our weekly go to we love it so much. I want to try every different roll, many of which are 50% off all the time. Don't worry, the taste and artisanship are not at half value, only the price. There is more than sushi here. The tempura, beef Negamaki, chicken satay with peanut sauce and dumplings are all wonderful. There is something for everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Itskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstandingly fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is not my first, or last, review. The specialty sushi rolls are reasonably priced & worth every penny. The fish is fresh, and the rolls are so unique. Who would think to put fried banana in a sushi roll?! And it works!! That would be the Lucky roll. The sakatini is great & we shared a beef Negamaki appetizer. Don't take my word for it, just go & you'll end up writing ur own glowing review!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Itskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, CT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Super fresh sushi and sashimi. Great kitchen menu as well. Although we've never been there late, I understand there is music and a club atmosphere later on the weekends. Drinks are delicious and well made for a great price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jamid215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kumo Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing