We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“trying to like this place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hall Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
City Hall Cafe
Ranked #131 of 309 Restaurants in Waterbury
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“trying to like this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Thi restaurant is centrally located and full-service. Menus is ok but desserts are awful! The "lounge Lizard" host is scuzzy. I di nto appreciate him commenting on two young women comign in to the restuarant today as "two young lovelies". Being female I found his remarks offensive, and it is not appropriate for a custoemrto hear this. OH well it is Waterbury...not the classiest of towns.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie33855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Come every time we have tickets for the Palace or the Seven Angels Theater in Waterbury. Normally I am an adventurous eater,

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
385 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Sometimes wonderful, sometimes not”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

City Hall Cafe can have terrific food and be a lot of fun when the staff are all working together with the kitchen. A nice variety of food, from simple to fancy, can please most diners. From grilled meats to desserts, the kitchen can put out some wonderful meals. The problem is with consistency. A great visit can be followed all too quickly by a bad one. When the meal is bad you can almost predict it; with a greeter who seems bored, a waitstaff that might rather chat or go outside for a smoke, and a feeling like you might be inconveniencing regulars or insiders. There are not a lot of great places to eat in downtown Waterbury, and this is a viable option, but be prepared for whatever happens. The last time I went and the service and greeting was listless, we left after ordering a coffee and went somewhere else rather than have a bad meal. At other times, you almost know when you walk in that it is going to be okay. Odd place like that. Checj out the food and staff when you go in. If what you see looks right, stay.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Never going back ever had the worse experience of my life. it smelt of chain smokers and my waitress was rude and all night they hung out by the register talking loudly i couldnt enjoy my meal and almost every waitress was disrespectful but the dudes in the kitchen was mad cool

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swaggerlipsucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not bad not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I like the history here. The food is fairly good, but lunch menu is lacking. The host is kind of lounge lizard looking and is rather creepy. Service is ok, but could be friendlier. The old music playing is rather depressing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie33855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Hall Cafe also viewed

 

Been to City Hall Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing