We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington Depot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place. We stayed in the Blue Room and it was nice an comfortable. The area around is very picturesque.
The host is just incredible, very friendly and welcoming. The property is extremely well maintained.
It seems that Chrales Aznavour's "La Boheme" should quietly be playing in the background here all the time.
It's very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had such a wonderful experience at The Hidden Valley. Without *any* flaws, literally.
Me and my partner once invited friends here as a gift after they got married. It turns out, we couldn't have chosen a better place. The building, the rooms, the entire interior is so wonderfully designed, cozy and well-kept... I cannot think of a better place for couples, even though there would be certainly enough space and rooms to accomodate an entire family.
The proprietor Regine is probably one of the friendliest, most helpful and hospitable persons I ever met. Besides that, she has an excellent sense of humor. Her policy appears to be leaving the whole house including its beautiful living room with fireplace completely to her guests, while she stays in a separate annex over the garage. Her friendly housekeeper serves a delicious, freshly prepared breakfast. You feel very private and on your own but also extremly well cared for at the same time.
Needless to say, the room was spotless, spacious, and furnished with a lot of good taste.

This is truly a five-star b&b, no doubt whatsoever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Based on TripAdvisor reviews we booked a night as part of a New England trip. It was a bit off season and we were the only guests that evening. We were met by the housekeeper who got us settled in a cozy room in a small building just steps away from the main house. It was dark when we arrived and had to wait for daylight to appreciate the grandeur of the the property and surroundings. The view from our first floor room was stunning despite it being cold November. The building was designed to resemble a Dutch manor house and is done in a beautifully creative style; it had been used by the family and is now used as a BandB. Breakfast was made to order and we had the run of the main house, a warm blend of old and new world. based on a recommendation from the housekeeper we took a long walk through the woods at a park just a short drive from the BandB. This was the perfect start to a wonderful New England trip. As good as it gets. It may be tricky to find the driveway to the property at night as the road is very dark and there is no cell phone service along that stretch. Don't despair. It is just opposite a small road on the other side (the driveway is a long road that is not paved). Follow it up to the top if the hill.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the attached building for even more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hidden Valley truly is quite hidden,but oh what a gem it is.Regine, its proprietor is lovely and is a wonderful hostess,her eye for detail and decorating with antiques collected throughout a lifetime are a feast for the eye. Her Dutch roots are reflected in the architectural design of this stately home. Breakfast was elegantly presented and was delicious.The Litchfield region is beautiful and spectacular during the fall.Nice road trips,antiquing,apple picking,wineries all nearby. What a view of the countryside this B&B provides. Will highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketravelLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a wonderful surprise! When we arrived we were left breathless. The drive up through the forest leads you to a very secluded and beautiful property. You think that you've left the country and arrived at a very lovely European chalet. Regine has done a fabulous job of incorporating her Dutch heritage into her B&B.
We stayed in the Red Room, which was cozy and very comfortable. It was private with beautiful views of the valley below.
Regine was delightful and the perfect hostess. She provided a wonderful breakfast and introduced us to her very pleasant staff. Everyone was so kind and helpful.
Our dog was very welcome and loved running and playing on the property.
We would highly recommend Hidden Valley to anyone looking for an upscale B&B and hope to return again. It was by far the nicest B&B that we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Room which we loved and would want to stay there again. It is private from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powell35790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
240 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Regine is the loveliest hostess and her home is magnificent. It is so clean and also homey with exquisite art, books and such views. We so appreciated the wine, cheese and treats she provided. We had the red room, lovely, and enjoyed a dip in the plunge pool. She assistefd in securing a reservation for Community Table for our dinner also. This is ther best b and b, and we've tried sooo many, ever.

Room Tip: week nts are always better we find. No one was there but us on a Mon eve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Coming from Asia to Washinton Depot for a one night stay, Hidden Valley B&B is way beyond my expectations! This was the first time for my family to stay in a B&B and the experience turned out to be more than great! The house is absolutely beautiful and lovely. Although we did not get the chance to meet Regine, the owner who was out of town when we stayed there, we did meet Sam. Sam was also nice and extremely helpful and he took care of us very well! The breakfast was great too! We also enjoyed the fresh apples from the apple farm! Our daughter loved the dogs too!
Everything at Hidden Valley B&B gives you a peaceful mind quickly and makes you want to stay longer. If we ever come back to the area, Hidden Valley B&B will absolutely always be our number one choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lili X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington Depot
7.9 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 4 in New Milford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
6.9 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
13.1 mi away
Newbury Inn
Newbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Brookfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
11.1 mi away
Curtis House Inn
Curtis House Inn
#1 of 5 in Woodbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast
Address: 226 Bee Brook Rd, P.O.Box 280, Washington Depot, CT 06794-1205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Washington Depot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Washington Depot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hidden Valley... A sophisticated and intimate country house with breathtaking views over a nature preserve in the Litchfield Hills of Connecticut. For guests who value privacy, elegance and comfort. Child and pet friendly, extensive library, large stone terraces, farm fresh breakfasts, plunge pool, free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, cable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing