We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, a gem, perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mayflower Grace
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow, a gem, perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

If your looking for a getaway where you will be spoiled by the service, the tranquility, the coziness, the beauty and the food, go to the Mayflower Inn. I went for a 3 day stay and felt refreshed, relaxed and rejuvenated by Sunday. One of the most important things to say is that every employee I met at the Mayflower was fabulously nice and helpful. They aim to delight you. One of the standouts was the General Manager, John Trevenen. He aims to make each guest feel like they are special. My husband and I wanted to play tennis. It turned out they had closed the tennis court for the season just days before. No problem said John and the next day the net was back up ready for us to play and 2 waters were placed by the court in case we were thirsty. That says it all. Their goal is to make everyone as happy as possible. Such a refreshing experience in the days were most hotel employees are just trying to make it through the day.

Just go and be delighted!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreahalperin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Trevenen, General Manager at The Mayflower Grace, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Thank you for your very kind review of The Mayflower! We are delighted that you were able to spend an extra evening with us. Our staff truly enjoy the opportunity to interact and assist guests throughout their stay. Our goal is to have guests enjoy their visit and go home with fond memories of their time at Mayflower.

John
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    48
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
25
144
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

My husband and I have visited the Mayflower Inn and Spa on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. The place is gorgeous, the staff is top rate, the rooms are elegant and each unique, the food and wine selections are superb and the spa is outstanding. It is also less than two hours from home, but feels like a million miles...We both look forward to visiting the Mayflower for a birthday weekend, new year's eve or our wedding anniversary. Any excuse will do!

I have also been here with a group and the conference facilities are great...I just missed having my husband with me because this is such a romantic spot!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Trevenen, General Manager at The Mayflower Grace, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear Amyg,

Thank you for your kind review of The Mayflower. We are delighted that you have had the opportunity to stay with us on several occasions and always feel it was a enjoyable and special time. We do strive to make every visit completely perfect for all of our guests and realize that it’s the small details that make each stay an experience that will be cherished.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next special occasion!

John
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

what a fabulous place - it is beautiful, the service amazing, food great and the MOST beautiful spa I have ever seen. I have been to spas all over the world, this is one of the finest...WE had a great suite, and the best is the service. They go out of their way at every turn to make you feel honored and welcome - no rules and regulations to inhibit your stay - instead they try to accomodate your every need. expensive - but so worth the splurge!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsknyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Trevenen, General Manager at The Mayflower Grace, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
We are so glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us here at Mayflower! The services we offer to all of our guests are to provide them with as perfect a stay as possible. We try to make every guest’s visit a very special experience, leaving them feeling fulfilled and relaxed. The Mayflower Spa has been a tremendous addition to the property, and we work very diligently at keeping it in a pristine condition and offering anything our guests could desire; we’re delighted that you enjoyed it! We look forward to being able to give you another fantastic get away very soon.

John
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Just got back from a night at the Mayflower. Last minute reservation, we wanted a quick getaway at a spa. Had visited the Mayflower for dinner a few years back, but never stayed. All I can say it was perfect...and we are both very particular and very spoiled. We got there early and though our room wasn't ready, we were welcome to use the facilities and toured the spa. Beautiful spa, one of the best and most beautifully appointed I've ever seen, with wonderful little goodies in the changing areas, millions of fluffy towels, a nicely heated indoor pool with jets and a serene relaxation room overlooking a pond and woods. We then had lunch , and it was very good too....they were serving at the pool but we ate on the outdoor patio-- food was good and and it was well priced (you ARE in Washington ct after all). ok so our room was ready and it was stunning. yes, traditional, but not lacking any amenity and everything was in perfect condition. Big four poster bed, balcony, free wi-fi, fruit in room and complementary bottles of water, giant white robes on hook in br, flat screen tv with loads of channels, nothing lacking. Off to spa and it was great, we had massages, swam in the pool, soaked in the hot tub, my husband worked out and steamed -- in short, a great experience. Then dinner.....really good, not a large menu but the different dishes we had were expertly prepared, not overly expensive, big wine list, very attentive service...got back to our room, had turn down, fresh slippers and bottles of water by the sides of the bed....to start over the next morning with a lovely outdoor breakfast, more spa and a read by the outdoor pool. We could have availed ourselves of the classes at the spa, tennis or walks or bike rides, but in such a beautiful setting, relaxing by the pool was just perfect (did i say they have a library and magazines/newspapers everywhere?). So, in response to people who gave some unflattering remarks on this site, I don't know where you stayed, but are you sure it was here? This was one fine establishment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank traxnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Trevenen, General Manager at The Mayflower Grace, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to express your impressions of Mayflower Inn and Spa and your experience during your recent stay. We are very happy that you had the ability to experience all that you did here at Mayflower. We appreciate all the wonderfully nice comments that you’ve made about our property. We do strive to make every visit completely perfect for all of our guests and realize that it’s the small details that make each stay an experience that will be cherished for a lifetime. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Mayflower in the near future.
John
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Preston, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

After the last renovation we had done at our house in New Preston we decided we would get out of the house during the painting process as the smell was sickening. We decided to splurge and "camp out" at The Mayflower Inn for a couple of nights. What a delight. We are thinking of selling the house and moving into the Mayflower. (Not really) ......The rooms are amazing and I have to say I do love being pampered. The staff is young, but experienced and my wife and I were pleasantly surprised at how different the menu was with the new chef. If I could I would move in, but that is not to be. We now plan to paint every year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Trevenen, General Manager at The Mayflower Grace, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to express your impressions of Mayflower Inn and Spa and your experience during your recent stay. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience with us, here at Mayflower. We have noticed a great deal of positive feedback in regard to our changed menu, we’re very glad that you and your wife enjoyed our chef's new creations. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

John
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

It is a wonder that they are in foreclosure with such high prices! The inn has the feel of an old Bed and Breakfast, charming, but a bit run down. The location is close enough to the city and yet a world away (NOTE: cell service is spotty at best). The beautiful grounds create a immediate sense of calm. Service was sometimes outstanding, sometimes non-existent.

Coffee, eggs and toast for two was eighty dollars! Thankfully, we found a "deal" of $600 per night including breakfast and champagne. Every space inside the small outdoor pool and every lounge chair around it was occupied. One of the instructors taught an exercise class that was basically an eighties step class on a Bosu ball. The next instructor was much more challenging, but was working in a private client in between guests.

Room 34 had a gorgeous view, but the pillow top mattress pad did little to disguise the coils poking through the lumpy old bed underneath. Room 32 was an even larger, equally beautiful room, but also had a bed that needed replacing years ago.

Spagoers were wise to stake out on of the four comfy chairs overlooking the grounds in the Garden Room. The steam room in the ladies lounge was never on and there was a line of women waiting for one of three showers at all times. Staff was noticeably absent until you got to the treatment rooms. The facility is beautiful and the technicians are top notch. Sarah B.. for example, was worth every penny.

Adjust your expectations and find a deal. Otherwise, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacoba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Skelly, General Manager at The Mayflower Grace, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to express your impressions of The Mayflower Inn and Spa and your experience during your recent stay. I regret that we did not meet all of your expectations but very much appreciate your kind comments regarding the many positive attributes we offer throughout the property.

We are very fortunate to enjoy a vibrant summer season where at times our guests may have to find that favorite table or pool location claimed by another and we do strive to ensure that all our guests are equally accommodated in their needs and desires. I regret you were disappointed with the immediate access to some of these enjoyments. Your comments regarding g the steam room is noted and perhaps you will understand that in our commitment to operate as an environmentally responsible property, we do not run the steam rooms constantly, but rather turn them on for each guest as requested in as immediate a fashion as possible.

We make every effort at Mayflower to offer a variety of fitness classes to meet varying skill levels and tastes and I am delighted that you indeed found a selection to your liking. I am pleased to see that your package booking selection afforded a cost effective way of experiencing Mayflower and hope that you will choose to return in the near future.

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share these comments and know that our staff welcomes all feedback from our most valued asset…………..our loyal guests. We will all look forward to welcoming you back to Mayflower and will use your suggestions in our continuing process of improvement for the ultimate hospitality experience.

John
General Manager
The Mayflower Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda2010
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

Beautiful Inn with world class spa facilities. The new spa takes you away to relax, but the class of the old inn remains untouched. Beautiful decor and amenities.
Our suite was rundown however. The carpet was ripped in the middle of the room, clothes left behind by previous occupants, bed canopy ripped-all reported to hotel by email satisfaction questionnaire sent to us, but no response to our issues. This did not ruin our stay as they were just minor details.
The restaurant is very good, but "spa selections" are very limited and not really "spa".. the menu needs a lot of help in this area if they are too be a real spa destination.
The spa treatments are very good and the spa employees very attentive to special needs. We loved relaxing in the big white room overlooking the woods and pond between appointments.
We will definitely stay here again, though they need some work in areas.. VERY EXPENSIVE!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY-traveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Skelly, General Manager at The Mayflower Grace, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to express your impressions of Mayflower Inn and Spa and your experience during your recent stay. We regret that parts of your experience did not meet your expectations and appreciate your comments and the many positive attributes we strive to maintain throughout the property.

We are truly sorry for your impressions of some elements of decor within your suite. We have certainly addressed your concerns about the carpet and bed canopy and trust that when you return to us you will have an enjoyable experience no matter which accommodations you choose.

Thank you for your comments about spa cuisine mid week. We will certainly review our offerings of spa cuisine and try to develop greater variety in the near future.

We take all feedback from our guests very seriously and appreciate the time taken to share your thoughts.

John
General Manager
The Mayflower Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
8.8 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
6.3 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 4 in New Milford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
20.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
11.9 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Rocky River Inn
The Rocky River Inn
#2 of 4 in New Milford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Grace

Property: The Mayflower Grace
Address: 118 Woodbury Rd, Washington, CT 06793-1208 (Formerly Mayflower Inn)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Washington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mayflower Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayflower Grace, located less than 2 hours from New York City, evokes the elegance of an English countryside hotel. Set on 28 acres of rolling hills, streams and gardens, each of the 30 guest rooms are individually decorated to offer a unique experience. The restaurant offers a memorable fine dining experience from either the tap or dining room menus, and the inn's expansive wine list features many fine selections from the Mayflower wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your The Mayflower Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing