We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base for hiking in Macgillicuddy's Reeks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast

Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
394 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Excellent base for hiking in Macgillicuddy's Reeks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in mid-May and found this to be an excellent location for hiking and climbing in this beautiful area. The draw was Carrantuohil, the Irish high point. We climbed from the west side, parking for which is about 20 minutes from this B&B at Hydro Road. The lodging was very clean and all furnishings in excellent condition. Peggy was helpful with information about walking the Gap of Dunloe and nearby eating possibilities. She produced a hearty "fry" each morning of the traditional Irish breakfast. A bonus were the delicious home-made scones she serves! It was cool during our stay so the electric blankets got the beds warm before bedtime. The beds were firm and comfortable, with extra blankets in the wardrobe. Water pressure was great with plenty of hot water and towels of various sizes. Peggy also provided a sack lunch for our hikes which was handy as the Lidl store is near Killarney, maybe 10 Km away. Back in the room and exhausted it was nice to have a reasonably sized flat-panel TV with several channels available. The wifi was handy for checking the weather forecast and sending photos home. The grounds are perfectly manicured and a pleasure to view from the breakfast room. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We were in room #1 which had a single and a double bed, windows with a far view over the valley to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank climber_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a beautiful part of Ireland, and the house carries the glory! Absolutely beautiful garden, freshly baked scones and tea on arrival.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmeamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Holly Grove is a great place away from the tourism bustle of Killarney. Our room was very generous in size and we enjoyed the peace and quiet afforded by the location. Kate Kearney's Cottage is close by and a great location for dinner and music.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malingshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

....
My Husband and I stayed in Holly Grove on the 23rd of September 2011.It was a great experience from start to finish,tea and scones were provided in Peggy's sitting room on arrival, the room that we stayed in was cosy warm and spotless, breakfast on sunday was superb served with lovely fresh homemade scones and brown bread,Nothing was too much trouble for Peggy or her Husband,they took the time to chat and give us any information we needed, I definetly would recomend Holly Grove.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Beautiful home and gardens less than a mile from the entrance to the Gap of Dunloe and perfect location for exploring Ring of Kerry and Dingle peninsula.
Pat and family took good care of us and made reservations at Kate Kearney cottage where the music was some of the best we heard in Ireland and the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

We've just arrived home in England after a delightful 4 night stay at Holly Grove and I shall dearly miss that lovely cooked Irish breakfast tomorrow morning.

I'd highly recommend Holly Grove to anyone looking to stay in this part of Ireland, the owners Peggy and Patrick are both so very helpful after a long day travelling not only were they kind enough to offer to pick us up from the bus station they also had tea and cakes for us on arrival and a lovely warm bed, it was the perfect start to our short break.

I've never known such exceptional customer service, beats what any 5 * hotel could ever offer, we were made to feel so very welcome.

I would advise you take a car or hire one, but this is the case with all the B&Bs in this picturesque area, however even on foot we had a great time and Peggy and Patrick offered us lifts on numerous occasions, which we were very thankful for.

In conclusion, I hope we one day return to Holly Grove!

Jonny & Joe

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyGleeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stopped here for 4 nights as a base to explore the Ring of Kerry & Gap of Dunloe.

From the moment we arrived Peggy was such a lovely host - the kettle was on and scones served! For no other reason it's worth stopping here for the scones!

A beautifully clean room in a lovely home gave us a great place to travel around the Ring of Kerry and take the short drive to the start of the Gap of Dunloe. 15 miles of walking later we were back at Holly Grove for a well earned rest.

For anyone who is a cat lover there is always Ginger - a lovely member of the family to pamper in the garden - also a great part of this B&B

We'll definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecottage56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
7.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
7.2 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
7.4 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast
Address: Gap Of Dunloe, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing