We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Getaway”
Review of The Dunloe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunloe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Incredible Getaway”
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Was so impressed with the hotel and staff that we booked our wedding there for next year. The drive to the hotel is one of the most beautiful in Ireland and the hotel grounds are stunning. Staff here are really genuinely friendly and happy to help you with anything. There is loads to do at the hotel and they have a beautiful new leisure centre including new pool and spa. The hotel is really peaceful so you never feel uncomfortable, even when it`s full there is plenty of space for everyone.

Rooms are really attractive and quiet so you get a great night`s sleep. Food in the restaurant is superb and really worth a try. Had breakfast in bed but heard good things about the breakfast in main hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed1trinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    98
    24
    17
    6
See reviews for
276
251
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had our wedding reception in the hotel and decided to stay 2 further nights. The hotel is situated in rolling countryside near the gap of dunloe. The rooms are spacious and luxurious and all have balconies, the atmosphere is relaxing and the beautiful views of the mountains and the lakesof killarney make this a very special place to stay.
The lounge area for the drinks reception and the banquet hall were bright and airy with beautiful views from the large windows. Even in October our guests were impressed by the beautiful and romantic setting and spectacular scenery.
There is a lovely swimming pool and the hotel also offers free horseriding which was great fun for kids. The hotel is also very child friendly with a games room and playground in the extensive beautifully maintained gardens. Some of our guests availed of the family room option and were very pleased.
We were delighted with the attention to detail and the excellent food and service at our wedding and so were all our guests! If you are considering Killarney as a wedding destination we would strongly recommend St Marys Church Beaufort which is close by in a very scenic and peaceful setting and has beautiful stained glass windows.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalominoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I hadn't stayed at Dunloe Castle in about 10 years and this year we were lucky to arrive during a spell of spectacular weather in September. The hotel looks great, beautiful lobby, friendly staff, outstanding heated ,glassed-in, 25m swimming pool. Our suite was huge, with a beautiful and large marble bathroom and a balcony with marvellous views over the hotel grounds and the Gap of Dunloe. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and there were two flat panel TVs. A great spot for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINYKenmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

In recent years I have become a critical and negative traveler , always unhappy with service and facilities where ever I may happen to stay, i had begun to think that perhaps my expectations were too high, but having experienced the Hotel Dunloe Castle I now realise that me expectations were not by any means too high..... I was just staying in the wrong hotels! The Hotel Dunloe Castle is all that a Five star Hotel should be and this is reflected by its superb team of staff and the captain of the ship Mr. Jason Clifford(a head on old shoulders) who should bottle and sell charm. Food,Service,Accommodation and most especially Reception all in all a wonderful experience. I should add that we visited the sister Hotel, The Hotel Europe, dare i suggest the hotel Europe's staff invest in some of that charm should it be bottled in Dunloe!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaherty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2009

On the 25th September 2009 I got marries in the Dunloe castle ,from the time we had decided to have our wedding there to the day of the wedding , Jason the hotel manager , and all the staff were outstanding in helping use execute our special day.
The venue is set in idealic surroundings with a beautiful old castle and river on one side and the rolling mountains and the the gap of dunloe on the other.
The fine dining in the dunloe is nothing less than mouth watering with culnery chiefs that will just take your dining experience to a new level.
The hotel boasts of 5 star service and accomodation , but in my opinon it is fare beyond this boasting 6 or 7 star quality .
Our experince i think will never be matched again.
To the staff of the Dunloe , I would like to thank you very much.

Alan & Ineta Maher

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanmaher4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Staying at the Hotel Dunloe Castle was a definite highlight of our recent trip to Ireland. Only a few kilometers outside Killarney, it provided wonderful accomodations, great food, and friendly and attentive service in a beautiful country setting. It is a great stepping off place for a trip around the ring of Kerry, but also has many on site attractions including riding, tennis, fishing in the river, nearby golf or just walking the beautiful grounds and enjoying views of the spectacular gap of Dunloe. Though not cheap, we found it to be a comparatively good value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank optiontrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I wanted to say the the Dunloe - was a really nice place - horses and cows right outside our window. The staff - excellent - Mary Mulcahy at reception could not have been more helpful - same as the bell staff. I would recommend the Dunloe to anyone - it was worth the money.

Pat

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattifour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
6.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,509 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunloe

Property: The Dunloe
Address: Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dunloe 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunloe is a beautiful 5* hotel, overlooking the famous Gap of Dunloe, set on its own 64 acre estate leading to the ruins of the 12th century castle and River Laune. The dog-friendly The Dunloe is one of the finest luxury hotels Ireland has, boasting magnificent 5 star hotel accommodation in Kerry, only 5 miles from Killarney town. Enjoy a range of complimentary onsite leisure activities including swimming, sauna, steam room, fitness room, fishing, horse riding, and indoor tennis. A kids club and movie night programme runs for children throughout the summer months. Golf, tours, walks can also be arranged locally ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dunloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunloe Castle Hotel
Hotel Dunloe Castle
Dunloe Castle Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing