We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect!”
Review of The Dunloe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dunloe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location, grounds and arrival to the hotel are idyllic and picture perfect. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive and everything was finished to an impeccable standard.

When we returned at night after being out in Killarney for the evening, the room had been given a quick once over with some chocolate left on each side of the bed - which was a nice touch.

The views from throughout the property were stunning and really helped make the stay that much more memorable. A walk along Floor 3 (Elevator Level 1) brings you to an outdoor seating balcony, facing the Gap of Dunloe.

A stroll through the grounds and garden are not to be missed - if you really want to indulge - take a pony with you!

Room Tip: Floors 3 or above for the best views - get one facing south (The Gap of Dunloe) if possible but othe...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halpinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for The Dunloe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 707 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

If we are ever down South we wouldnt go anywhere else! Has to be one of the nicest views in the world from the breakfast room. The grounds are stunning, and staff and service excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Loved it here, stayed one night for a wedding. Food was great, and venue is ideal for a wedding. Staff were good, room was excellent. If I hadn't already gotten married I'd gladly go back and do it here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Recently I had my birthday party/dinner at The Dunloe. I had friends and family there from all over Ireland. From start to finish the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. One of my guests thought I knew the staff very well i.e was friends with them!!! Such was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The food was outstanding. Jason, the Manager, at our meeting got Jupp, the Chef, to come and meet and discuss the menu with me. He couldn't have been more helpful in describing each dish, how it was made and came up with lots of suggestions. A few days after the dinner, I received a call from him to check that I was happy with the dinner - this was a lovely gesture and also showed he cares about the standard of his work. Duncan and the restaurant staff were friendly and efficient and did all they could to make everything go smoothly. The bar staff were great and overall the staff were very professional with a personal touch and a sense of humour (very important for most occasions!!) All my guests were raving about the food, how delicious it was and of the unusual dishes. The loved the hotel itself - it was welcoming and relaxing and all were able to chill out. The views were outstanding. Jason, the Manager, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and nothing was any trouble. Only fly in the ointment was that my name was spelt wrong on the menu!!!!! Sorry Jason had to mention that as it was noticed by everyone!!!! :-0 Would definitely recommend this hotel for any occasion. Highly rate it.!! :-D Finola G.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Finola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

A year later, and after many attempts to put our wonderful experience in writing, finally it's time to sum up & tell all readers of this wonderful venue & equally excellent staff. We got married in June 2013 but our experience did not just begin then, instead it was approximately 18 months previous when we first met with Mr Jason Clifford the GM of the Dunloe. From our first encounter with Jason it was plain sailing up to and including our wedding day. His utter professionalism his manner, and attention to detail was out of this world, and made our preparations seem miniscule. Jason kept in regular contact without annoying us, advised without putting pressure on us, and on the day was captain of an All Ireland winning team. Our families & friends 12 months on are still talking about Jason, his courteous staff & wonderful venue. We would highly recommend to any reader to visit the Dunloe, sample the menu, and view the scenery before even considering any other location in Cork / Kerry for a wedding or any family occasion. From arrival to departure you are made feel like royalty with every member of staff considerate, courteous, & down to earth, all the time considering this is a 5 Star Hotel. Duncan in the restaurant on the morning of our wedding with his natural charm & wit reassured the groom & put nerves to bed. A true professional who was also raved about afterwards by visiting guests at our wedding. This review could extend for many more paragraphs but instead of ranting on & on the best advice is to visit here yourself, experience the Wow factor it has to offer, walk the grounds & witness the natural beauty that encompasses the place, then go in , have a drink, walk around, see for yourself, the friendly atmosphere and taste the fine menu on offer, you won't be disappointed. The Dunloe in a word 'CLASS'. Thank you Jason & Duncan & all the staff of the Dunloe, you made our day, we will never forget you or the venue, Fiona & Tony

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The views from my hotel room were out of this world and ones I will keep in my mind for a long time! This is a fabulous hotel. The location staff service are all second to none. It is 5 star luxury without all the pomp and ceremony that sometimes is associated with 5 star hotels. We were celebrating my parents 50 th wedding anniversary and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Corinne in reception Jason the manager and oral bronagh and Niamh in kids club were also fantastic and the kids all,lobed them.

Room Tip: Spend as much time in the hotel and in its grounds as you can as it has so much to offer all. Facil...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nady33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Visited this hotel just last weekend 13th to 15th June 2014. I wish we could have stayed longer, the hotel was beautiful, the staff without exception amazing. The kids club was adored by my 9 and 7 year old who wanted to be there as much as possible which was very unlike them and is a credit to Brona and the girls in the club who did everything to ensure my kids enjoyed themselves. They loved the pool, the horse riding, the movie nights, the playground and we got a lovely break ourselves while they were being well taken care of. The room was really spacious and nicely decorated with amazing views of the gap. The food was gorgeous, the grounds so lovely for walks. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and I can't believe we've never come across this one before, we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,300 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,259 reviews
6.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,568 reviews
1.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunloe

Address: Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range: $272 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dunloe 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunloe is a beautiful 5* hotel, overlooking the famous Gap of Dunloe, set on its own 64 acre estate leading to the ruins of the 12th century castle and River Laune. The dog-friendly The Dunloe is one of the finest luxury hotels Ireland has, boasting magnificent 5 star hotel accommodation in Kerry, only 5 miles from Killarney town. Enjoy a range of complimentary onsite leisure activities including swimming, sauna, steam room, fitness room, fishing, horse riding, and indoor tennis. A kids club and movie night programme runs for children throughout the summer months. Golf, tours, walks can also be arranged locally ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunloe Castle Hotel
Hotel Dunloe Castle
Dunloe Castle Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing