We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”
Review of The Dunloe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunloe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my elderly mother. Could not find any fault with the hotel in any way. Magnificent large room with great vews and balcony. The pool is excellent. Hotel is superbly managed and has great amenities. Overall one of the best I have ever stayed in and the price is very reasonable especially as dinner on one night off the a la carte was included.
Congratulations to the Dunloe Castle. We are coming back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MRTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 707 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2007

By far the BEST hotel we stayed in while travelling County Cork and Kerry in Ireland. One of the top we've stayed in, period! The grounds were gorgeous, the staff professional, very pleasant and helpful. The room we stayed in was what I'd call a "suite" with a balcony - I don't remember their term for it. There were 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. The 1st bedroom had a king size bed, full bath with bathtub, TV, and entrance to balconcy which faced the grassy area with some playground things for kids to use. The 2nd room had a pullout (double size) couch that the children used and the 2nd full bath with shower stall. The room and entire hotel was immaculately clean. They had plush robes in the room and nightly turn down service. They provide laundry service but at very steep prices so we didn't use it.
Dunloe has a lobby area divided into 2 parts, the 1st section has a computer with free internet access. The 2nd area has a fireplace with TV mounted above and comfortable chairs. The kids ordered hot chocolate and played cards there after swimming in the large, well maintained indoor pool with beautiful views - it's surrounded by glass walls on 3 sides. The buffet breakfast was included in the room rate and had a wide selection. We ate in both hotel restaurants and the food was excellent at all meals. In the evening the hotel provides a free movie for children, with soda, popcorn, and hotel employee supervision. We dropped our kids off there 2 nights and had dinner in the dining room. The hotel offers free horseback riding with stables right on it's grounds. It also arranges tours - we went on the "Gap of Dunloe" tour, which picked us up right at the hotel. We took a short (5 min) van ride to Kathleen's Cottage (?) where we hired a jaunting car to take us on a 1.5 hr ride through the Dunloe Gap and left us off at another place to have lunch (can buy food, drink, snacks here or bring your own). There are bathrooms here. After lunch we took a canoe trip through the lakes of Killarney and ended the trip at Ross Castle where the van picked us up again. It was a rainy day, but we made the best of it. It was still nice, but if you are lucky enough to time it for sunny weather, do so! While in Killarney we also went on a tour of Muckross House where there are jaunting cars out front that you can hire to take a (15 min?) ride to Torc Waterfall or you can walk it. Would return to Hotel Dunloe Castle in a heartbeat and now use it as a basis to evaluate other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

we stayed 3 days in august. hotel is a about 7 km from killarney town centre. the rooms are decent, but not spectacular. shower and bath were fine. bed was twin, and even though we asked twice, it was still made up as twin. every wvening bed was turned down for the night. tv (CRT) was in room with a limited selection of channels. breakfast was nice. fresh fruit selection was poor however (melon + kiwi + orange) there is internet connection(wireless) in reception area. swimming pool is impresive, we did notr make it to the gym. all in all we enjoyed our stay but have stayed in better 5 star hotels and would stay in another hotel in killarney

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jashar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for 8 nights in a superior gap facing family room and had an excellent time. The hotel is german owned with a mixture of Irish and other European staff, all of whom tried their best to make our stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible. Superb grounds with magnificent views over the surrounding mountains and a large collection of plants and trees. 25m indoor swimming pool plus tennis courts and free pony riding around the grounds meant that our little ones were well catered for - the hotel is very child friendly. Food in both restaurants was of a high level as was the Irish breakfast buffet. As I remarked to a fellow guest, it is one of the few times that I have stayed at a hotel that was exactly like the brochure. Totally relaxing and we could have easily stayed another 8 nights

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clutz7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

The Dunloe Castle is a very well managed hotel. The rooms are well appointed, apart from outdated hair dryers, the food is excellent, the service is efficient, friendly and unobtrusive. The public rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated. There is nightly Irish entertainment, a large swimming pool, indoor tennis and horse riding.

You can find this in many hotels but you can't find the views of the Gap of Dunloe. There is no better way to chill out and relax than to spend time watching the horses and cattle grazing in the extensive hotel grounds with the view of the Gap in the background. Pure magic, be it sunny, raining or both.

Sure it is a bit of a hike from Killarney or Killorglin, so what, one can go shopping any day but one can't see those views every day.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ballycraigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Having just returned from a short stay at the Dunloe I am already planning my next visit. What a great place to just unwind and relax!! We had a great room with a spectacular view of the Gap of Dunloe and being able to breakfast each morning with that view was worth the trip alone (the room itself was very spacious and comfortable). The hotel is only a short few minutes from many of Kerry's major tourist attractions so there was no need to set the alarm clock too early!!! We found the staff very friendly and professional and were always happy to advise us on where to go and what to see....you can't beat some local knowledge. From our experience the Dunloe has lived up to its great reputation and we will definitely be back for more!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

If you are looking for spectacular views, friendly staff and big spacious rooms then the Dunloe is perfect. Myself and my boyfriend stayed there for a weekend and we enjoyed every minute of it. We could see the Gap of Dunloe from our room and the hotel has wonderful grounds to walk in. I think its a great base if you want to explore Kerry. We found the hotel very relaxing and welcoming and would recommend it to anyone. We are definintely going to go back again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ariesblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,386 reviews
6.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,627 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunloe

Address: Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range: $273 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dunloe 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunloe is a beautiful 5* hotel, overlooking the famous Gap of Dunloe, set on its own 64 acre estate leading to the ruins of the 12th century castle and River Laune. The dog-friendly The Dunloe is one of the finest luxury hotels Ireland has, boasting magnificent 5 star hotel accommodation in Kerry, only 5 miles from Killarney town. Enjoy a range of complimentary onsite leisure activities including swimming, sauna, steam room, fitness room, fishing, horse riding, and indoor tennis. A kids club and movie night programme runs for children throughout the summer months. Golf, tours, walks can also be arranged locally ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dunloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunloe Castle Hotel
Hotel Dunloe Castle
Dunloe Castle Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing