We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”
Review of Beaufort Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaufort Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Tyne & Wear
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Perfect B&B”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Beaufort Lodge is everything a B&B should be. We loved our stay and the only downside was that it completely spoilt us for the next place we stayed. The house is picture perfect nestling in a beautiful cottage garden. Inside, the rooms are gorgeous. Really simple, spacious, light and airy. Polished wooden floors, pale wood furniture, kingsize bed, white billowy duvets. Just a 10-15 minute drive outside Killarney, on the road to the Ring of Kerry, it was such a relief to arrive in peaceful Beaufort after the hectic, tourist-packed streets of Killarney. After unpacking, we sat in the lovely garden and John brought us tea and home-made scones. Ulrike prepared a delicious breakfast, with a great choice including full Irish as well as fresh fruit, yoghurt, breads and homemade jams from the soft fruit grown in the garden. John and Ulrike are very friendly and helpful, suggesting great places to visit and eat, including the Strawberry Field Pancake Cottage for afternoon tea on our way back from the Gap of Dunloe. For photos of Beaufort Lodge look at their Facebook page rather than the website, which doesn't do it justice. John and Ulricke deserve their 4* rating and at 75 Euro per night, we found it superb value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I would not hesitate to recommend the Beaufort Lodge and I would definitely return next time I'm in the area. The standard and decoration of the rooms was excellent, the breakfast was just perfect (with home- made jam) and the owners couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I would heartily recommend this BnB to anyone who is wanting a warm, relaxed and welcoming place to stay in Kerry. The owners were incredibly friendly, easygoing and really thoughtful. The rooms were clean, well furnished and decorated and all had an en-suite. As we were a large group we had a whole 'wing' of the BnB to ourselves which provided us with more privacy. There was a good choice for breakfast and Ulrike provides her own home made jam which was delicious. We had gotten drenched from walking in the Gap of Dunloe during our stay and the owners kindly offered to dry our clothes and boots. All in all an excellent BnB and I will be going back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueT30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Unfortunately we couldn't make it back as often we did during the last years. This is still our favourite place to be in Ireland. Our annual visit was to short again.... when time is flying...
We're looking forward to returning back soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Openw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

First our background: my wife and I have been to Ireland 5 times in the last 12 years and we have stayed at numerous B&B's throughout the country and we can easily state that our time at Beaufort Lodge was amongst our most enjoyable B&B experiences. Our normal stays at B&B's are in the 1-2 day range, but due to circumstances related to a family reunion in the Killarney area, we stayed at Beaufort Lodge for 7 days this August and we loved our week in Beaufort. Beafort Lodge is a relatively new B&B in the Killarney region, I believe it's been open just over a year. Ulrike and John, the proprietors lovingly renovated and added to their home 4 B&B rooms and an attached 2 bedroom suite/cottage. All have hardwood floors, comfortable furniture and furnishings and modern bathrooms. Some units have their own kitchen facilities. We had room # 4, a spacious bedroom with an extremely comfortable bed where we slept soundly every night. Breakfast is served in a beautiful downstairs eating room. modern yet with an Irish homey atmosphere. Ulrike's breakfasts include a buffet of cereals, plenty of fresh fruit and yogurts,daily fresh breads and cheeses and your choice of a complete Irish breakfast or variations there of. Every day, our breakfasts served us way past the normal lunch hour.
Beaufort Lodge is in an ideal location in the quaint and small village of Beaufort. There are 2 pubs located within a 5 minute walk - the Beaufort Bar is a charming, historical pub where we had two enjoyable dinners and many a fine conversation with locals and other travelers over a pint or two; and Skinny Ryan's where there is live music 2 nights a week. Beaufort Lodge is also located on the road that will take you to the Gap of Dunloe ( a 3 minute drive to the entrance to the Gap - a must-see!), as well as to Kate Kearney's Cottage, a well-known Irish pub and restaurant where there is live music most nights of the week. Beaufort Lodge is also a 10 minute drive to Killarney town and all of its attractions, and Beaufort is on the Ring of Kerry route. There are also quite a few golf courses close by, so Beaufort Lodge gives you great access to the entire area.
My wife and I also fell in love with the two dogs of Beaufort Lodge, Lily, the Jack Russel terrier and Bella, the Golden retriever (pics attached). They always greeted us on our arrival and were there to say their goodbyes.
We highly recommend Beaufort Lodge as an excellent base to explore the Killarney and Ring of Kerry regions, and for the great comfort and Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RK502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
0.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 140 in Killarney
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathleens Country House
Kathleens Country House
#21 of 140 in Killarney
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#30 of 140 in Killarney
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gleann Fia Country House
Gleann Fia Country House
#18 of 140 in Killarney
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Lodge

Property: Beaufort Lodge
Address: Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beaufort Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing