We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Natick,Massachusetts
Level Contributor
233 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed here based upon the Trip Advisor reviews, and they were right on the money. This hotel is very nice, very clean, and very quiet.

It's easy to find as it's right off the highway. We were going to the Oakdale Theater and it's probably 10 minutes away. There is also tons of shopping 5 minutes away.

We didn't use the pool, but it looked very nice.

Breakfast buffet was included and it was very good with a nice selection.

I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRSAMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    125
    33
    19
    14
See reviews for
210
104
28
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I had to stay here for a month for work...CARMEN, the day time manager on the front desk was AWESOME. She is very professional, polite, courteous, and attentive to the needs of the guest.

MARIA, how works the kitchen in the morning, all made sure that the breakfasts were out and ready, and she too, exhibited extraordinary professional.

MIKE, the evening desk clerk was loads of fun as well.

Keep these people on, and I will come back...just to say to them ;-)

Thanks again,

Nehru - Rm 405

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nehru2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood_Wallingford, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your positive feed back of our hotel! As General Manager, I am very proud and lucky to have such a great staff. I am very happy to hear that you made some connections with our staff and this became your home away from home for a month. When you are in the area, please stop by and say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Fast, friendly check-in. Large sized room had comfortable king bed and unmade sofabed. Very quiet room looked out on trees and green fields. Full kitchen in room. Very good amenities and shower.

Buffet breakfast served in pleasant room with fireplace is a few cuts above most similar hotel breakfasts, and included smoked salmon, corned beef hash, excellent muffins and very good coffee.

Definitely a good place to stay when in Wallingford.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleinber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood_Wallingford, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thank you very much for your positive review! We are very proud of our breakfast selection including freshly baked muffins and pastries. The smoked salmon offering is a new addition to the menu that has gone over great with our guests. We hope to see you next time you are in Wallingford on business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Booked rooms eight months prior to a college graduation online using Hilton website. Received two email confirmations. Hotel would not let me change reservation one month prior due to the unlisted restrictions put on for that weekend. All email confirmations listed general T&C's and NOT the individual hotel restrictions due to the graduating weekend. When confirming one week prior verbally, I had to give them a credit card one week prior to "guarantee" the reservation because we were planning to arrive late. 3 days prior to our arrival they called and "cancelled" our reservations offering a 2 star no name 15 minutes in the opposite direction of our son's graduation. Trip advisor trashed the other hotel. There were no other hotels available in the area due to the late notice. Hotel said that they were displacing us due to extending FEMA employees in the area. Then offered me one night, one room. The rest of the family had to drive three hours for the graduation that morning due the room cancellation and missed all other events. My husband and I used the 1 room to attend. At check in and breakfast, there were all college kids and their parents and grandparents in the hotel (which should have been US!). Not only did they displace us, but lied about it. Since I booked so far in advance, I can only guess that they displaced us since we had the lowest rate before they upped their rates for the graduation weekend. The hotel should have honored our reservations or offered us rooms close by at an equivalent hotel/price or given us free rooms at a lesser hotel. After hours of phone calls, I will never stay at a Hilton again despite my husbands Hilton Gold status!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayleonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood_Wallingford, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
We always strive to ensure all of our guest’s complete satisfaction. I am very sorry that we were not able to accommodate your reservations because of the unexpected flooding in the area. Thank you for your feedback and I will be personally reaching out to you in order to make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
273 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Overall nice stay. Not a great location but we were seeing a show at the Toyota Oakdale Theatre that was about 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood_Wallingford, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Thank you for your positive review! While the hotel sits at exit 15 (a pretty quiet exit) we are fortunate enough to be near many restaurants and attractions on Rt 5. As you mentioned, we are also very close to the Toyota presents the Oakdale Theatre. We hope to see you next time you are in the area for a show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Very clean, very friendly staff. The place looks very new. The price is right. The breakfast is average. The beds felt great. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSouliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood_Wallingford, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
Thank you so much for your response! We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

My sister and I were in town from NYC to see Chelsea Handler at the Chevrolet Theater, and we chose this hotel because it was cheap (we paid $76 for the night plus tax) and close to the event (about ten minutes away from the theater with traffic). I'm usually wary of places under $130 but figured because this was a small town kind of place, it wouldn't be too bad.

It was amazing. Our room - the cheapest no frills room they offer - was basically a studio apartment. Huge comfortable king sized bed with the most comfy pillows you can imagine, the largest standing shower I've seen, great desk and chair, comfy couch, swivel TV you could see from either the couch or bed, amazing up-to-date kitchen (with dishes, a toaster, microwave, stove, dishwasher, anything you could need), and a nice kitchen table. The decor was pleasing and it was the kind of room you wouldn't mind hanging out in all day if you had to. Believe me, I wanted to!

The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful, and the check in/check out process couldn't have been easier. The pool and hot tub were great, as was the fitness center. Had no problems logging on with their wireless internet. The hotel is right off I-91 (about 20 minutes north of downtown New Haven) and then about a mile and a half down the road you'll find busy shopping centers with restaurants, grocery stores, a movie theater, Walmart, etc. Further north, in Milford, there's a mall and a Target for your complete suburban experience. :)

You really can't do better than this hotel, especially with its incredibly low price. Oh yeah, and parking was free!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LollyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
0.2 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New Haven Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden

Property: Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Address: 90 Miles Dr, Wallingford, CT 06492-2555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Wallingford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden offers a convenient location, between New Haven and Harford at Exit 15 off I-91, and spacious pet-friendly suites to make it one of the top hotels in Wallingford, CT. This great location nearby Route 68 and CT-15 allows for easy access to greater Wallingford and Meriden’s top destinations including Lake Compounce, Dinosaur State Park, world-class museums in New Haven, and the University of Yale campus. Business travelers will also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of 3M, Anthem Blue Cross-Blue Shield, McKessen, and Verizon Wireless. This newly renovated Wallingford hotel offers convenient amenities including an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, and a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet. The renovated, pet-friendly guest rooms are highlighted by modern amenities including fully-equipped kitchens, free WiFi, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. Choose the Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden and enjoy the perfect combination of an ideal location and amenities that make this one of the best hotels in Wallingford, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden Hotel Wallingford
Homewood Wallingford
Wallingford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing