We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Even though booked into a nonsmoking room, room reeked of cigarette smoke. When told, staff told me I wouldn't be billed for it (thanks) and that it just happens with smoking rooms in the building. Then why say they are nonsmoking? Very bad for people with asthma (like me), but if you like cigarette smoke, this hotel is for you (don't even worry about picking a smoking room)! The HVAC makes a lot of noise too, and the walls are pretty thin, so be prepared for that fun too! Also, rate was changed at check-in, without warning. Buyer beware. I would have gone elsewhere if we weren't tired from traveling. On the other hand, the breakfast was fabulous! Not enough to redeem the cigarette smoke, but certainly a perk! Staff was alright- fairly pleasant. Accommodations were aesthetically pleasing enough, and clean. Would not stay here again. There are certainly better options closer to the cities (New Haven or Hartford) to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank onemused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your feedback - we welcome all responses. I am sorry about the smoking odor. We only have five smoking rooms and they isolated so that non-smokers are not affected. I certainly understand your concerns, as I am highly allergic to cigarette smoke myself. We never allow smoking in non-smoking rooms and violators (and unfortunately there are violators) are charged a fee so that the room can be treated and deep cleaned. I do not know why you felt you smelled cigarettes and have talked with the front desk team, housekeeping and maintenance to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. We always put our guests first and appreciate your feedback. Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 603 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Where to start? Upon check-in, there was no one at the desk. A sign said the person was in the kitchen. We walked to the kitchen and it was empty. I called the front desk on my cell phone and there was no answer. Finally, an employee just coming onto her shift walked through the door and helped us. Unfortunately, it took 15 minutes to check us in due to an antiquated reservation system. The room looked like it had been built 15 minutes earlier by a bunch of 7th graders. Awful decor. Hard mattress. A/C not working properly. After flushing the toilet, it ran for four minutes. The free breakfast in the morning reminded of the food they served in the Shawshank Redemption and Oliver. French toast was hard and cold. Oatmeal was disgusting. Orange juice was concentrate diluted with too much water.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

I always appreciate all feedback, good and bad. We can always learn from the bad feedback, this helps us to always grow and learn and serve our guests better. But to be honest, I have been to the Holiday Inn and our hotel is so much better. I am not certain why you had such an awful experience here and I apologize for that. Please know that we strive to always serve our guests to the best of our ability. We do not pretend to be a full service hotel, we are limited service and also extended stay. I am not certain what your expectations were, but I am truly sorry that we failed to meet them. I wish that you had taken a moment while you were here to speak with a member of our management team so that we could have truly found what the issue(s) were. Again, guest service is our number one priority and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Its very comfortable for families or couples. We had guests stay here during my son's wedding. Its easy to visit Wallingford & New Haven. The staff is friendly & helpful. The breakfast in the morning helps with family trips.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank LynNorm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for the kind words. We enjoy having people share their life events with us and are happy that your out of town guests enjoyed our hotel and staff. Thanks again. Best wishes to the bride and groom and safe travels! Debbie Johnson, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The facilities and staff at this hotel could not be better for the price. The room was fresh and clean, and well equipped. The hotel is convenient to the highway. We would happily stay there again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for the kind feedback. So glad you enjoyed your time with us and realized the value for your dollar. We find that traveling families love the complimentary meals and ameniteis that our hotel offers. Thanks again for the kind words and safe travels! Debbie Johnson, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Last minute family trip to visit friends in New Haven area. We stay in lots of places with the kids' soccer schedules and have learned to be patient and accommodating on a tight budget. This hotel exceeded expectations and was everything we might have wanted. Huge bargain for the price including clean, ample room, super comfy bed & kitchenette (love the free microwave popcorn!), breakfast, indoor pool, easy on/off highway. Friendly staff - breakfast crew especially. So appreciative of what they are able to do for the price!

Room Tip: If you need quiet - ask ahead for rooms that are high up (4th floor is highest) and in the back - fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingvermonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for the kind words and such a thorough review! Glad you enjoyed our hotel and your stay. And we beleive that you are right about economy, if you take adavantage of our amenities and complimentary meals it is a great value. The in-room kitchens also allow families to bring back leftovers when they go out and reheat them or to order food in and have a comfortable place to enjoy it. And who isn't looking for the most bang from their dollars today? Thanks again and safe travels! Debbie Johnson, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

good just alot of noise in the hallway, and the windows do not black out they only have curtains that cover half of the window... Food was ok not very good dinner, breakfast was good.. nice staff.. was not impressed with internet you have to sign in alot..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Kristen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I am not sure what you are saying about the balckouts - they are complete and cover the entire windows - in fact we were just renovated last year and all of our drapes are in good condition. I do appreciate the feedback and you taking the time to respond. We try to accomodate all guests with our services and amenities and guest satisfaction is a priority for us at all times - so all comments are welcome. Thanks again and Safe Trvels! Debbie Johnson, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Anyone needing hotel accommodations while in the Meriden/Wallingford CT area need not look any further than this Homewood you will not find a better place to stay. Close to anything you may need shopping wise, as well as business. Easy travel to airports. Just could not find a more cordial hotel staff. Anyone not staying in this Homewood when in the Meriden/Wallingford area are missing out on the best.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for the kind words - our team will be happy to hear them. We are the number one hotel in Wallingford and Meriden and it is because of our team - they are all guest focused and it shows. We also find that guests love having the larger suite with a kitchen and the complimentary meal options - it can help travel not be so expensive when you can take advantage of all our hotel offers. Thanks again and safe travels! Debbie Johnson, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
0.2 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New Haven Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
3.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden

Address: 90 Miles Dr, Wallingford, CT 06492-2555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Wallingford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Price Range: $123 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden offers a convenient location, between New Haven and Harford at Exit 15 off I-91, and spacious pet-friendly suites to make it one of the top hotels in Wallingford, CT. This great location nearby Route 68 and CT-15 allows for easy access to greater Wallingford and Meriden’s top destinations including Lake Compounce, Dinosaur State Park, world-class museums in New Haven, and the University of Yale campus. Business travelers will also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of 3M, Anthem Blue Cross-Blue Shield, McKessen, and Verizon Wireless. This newly renovated Wallingford hotel offers convenient amenities including an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, and a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet. The renovated, pet-friendly guest rooms are highlighted by modern amenities including fully-equipped kitchens, free WiFi, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. Choose the Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden and enjoy the perfect combination of an ideal location and amenities that make this one of the best hotels in Wallingford, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden Hotel Wallingford
Homewood Wallingford
Wallingford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing