We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GREAT greeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“What a GREAT greeting”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were greeted as though we were checking in to the Waldorf Astoria, not a Homewood Suites! The gentleman at the desk was alert, attentive, and overall on top of his game. I have been a Diamond level for many years and have checked into all types of Hilton properties all over the country and this greeting / check in experience was by far the best ever. The property itself is nicely maintained, albeit a bit off the beaten path. You'll most likely need to travel a ways to find a dinner if you don't eat on the property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alps110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. Drew was on duty at check-in and he is fabulous - we are so fortunate to have a great team at our hotel. Drew is able to undderstand what it is like to travel and he respects what guests have gone through to finally arrive at our hotel - this care comes through when he checks guests in. I have forwarded this review and Drew has now received regional recognition for his performance. Thanks again and we hope you won't wait too long before you return to Wallingford. Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    129
    34
    19
    15
See reviews for
226
112
31
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ideal location, right off of RT 91. very quiet motel. friendly and helpful staff members. Rooms and facilities were clean, breakfast had a good selection, very family friendly. Would highly recommend this motel to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the kind feedback. We agree - our location right off I-91 and Rt 68 makes us pretty central in Connecticut. We are between New Haven and Hartford and close to Choate, Quinnipiac, Yale and Wesleyan along with many of the local businesses in Meriden and Wallingford. We are glad you found our place comfortable. Thanks again for the kind words. Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctor, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This staff/hotel is AMAZING! We have stayed at many different hotels and this one is one of the best. We came to stay here because my husband's grandfather passed away and we needed a hotel ASAP. I was able to book it the night before online for my husband and our two children; however, when we got to CT, my in-laws needed a place to stay and they had a dog. I told them that Homewood Suites has 2 bedroom suites and takes dogs and that I would ask upon check-in if we could switch our reservation. The woman who checked us in (I'm sorry but I cannot recall her name) was amazing! She not only gave us the last 2 bedroom suite, she was so kind and understand, and wonderful to our children! My in-laws were so grateful! During my check-in process the woman checking us in and myself were chatting and I mentioned we were here for my husband's grandfathers passing. The next day they gave us a sympathy GIFT and CARD signed my the staff!!! It was the sweetest thing, my mother-in-law, and my family, were so overwhelmed with their compassion. I did feel terrible for the staff, all we wanted to do was take our children to the pool (as a way to decompress during this difficult time); however, some guest decided to use the facility as a bathroom and took soap into the pool/hot tub so it was closed twice during our stay! The gentleman at the desk went out of his way to find things to do with the kids (in the area) to take their mind off things. As frustrating and inconvenient the pool situation was, the staff was so understanding and helpful. The manager (I believe) even gave my children rubber duckies! They were thrilled! What a wonderful stay in such difficult times, this staff should be commended!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind feedback. We take great pride in not just checking in our guests, but knowing what brought them to Wallingford in the first place. By being in touch with our guests we are able to provide that little touch that might make a stay more comfortable, especially during a difficult time. Our team is a compassionate and empathetic one who come from all types of backgrounds, they come together for the common goal of helping guests have a comfortable stay in this "home away from home". Our best to you and your family. Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for one week in a two bedroom suite. The room was nice and well taken care of. The breakfast was well done with something different each day. The pool was ok, but the room it was in was cold, too much air conditioning for a pool room. Uncomfortable to get out of the pool and sit to watch the kids. The only real issue was the noise from the room above. I had to contact the front desk one night when around 11pm it sounded like a herd of water buffalo was moving through, it took two calls to the front desk to get this resolved. Would recommend that you request a room on the third floor to make sure it is quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnelson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us this review. We are a great spot for both families and business guests - all have different reasons and amenities that they enjoy. So sorry about the herd of buffalo above you - but I am glad that the front desk was finally able to resolve the issue for you. As you stated, if noise is a concern you can ask to be on the top/fourth floor or even our end rooms tend to be more quiet. Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review and we look forward to your next stay with us. Safe Travels! Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Because of my son's allergies, we require a kitchen wherever we stay so I can make his food. It was our first time trying Homewood Suites in Wallingford, CT and we were pleased. The staff we ALL pleasant, the amenities were average, and the breakfast and mini dinner from 5:30-7:30pm were excellent. The dinner comes w/complimentary wine and beer, too. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for the kind feedback. We are glad that your family found our hotel a home away from home. When traveling with kids, it is just nice to have the extra space and the kitcehn. We hope that everyone got to enjoy the meals and sports facilities on site. Thanks again and as always - Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I needed a place for my employees for an extended stay while doing a job in Connecticut and this was exactly what I needed. The complimentary breakfast and the evening reception was a perfect fit for my guys while they were working out of state and staying in a hotel. Would definitely stay at Homewood Suites again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We enjoyed having your crew here. They were great guys and we had many fun conversations at dinner with the other guests. I think that they enjoyed the amenities along with the larger suite that also had a kitchen. It was a perfect setup for them. Thanks again for the kind words. Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Washington, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have enjoyed my stays here before, and will again. Upon arrival, it's like coming home. The staff always treat me with the utmost respect. This is one of my favorites in the Homewood chain. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. The beds are comfortable. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dackelprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the kind words. Our team is focused on customer service and making everyone feel at home. So glad you feel so welcome in our corner of Wallingford. We also love sharing our hotel and hometown with our regular guests. It's fun to be able to share landmarks like Ted's, K. LeMay's, Neil's Donuts, Pepe's and all the other local places to get a good meal or relax with friends. We look forward to your next visit! Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
0.2 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New Haven Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden

Property: Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Address: 90 Miles Dr, Wallingford, CT 06492-2555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Wallingford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden offers a convenient location, between New Haven and Harford at Exit 15 off I-91, and spacious pet-friendly suites to make it one of the top hotels in Wallingford, CT. This great location nearby Route 68 and CT-15 allows for easy access to greater Wallingford and Meriden’s top destinations including Lake Compounce, Dinosaur State Park, world-class museums in New Haven, and the University of Yale campus. Business travelers will also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of 3M, Anthem Blue Cross-Blue Shield, McKessen, and Verizon Wireless. This newly renovated Wallingford hotel offers convenient amenities including an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, and a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet. The renovated, pet-friendly guest rooms are highlighted by modern amenities including fully-equipped kitchens, free WiFi, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. Choose the Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden and enjoy the perfect combination of an ideal location and amenities that make this one of the best hotels in Wallingford, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden Hotel Wallingford
Homewood Wallingford
Wallingford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing