We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Side Thai Restaurant

South Side Thai Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 176 Restaurants in Wallingford
Cuisines: Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. The food is excellent and the owners could not be more friendly or accommodating. I love the Drunken Noodles and Crab Rangoon.

This is a must try if you want to be treated right.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hello Thai Food Express goodbye chinese food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

First visit was great.....the owner and staff was great! Incredible food-- crispy chicken & broc AMAZING! Portions were perfect especiall for having leftovers! crab chips yummy too! all the vegetables were fresh and the taste was just wonderful. Small and Cozy but don't be fooled thinking its only a "to go" place. The seating is comfy and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food, Service, Value....and caring owners....GREAT.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

First visit was great.....the owners are gracious, caring, and the food is totally FRESH. Portions were great, menu has everything, flavors are right on, and it's a place to visit often.
This is a family owned business where they just really try and care about making things right.
They do it all .......linen napkins, attentive service, will modify dishes to meet your needs.
Just a GREAT place. Do not miss it......

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffE518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is amazing Thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is the best Thai restaurant in Wallingford and one of the best I have experienced anywhere in the country. Insanely fresh vegetables are cooked to perfection in delicious sauces with a variety of fresh meats. Try the Tamarind duck and Drunken Noodles with Beef. The dining room is attractive and spotless - a nice place for lunch or dinner. The lunch menu is terrific and a good value. This restaurant also delivers - an added bonus. The owners are always there supervising, and they seem very particular about both the food quality and the overall dining experience. It's worth a trip to Wallingford to enjoy this fabulous restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank catperson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food & service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I went here by chance on the way back from a friend's house in Meriden. We decided to dine in because we were craving Thai. The owner and wait staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. They were very helpful in aiding me to choose something to order (I can't do overly spicy). I ended up getting pad thai shrimp with crab rangoons and my husband got drunken noodles. THE BEST we've had. (we've tried about 6 other restaurants in CT). The place is small and cozy but we weren't looking for anything formal, just passing through. Since then, we have gone back 4 times! One time the owner was kind enough to throw on the football game for us to watch while dining in. The prices are very reasonable and the portions are perfection. I would definitely recommend others try this hole in the wall. Those places always end up being the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Side Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to South Side Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing