We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Executive Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wallingford Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wallingford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Executive Accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Charming B&B in a nice town (Wallingford CT). Walking distance to everything. They also have great extended stay accommodations for longer-term stays, including a 2-bedromm duplex apartment!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
53
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

I booked this room months in advance. A few weeks before my arrival date, however, my son broke his leg and needed extensive surgery and was bedridden, causing us to cancel our trip.
I called to cancel the room and was told that since it was a "special weekend" (with a six month cancellation policy!!?)that their cancellation policy required me to pay for all three nights that I had booked. I explained why I was cancelling and asked that since it was a high demand weekend, would they allow me off the hook if they rented the room after all?
I was told no, that I would have to pay for all three nights anyway!
After begging and pleading, calling other area hotels to ask them to refer overbookings to the B+B, I was finally told that since I got them another person to rent the rooms, they would refund---minus 20%!
Now they weren't keeping only 20% of only the first night, but of the entire three day booking! I really felt this was excessive, but I grudgingly paid it anyway.
I am a frequent visitor to Wallingford and hoped to have found a home away from home. But I will certainly never call on them again.
I am writing this review months after the incident--mainly because it STILL bothers me! They could have had a very happy repeat customer had they simply handled the situation more reasonably. Instead I post a warning to stay away.

  • Disliked — Inflexible owner
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bossafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeep, Owners at The Wallingford Victorian Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2009
We gave you so much more.
As owners of the Wallingford Victorian Bed and Breakfast; we feel it necessary to reply to this review.
Our policies are detailed on our website for everyone to see. We also send them with each reservation confirmation. Our confirmation asks the requester to acknowledge that they "read, understand, and agree to" the policies. If the requester does not agree to the policies; they can withdraw their request without charge. Below is the policy in effect at the time of this reservation request:

"Policies: Deposit required at time of reservation. VISA, MasterCard, Discover credit cards, may be used for the deposit. Cash, money order or personal check also accepted with credit card information as a guarantee.
Cancellations: Deposit will be refunded only if notice of cancellation is given via email or in writing at least 14 days prior to arrival date. Less than 14 days notice, only the portion of your reservation we are able to rebook will be refunded.
Special Events: Holidays, school events, group bookings and affairs; require 120 days notice.
Extended stays (more than one week) require 60 days notice.
A partial cancellation may be treated as a cancellation for the entire stay, no refund for early departure or late arrival. All cancellations subject to 20% administration fees. We will make every effort to reschedule your visit or provide a certificate toward future stays."

We feel like we are stating the obvious; however, we wish to point out:
1. The requester agreed to give us 120 days notice of cancellation or pay for the reservation in full. They also agreed to a charge of 20% administration fees on all cancellations.
2. They did not give us 120 days notice.
They did not pay for the reservation in full.
They also did not beg or plead for us to try and refill the room. We always try to do this without being asked.

We were good enough to refund the room charges with only two weeks notice - and this is their way of saying thanks. It seems another instance of no good deed goes unpunished.
By the way - If the requester had asked; we would have given them a certificate for a portion of the fees to be applied toward a future visit.

Thank you for the opportunity to reply.
Becky and Dave Barrett
The Wallingford Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

My wife and I just returned from a two night getaway at the Wallingford Victorian. Overall we had a wonderful experience and I would recommend it.

The Wallingford Victorian is well located on a residential street within walking distance of the center of town. It is also a great jumping off point to explore the many wineries and farms that give this area of Connecticut its wonderful charm.
The overall decor of the Victorian is very warm and appealing, filled with antiques and many elegant touches. The woodwork in the dining room is impressive as is the flooring in the parlor room.
We stayed in the Georgiana suite and found it to be very comfortable. The bathroom is showing age, but I think Becky mentioned that she is going to eventually update it. I didn't check out any of the other updated rooms, but judging by the photos on the website they look more up to date.
The only downside comment I would make is the lack of extras that so often are a part of other B&Bs we have stayed in. The full breakfast is much appreciated and eating on the fine china is a treat, but there weren't any fresh baked goods. No afternoon sherry. No maid service unless specifically asked for. Granted, these are minor infractions and perhaps I am a bit too picky. It certainly did not take away from a great experience and as I stated earlier, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

Spent 3 days at the Victorian celebrating a birthday and anniversary. It was suggested that we go to a Bed and Breakfast for a non-hotel experience. I was so happy that I found the Wallingford Victorian. It was only a 1.5 hour drive from NYC, the house is beautiful and the innkeepers, Becky and Dave, made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. As a 'person of color' I was a bit apprehensive but I felt automatically comfortable.
We booked a "wine and dine" special that included a great dinner at Michael's Trattoria and a lovely bottle of wine was waiting for us in our room when we arrived.
Also, since we drove, we took an excursion to Sandy Hook National Park, which is a lovely beach and really relaxed. We even took in a movie and had dinner at Friendly's (the first for my partner).
All in all it was well worth it and I would go back again and again!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

What a lovely bed & breakfast in Connecticut!! The owners are absolutely wonderful hosts and a divine breakfast was served with such class!! I love the updated restorations to preserve this
great home!! You will love the experience.
debbie jenkins Gaylord Michigan

  • Liked — Owners are great people
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pagirl-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniac from Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2007

Nice Victorian (Queen Anne, I think) place on a quiet street. Easy to get to. Hosts are pleasant 'down homey' folks. Good for couples or singles, might be problematic for families, but maybe not. Nice decor, comfortable bed. Good stay. If you are in to B&B's and abhor national hotel chains, I recommend you try out.

  • Liked — Quiet, solitude
  • Disliked — nothing really.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BigLarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2007

My boyfriend and I were looking to get away from the city for a weekend and spend a nice quiet weekend together. The Wallingford B&B was the perfect choice.

We arrived on Friday night and were greeted by Becky who welcomed us with a big smile. Our room was very charming, yet still large and comfortable. It was clean, the bed was made and there was a box of Valentine's chocolates waiting for us on our pillow (since it was the weekend of Valentine's day). The best thing was when we went to sleep and for a nice change from the city, it was absolutely silent and completely dark in the room. It was so peaceful, we loved it!

The next morning we were greeted by Becky who made us our breakfast (including her pancake muffins, which she had just thought up to make...they were delicious, by the way!). The breakfast was delicious, and it was great being surrounded by the antiques and "Victorian house" atmosphere.

We and the other couple that were dining were a little shy to talking, but Becky was great at stirring up conversations, as well as guiding us to the many things to do in town. (One tip she gave was that The Tavern on Main St. was not actually a Tavern, but a great restaurant with a bad name. She was so right!)

To wrap this up, all in all, our stay here was absolutely wonderful! We were very welcomed and were able to relax just as we had intended. I strongly recommend staying here, it made for a wonderful weekend getaway!

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wrldtraveler1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
2.8 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
16.8 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallingford Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallingford Victorian Inn

Property: The Wallingford Victorian Inn
Address: 245 N Main St, Wallingford, CT 06492-3713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Wallingford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wallingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wallingford Victorian Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wallingford Victorian Inn regally presides over the corners of North Main Street and Curtis Avenue in Wallingford, CT. Once the site of a quaint cottage sheltered by trellises and grape arbors, in 1890 the property was purchased and the cottage razed to make way for a Grand Queen Anne Victorian. Designed by the firm of Allen and Tyler Architectural Associates of New Haven, it was constructed by the C.F. Wooding Company of Wallingford, a name that to this day connotes excellence in craftsmanship, constructed at a time when execution of detail and ornamentation was a hand crafted trade. The Victorian is comprised of one dramatic hallmark of the period after another; complex patterned masonry chimneys; finials capping hipped slate roofs; multi patterned textures of shingles and clapboard; intricate relief work (grapes that reflect its humble origins), and small latticed porches, just to name a few. According to local historians, originally it was a wedding gift to Georgianna Simpson Hull and Charles Tibbits from her parents Gurdon W. Hull and Elizabeth Simpson Hull, whose father founded Simpson, Hall & Miller Company, a prominent silver manufacturer which later became International Silver. The family is steeped in Wallingford history and they were true philanthropists. No expense or detail was spared in the construction of this handcrafted home. Over the past century and a quarter the Victorian has watched over the town of Wallingford as it grew and more buildings sprung up. The dirt roads became asphalt, and horse and carriage gave way to motor vehicles. Fashions and trends flicked by in the blink of an eye. Still it stood, rising on its corner, an enduring landmark in the cycle of change. It has prospered in good times, and endured the hard times. It has changed hands and purpose, yet still stands proud. Come, step back in time with us, when work, rest and recreation ebbed and flowed with the rhythms of nature. Enjoy this remarkable property surrounded by period furnishings. Stay over and enjoy one of our five suites with exquisite attention to detail. In the morning awake to a gourmet breakfast made just for you by our chef innkeeper. Come, enjoy all this in a turn-of-the-century, handcrafted Victorian mansion, The Wallingford Victorian Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wallingford Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing