We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive In? Drive by!!!”
Review of Sonic Drive-In

Sonic Drive-In
Ranked #111 of 178 Restaurants in Wallingford
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Brand new restaurant, first sonic in ct, opened 7/14/10
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Drive In? Drive by!!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

So it is fast food and we were in the mood so we drove on to Sonic. If you're reading this on the highway keep going. My comparison is to other fast food chain restaurants. Cold food no taste. Onion rings had weird flavor. My "hot fudge" Shake had no taste and tasted just like my wife's vanilla. Real ice cream? From where? $18 for burger, fries, shake x2. No taste no value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's okay”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Marginally average food. Nostalgic atmosphere helps, but not enough to compensate for the food. Seemed better when visiting location down south.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went with our family of four, it was nice out so we ate out on the patio area, there is no inside area to eat so if its raining you take home or eat in your car as the staff brings your food to you. Overall the food was really good and I would take it over Mc.Donalds. The order system didn't seem to work that great though, had some issues trying to pay for it. When you order you have to stand In front of a machine and state your order and put your payment through the machine. But, food was really good in my opinion. Would definitely go again...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
170 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Super Sonic”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We enjoyed the ice cream and milk shakes with snacks at Sonic Drive-in. You can order the items sitting in the car and they serve you speedily on a roller skates. The taste was very good and ice creams were lip smacking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishnamoorthy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not your average Sonic”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have eaten at quite a few different Sonics in Georgia and Florida, ALL of which were pretty good for fast food, never had any complaints, UNTIL I TRIED THE WALLINGFORD, CT LOCATION. I order a cheeseburger, fries and a bottled water. The wait was a little over 20 mins, the bun on the cheeseburger was cold and the meat was very hard. The french fries were cold and taste like they had been sitting under a heat lamp for a couple hours. I asked to speak to a manager and they gave me a complete new order, thankfully the second time around was better than the first.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonic Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing