We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Super Buffet”
Review of Vernon Super Buffet - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Vernon Super Buffet
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so Super Buffet”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Ate lunch here with a group of 7 friends. The wait staff was nasty, spoke chinese to each other when we asked if there was any shrimp, very rude when the shrimp arrived. "here is the shrimp!!" in a sharp voice. It was like they didn't want to sell any. Not in a hurry to ever go back again. We were quoted a senior discount and the told that the waitress was new and we shouldn't have been told that price, Felt we were overcharged.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dboy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Worst Buffet!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Ate here with my family and all I can say it's the worst buffet. We came here during early dinner time we paid dinner price yet the food was from lunch old dry yucky food....and the service really sucks not one single waitress speak English or maybe they just acting like they don't understand English so they don't need to put new food out. We will never go back to this place ever again!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grace f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On occasion”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We eat here on occasion. Food is average. Cost is reasonable. We like that the ice cream is packaged and they have good selection of desserts. They have sushi for those who has some craving. Good variety of dishes. Spacious area and I would recommend to bring a big group of folks that have a large appetite. Also a good option for brunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkyweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This place was horrible !”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place was horrible , the food was disgusting and cold . We complained and they persisted it was our fault , that when we walked around Getting our food the temp of the food dropped , My food was cold cold not warm COLD !!!!! Oh and also she said it was because of the wind from the people walking in and out are you kidding me ? Usually when there's something wrong and you complain they take your word because your the customer and they want you to come back they gave us no discount ,NOTHING . I will never go back to this place again it was horrible !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_rosed23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK, but needs attention to quality and replenishing buffet”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

As is true of most of the Chinese buffets, there is a very large variety of food to choose from. Most of it is Chinese-related, but there are some other types as well, such as pizza. The service from the waitresses is always efficient and they are pleasant. I'm not sure the restaurant pays quite as much attention to quality control and replenishing the foods in the buffet as they did earlier a few years ago when it first opened. The other night we were there and they were out of dim sum and said they wouldn't have any more. And it was just 7:30. Also, the won-ton soup pot had only the broth in it. They need to keep checking to make sure the most popular items are replenished on a continuous basis. For the amount of food you can eat, it is a bargain, and the atmosphere is pleasant. But if they want to continue to be successful as a restaurant, attention definitely needs to be paid to food quality, freshness, temperature, and not running out of items without replenishing them on the buffet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 513555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing