We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the money!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Hartford / Vernon
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vernon
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This is now a Motel 6. I've stayed here many times. It must be said that this is not a 4 or 5 star hotel. But the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and the staff is courteous. The new owners are slowly renovating the property. With RoomSaver coupons, at $39 or $49 dollars per night this is a great place to spent the night.
If you're looking for an in-houserestaurantt and bar, go somewhere else, this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking for an inexpensive place to sleep and shower this is your place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAD1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

During this summers heatwave, we decided to get away for a few days. We wanted something economical with a pool. After a short search, we founf this Motel 6. I read some reviews that were not so great, but the price was right at about 60 per night. Upon arrival we were greeted by Michelle who was pleasent and very accomodating. It is a 2 floor hotel and since we were traveling with a 2 year old and a 9 month old, she got us a lower level, pool view. The rooms were very clean, carpets relatively new, curtains new, bedding new. We had no reservations about letting our kids play on the floor. The pool was warm and clean as well. We asked for a crib and it was promptly delivered. Overall we had a very pleasent experience. We actually booked a couple more nights. The heat and ac worked quite well. Overall, it isnt a hampton in or a marriott, nor do i expect it to be. i can not compare a motel 6 to a marriott. basically the manager takes compliments and camplaints personally and quickly works hard to resolve any issues. beds were comfortable with pillow top mattresses, funrature clean. microwave and fridge in every room. also it is located half mile from the highway and a mile from manchester shopping mecca.

Room Tip: see michelle and speak up. she will do her est to get what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familywhotravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Normally dont stay at no frills chains, Avoid this one at all cost. Only stayed here because my Canadian relatives are frugal. Rooms were okay but the rest of the place is a dump. Lots of shady people hanging out. Lots of better places to stay within 2 miles.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

As stated in another review, this is now a Motel 6. It was as expected for a Motel 6. I pick Motel 6 because of price and their pet friendly policy. However, there was a couple across the hall from me who had 3 large dogs in their room who were making a fuss. I have one small dog. I am afraid that people who don't obey the 1 pet rule will someday ruin it for the rest of us.
Anyhow, the wifi is sporatic. Had to go to the laundry room to connect because, as I was told at the front desk, there are wifi boxes at the end of each main hall and you have to be within a certain distance from them to connect. HUH? So I went on dial-up.
The place needs some landscaping work. Looked like nothing had been done during the spring because it was all getting overgrown.

Room Tip: Don't count on getting wifi.. bring your phone cord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starlady_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel on a recent trip to Connecticut for a friend's graduation at UConn. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I was surprised by how nice and clean the rooms were! They were nicely decorated and the bed was incredibly comfortable. I had such a great night's sleep! Tons of shopping and restaurants nearby. What a great hotel at such an economical price. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TD3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Note: This is now a Motel 6

Went over the weekend to visit some friends in the general UConn area. When we booked and saw the price tag ($53/night) we really didn't have high hopes. Especially after reading some of the reviews on here (which were admittedly for this property's previous operator).

The lobby was basically all I expected... although there's a TV set up with some of the most comfortable couches I've ever seen. At that price, I wasn't so much expecting a lobby but a business office, so I was pleasantly surprised. The hallways in this hotel smell VERY smoky... since some of the rooms are smoking rooms. However, once you get to your room, everything clears out and it smells fine.

We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and amenities of the room. Air conditioning worked great, the mini fridge was a nice touch, and the bed was absolutely fantastic. Very, very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and in great condition. The only problem was that the sheets and towels are pretty thin. Makes it a little hard to dry off after a shower, but asking the front desk for extra towels would solve that problem pretty easily. Wi-Fi is free and VERY fast for a hotel.

All in all, staying here was a fantastic experience. I know where to stay next time I'm ever in the Storrs area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeaceSignMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We went to Vernon, Ct to attend a funeral. We had 2 adjoining rooms. There was a mouse in the room, which the evening desk person caught and extracted. He was very courteous.There were 3-4 ants on each bathroom floor and each hair dryer didn't work. Using the one phone that wasn't dead, we called the desk and they sent up a new hair dryer promptly. We decided not to try the continental breakfast. Beds were comfortable and clean. Showers were nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nastinanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vernon-Manchester
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Hartford / Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hartford / Vernon

Address: 51 Hartford Tpke, Vernon, CT 06066-5258 (Formerly Quality Inn Vernon)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range: $79 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Hartford / Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Hartford / Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Vernon Hotel Vernon
Vernon Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing