We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven is a place on earth...at the Samonas villas.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samonas Traditional Villas
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“heaven is a place on earth...at the Samonas villas.”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

My family stayed at four different hotels while traveling the cyclades, none of which came close to the perfection of the Samonas villas. With their mountain top location the villas overlook a breathtaking view of the Greek countryside and create a peaceful getaway. We were welcomed by Konstantinos in a most generous way, he has designed the villas with exquisite taste and everything you need is provided. We hope to return to Samonas someday as we will never forget Konstantions hospitality and the villas utter beauty.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank starose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

As all of the reviews already attest, Samonas is an incredibly unique place. We have traveled a lot but have never come across anything quite like the villas at Samonas. The location is picturesque, and only a short 30 minute drive from the beautiful city of Chania. Samonas is also the name of the small village where the villas rest, perched at an elevation of about 800m. The views from all six of the villas are stunning, and the interiors are also impeccably decorated. Konstantinos, the owner, is a friendly and incredibly professional host. All of your needs will be attended to. When my spouse and I visited, he even invited us to watch the local villagers shear their sheep (we even got in on the action and were later invited to a celebration at the village taverna). It's amazing how friendly the locals are.

There are a number of different activities to do in and around Samonas. Konstantinos will be able to suggest something for everyone. There also bicycles, a full gym, steam room, pool on site and free to use.

We are looking forward to spending some more time at Samonas next year.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank netrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Located in a context between the sea and mountains in a strategic position to visit the province of Chania

The hosting of Kostantinos was exquisite as well as attention to the welfare of the customer at all times: a taste of local produce on arrival, offering a cool drink in the sunny afternoons, a selection of music for your CD available in every apartment.

The structure, treated in detail is included in a village where authentic nature and peace and quiet reign supreme.

Lucia & Sergio

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank luciapic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We just returned from our second stay at Samonas. We find it the most relaxing place we've been to in our lives. Konstantinos, the host, goes out of his way to make the stay something special. Nesteled in the hills outside of Chania, the windy road up has spectacular views. Once there, the only sounds you hear are the roosters and the goats. No speeding cars, loud music, nothing like that. Just natural silence. The accomodations are excellent, with pretty much everything you need. And if it isn't in the room, it's in the attached store - just take what you want and pay what you think it's worth! Find THAT somewhere else! It's a nice day trip to Elafonissi, one of the best beaches anywhere. Or take a day trip to see the wonders of Chania. Or just relax and be pampered. We can't wait to go back again, and next time we stay longer! And don't forget to sotp in one of the local tavernas- you'll be treated like an old friend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlweishaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Despite our flight being delayed and arriving at the apartments gone midnight, the owner was there to welcome us and settle us in. This level of service was evident throughout the 2 weeks we were there and combined with the idyllic location, wonderful views and excellent accommodation to make our stay a real joy. It also proved to be a good base for exploring western Crete, with ancient sites nearby and both Chania and Rethymno within an hours drive. On the days that we didn't feel like traveling, it was also a great place to relax by the pool and sit on the terrace reading and looking at the wonderful views.

Fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadgetslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredene
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Samonas is a little village were you find the real Cretan life, away from the busy tourist-centers, but only 25 km from Chania. An ideal place to come home to in the evening after a day visiting the beautifull island of Crete.
The houses are very well equiped and the owner will do everything he can to make your stay memorable. Everything you need is in the house or the settlement.
Samonas is perfect for people who love a quite place with a lot of nature. Staying in authentic old (but perfectly renovated) Cretan buildings is an unique experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamasclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

We stayed at the Samonas Villas in July 2008, as one of three families, all with children under 10 years old.

The villas are lovely and well appointed. They are well cared for and there is a small shop attached (which is useful as the nearest shops are approx 15 minutes drive away).

The Villa's are quite isolated from other settlements. It takes approx 30 minutes to get to Hania by car (there is no public transport to the Villas).

The Villa's have a lovely pool and outlook high in the hills.

Unfortunately Samonas is not used to dealing with children. The owner/manager "stressed" about a few issues and was not at all backward in coming forward to say what he thought of the children.

If you want to remove yourself from the World for a few days and don't have childen then Samonas will be just the place for you.

  • Liked — Pool and views
  • Disliked — Not child friendly
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank crystal_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samonas
19.7 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#22 of 110 in Chania Town
249 reviews
8.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 110 in Chania Town
503 reviews
29.3 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
4.3 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
587 reviews
20.8 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samonas Traditional Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samonas Traditional Villas

Property: Samonas Traditional Villas
Address: Samonas Apokoronas, Samonas, Apokoronas, Crete 730 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Samonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Samonas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samonas Traditional Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional settlement of Samonas is a complete renovated neighbourhood in the village of Samonas, in the district of Apokoronas Crete, at an altitude of 400 m and at a distance of 25 km from Chania. All our dwellings are two-storey (maisonettes) with unlimited view to the mountains, valley and the sea. They are exclusively built in stone and wood to match their surroundings. Each is built at a different level due to the ground's steep slope, with common courtyards as well as independent verandas or balconies and quiet corners. They are decorated with many small folklore objects and antiques. All incorporate the same comforts and luxury, although they differ in size and layout.Here you will experience unique moments of relaxation and complete tranquillity in an authentically traditional area, without missing any of the comforts of the modern way of living, which we have quietly incorporated in all our dwellings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Samonas Traditional Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing